We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haide Third Road, Houhaibin Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518054, China (Shenzhen Bay Port)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 2,133 Hotels in Shenzhen
riyadh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very convenient business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed one night at Kempinski, and the experience was just perfect. Ver nice and professional staff. The room was good quality. I experience the Spa and the massage was one of the best I got, I really recommend it. A good hotel if you plan to stay at Shenzhen

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear francois111,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Shenzhen. We are so happy to know that you are enjoy your stay with us. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for recommending our hotel to other customers.

Dear francois111, many thanks for your patronage and kind encouragement. We are looking so much forward to welcoming you to stay with us once again in the near feature. If I could be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me via: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com

With best regards,

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    294
    49
    15
    1
See reviews for
2
10
21
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Back to this hotel after one year and nothing changed much after my last stay at this hotel. The pain point would still be the checking in. I'd arrived at 2+pm and was told that there were no available non-smoking rooms and was suggested to go out for lunch and be back within an hour. After one hour is up, I was told that the rooms are still not ready and the lady at the counter invited me to take a seat the sofas in front of the reception and will inform me once the room is ready. After waiting for another 30 mins or so, I went back and checked with the very same lady on the room and surprisingly was told that the room was ready. I was taken aback by the nonchalant response in how she told me the room was ready. Didn't she just told me 30 mins ago that she'll inform me when its ready? She doesn't appear to be apologetic on the long wait since I'd first arrived at the hotel. You don't encounter such mediocre service, especially the front desk, at a 5* hotel. Besides this blip, the rest of my stay at this hotel was uneventful, rooms were good, everything in working order, friendier lift attendants (improvement from last year). Altogether, if not for the unexpectedly poorer than expected standard of hospitality from the front desk staff, I would rate this hotel full marks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Jianz,

It was indeed our great pleasure to have you stay with us again and we thank you for choosing the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen as your preferred choice of accommodation in this vibrant city.

We are delightful to know that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the slow check-in procedure and the Front Desk staff attitude issue for which I would like to take this opportunity to convey our most sincere apologies. It is certainly beneficial to receive such constructive comments and we shall continuously endeavor to improve our services commensurate with a Kempinski Hotel.

Dear Jianz, we are looking forward to welcoming you to stay with us, so we may have the opportunity to provide you with the standard of service that hopefully, then, exceeds your expectations. If I can be of any assistance, in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me via: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com at any time of your convenience.

Best regards,

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

kempinski hotel is one of the greatest hotel in shenzhen. the location is great near the underground station which you can get anywhere with. near a big plaza with many stores resturants coffee places. all you need is in 5 minths walking.
the service is very good the rooms are very clean and the breakfast is a buffet with eerything you may want.

Room Tip: club floor rooms are bigger
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear op3144,

Thank you very much for your very positive review. We are so glad to know that you had such a enjoyable stay with us. I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind encouragement and would like to express that we shall endeavor to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

Dear op3144, if I can be of any further assistance in any way please do not hesitate to contact me via: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com

Once again, many thanks for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

Best regards,

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

great location ( near shopping center) and the room is very clean and comfortable. the lobby is quite dim but the interior is very classy. however, some receptionists do not understand english. the food served tastes very good too. taking the cab to to the pier was within minutes. the hotel staffs were very helpful in getting a cab for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Cabbie,

Thank you very much for staying with Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen during your recent visit to this vibrant city. We are so delightful to know that you are satisfied with our service, products and good location. Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments regarding the language issue of one of the receptionist, for which we assure you that we shall continuously endeavor to improve English level for all staff in order to be commensurate with the Kempinski standard.

Dear Cabbie, we are happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us. We are looking much forward to welcoming you once again to stay with us.

With best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I wanna say this is a great 5-star luxury hotel. My first stay in Kempinski and it impressed me. The room was not that spacious but makes you feel comfortable. And location of the hotel is very good, a shopping center is just next door, along with many good restaurants. It's a good choice for business travel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Matt,

Thank you very much for staying with Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen during your recent visit to Shenzhen. It is our great pleasure to receive your very positive comments, which it is definitely a great encouragement to us and we wish to express that we shall endeavor to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

Dear Matt, we are so happy to know that you had a enjoyable stay with us this time and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

With best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a grand hotel - the Kempinski lives up to it's name which makes the top 100 hotels in some countries. Service, decor, size of rooms and the ambiance of a big hotel makes it a great choice while in Shenzen. Complimentary wifi, bathrobes and buffet breakfast at the Seasons. This will be the hotel of choice for me when visiting SZH!

Room Tip: Rooms are big and great. Ask for a higher floor, only for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Faisal B,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Shenzhen. It is our great honor to receive your very positive feedback regarding our products and service. We are so proud and happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us.

Dear Mr. Faisal B, we look forward to welcoming you to visit us again. If I could be of any further assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me via my email: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com. Once again thank you very much for your kind encouragement and see you!

Best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My company was recently in Shenzhen for a medical conference. We stayed at the Kempinski. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The food was very good. They offer a laundry service per day. The workout facilites and swimming pool were very nice. It is outside the city near the China border. Cabs are extremely inexpensive so you can get anywhere on a few dollars. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Felice F,

Thank you very much for choosing Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen during the Medical Fair period.

It is our great pleasure to receive your very positive comments towards our products and service. Your nice comments make our day and we shall endeavor to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

Dear Felice F, Once again, many thanks for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen. If I can be of any assistance, in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me via lynn.xiao@kempinski.com.

With many thanks and best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen

Address: Haide Third Road, Houhaibin Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518054, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen Bay Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#13 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#18 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#99 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen is located in Nanshan District. The hotel has convenient accessibility to the Shenzhen Bay Bridge providing immediate access to Hong Kong. The hotel design was inspired by a well-known poem by Southern Song Dynasty poet Xin Qiji. To be one of the city’s leading luxury hotels, the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen comprises of 390 super-king comfort bed guestrooms featuring flat screen TV and in-bath television in all suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenzhen Kempinski Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.