We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen

Save Saved
You added Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haide Third Road, Houhaibin Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518054, China (Shenzhen Bay Port)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 1,961 hotels in Shenzhen
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

kempinski hotel is one of the greatest hotel in shenzhen. the location is great near the underground station which you can get anywhere with. near a big plaza with many stores resturants coffee places. all you need is in 5 minths walking.
the service is very good the rooms are very clean and the breakfast is a buffet with eerything you may want.

Room Tip: club floor rooms are bigger
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear op3144,

Thank you very much for your very positive review. We are so glad to know that you had such a enjoyable stay with us. I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind encouragement and would like to express that we shall endeavor to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

Dear op3144, if I can be of any further assistance in any way please do not hesitate to contact me via: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com

Once again, many thanks for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

Best regards,

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    285
    48
    13
    1
See reviews for
2
10
20
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

great location ( near shopping center) and the room is very clean and comfortable. the lobby is quite dim but the interior is very classy. however, some receptionists do not understand english. the food served tastes very good too. taking the cab to to the pier was within minutes. the hotel staffs were very helpful in getting a cab for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Cabbie,

Thank you very much for staying with Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen during your recent visit to this vibrant city. We are so delightful to know that you are satisfied with our service, products and good location. Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments regarding the language issue of one of the receptionist, for which we assure you that we shall continuously endeavor to improve English level for all staff in order to be commensurate with the Kempinski standard.

Dear Cabbie, we are happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us. We are looking much forward to welcoming you once again to stay with us.

With best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I wanna say this is a great 5-star luxury hotel. My first stay in Kempinski and it impressed me. The room was not that spacious but makes you feel comfortable. And location of the hotel is very good, a shopping center is just next door, along with many good restaurants. It's a good choice for business travel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Matt,

Thank you very much for staying with Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen during your recent visit to Shenzhen. It is our great pleasure to receive your very positive comments, which it is definitely a great encouragement to us and we wish to express that we shall endeavor to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

Dear Matt, we are so happy to know that you had a enjoyable stay with us this time and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

With best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a grand hotel - the Kempinski lives up to it's name which makes the top 100 hotels in some countries. Service, decor, size of rooms and the ambiance of a big hotel makes it a great choice while in Shenzen. Complimentary wifi, bathrobes and buffet breakfast at the Seasons. This will be the hotel of choice for me when visiting SZH!

Room Tip: Rooms are big and great. Ask for a higher floor, only for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Faisal B,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Shenzhen. It is our great honor to receive your very positive feedback regarding our products and service. We are so proud and happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us.

Dear Mr. Faisal B, we look forward to welcoming you to visit us again. If I could be of any further assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me via my email: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com. Once again thank you very much for your kind encouragement and see you!

Best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My company was recently in Shenzhen for a medical conference. We stayed at the Kempinski. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The food was very good. They offer a laundry service per day. The workout facilites and swimming pool were very nice. It is outside the city near the China border. Cabs are extremely inexpensive so you can get anywhere on a few dollars. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Felice F,

Thank you very much for choosing Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen during the Medical Fair period.

It is our great pleasure to receive your very positive comments towards our products and service. Your nice comments make our day and we shall endeavor to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

Dear Felice F, Once again, many thanks for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen. If I can be of any assistance, in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me via lynn.xiao@kempinski.com.

With many thanks and best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is close to some local market places, such as Carrefour, small shopps.
Nice location, good bed on the romm, good bathtube.
Small bar, litlle bit dark, but with some good songs.
Expensive beer, but you can solve this buying at the market close to the hotel.
The service was good as well. The breakfast also very good, with a lot of options for the morning.
The dinner is very, very expensive for the size of the plate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Mr. WRWanderley,

Thank you for choosing Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen as your preferred choice of accommodation in this vibrant city.

Thank you for your time to share with us your valued comments which are truly appreciated. We are sincerely pleased that you were content with our services and wish to express that we shall endeavor to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

By the way Mr. WRWanderley, we are launching on-going buffet promotions providing our guests with best value for money. You could contact the restaurant for more information, if you stay with us next time.

Once again, many thanks for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

Best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our five night stay in March was fine, but the hotel could use some sprucing up. The hotel is well-located, with access to the subway right outside. The lobby is vast, but somewhat sterile and dark. Our room was okay, with a very comfortable bed. However, the carpeting in the room was quite worn (down to the concrete below outside the bathroom), and somewhat dingy. Of the 6 hotels we used in Asia, this was the only one that did not have at least one electric outlet that would accommodate non-Chinese plugs. We had an adapter with us, but it didn't fit and all the hotel adapters were unavailable for our first 2 days.

The only meals we had at the hotel were breakfasts, and these were excellent. The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to try and make sure all the guests were satisfied. The restaurant staff were the most competent, professional and helpful of all the hotel employees we encountered.

One complaint that should be noted is that, despite clearly requesting and choosing to pay for our room in RMB, the hotel charged us in USD and we received a very poor currency conversion.

The hotel charges prices as a 5-star hotel but provides services for a 3.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Idranet,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Shenzhen. Thank you very much for your valuable time to provide us with a very comprehensive feedback.

It is certainly beneficial to receive such constructive comments and we can assure you we shall continuously endeavor to solve the issues you mentioned.

Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience during your recent stay. We do hope that we have the honor to welcome you to stay with us once again in the future so we may have the opportunity to provide you with the standard of service that hopefully, then, exceeds your expectations.

With many thanks and best regards

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen

Address: Haide Third Road, Houhaibin Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518054, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen Bay Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#13 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#99 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen is located in Nanshan District. The hotel has convenient accessibility to the Shenzhen Bay Bridge providing immediate access to Hong Kong. The hotel design was inspired by a well-known poem by Southern Song Dynasty poet Xin Qiji. To be one of the city’s leading luxury hotels, the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen comprises of 390 super-king comfort bed guestrooms featuring flat screen TV and in-bath television in all suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Ctrip DaoDao and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenzhen Kempinski Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.