We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, good price, good area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Shenzhen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Shenzhen to your Saves list
Marco Polo Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.28 Fuhua 1st Rd, Futian District, Shenzhen 518048, China (Civic Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 2,133 Hotels in Shenzhen
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, good price, good area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

The Hotel is located in the nice area of shenzhen. Some nice nightlife bars and discos are only a few minutes walking away. The hotel got a big restaurant with buffet.
The hotel is modern and the staff is friendly. The rooms are modern as well, some are a little bit small and the bathroom is not the biggest. Nevertheless, it´s a nice hotel and the price is good as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    222
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
11
17
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I did not know what to expect, having heard stories of one early visitor to this hotel shortly after it opened. Clearly, whatever happened to them can only have been a teething problem because this hotel is top of the game. Stylish, very comfortable, and extremely well proportioned rooms, located in the business district and easy to get to from the ferry (we travelled from Hong Kong) and to the airport. Some excellent dining options nearby, though there was a lot of noise from a bar opposite - so ear plugs might be a good idea (I never travel without!). I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, it was superb.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The Marco Polo Shenzhen is a nice, clean hotel located in Futian district. The hotel staff has been very nice and friendly. Although the staff should be able to correspond not only void phrases but should be also able to understand more difficult sentences, eg questions regarding wifi in the room or to fix a night lamp have not been understood. The room has been spacious and clean and one has a great view over the city. The spa the hotel offers is absolutely fabulous. I enjoyed a wonderful relaxing massage and did not even have to make an appointment. The therapist was great and knew exactly what to do although she did not speak English. All in all I would choose this hotel again since it is located in a nice area of Futian district. The metro is only one block away and starbucks is also right around the corner. The COCO Park(shopping mall) is nearby which is great for dining and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

i just attempted to book this hotel for my third multi-day stay this year. unfortunate for me, the price has taken a substantial increase thus opening up alternatives. it is not that i cannot afford the new price; if i am going to pay an average of $130/night before the 15% tax excluding breakfast, there are multi hotel alternatives that are immediately and abundantly available.

whereas the Marco Polo's rate throughout most of the earlier part of this year has been Y660/night which included breakfast, the new rate is Y1,030/night without breakfast. that is more than a 50% room rate increase with the added insult of no breakfast with the increased room rate.

i think i will return to luo hu district where the hotels are more competively priced. for example: the 999 royal suites offers rooms starting at 69sqm at a very competitive price. what one surrenders is an incovenient location and a breakfast with a less comprehensive menu.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

The Marco Polo is very excellent hotel right in the new business district in Shenzhen. The rooms offer modern and stylish interior and so its easy to enjoy your stay. The hotel has a very good restaurant and you can also find some bars in the area. There was still a lot of construction going on nearby and the noise level have been a little higher than normal but nothing that seriously disturb your night.
Even though it feels a little pricey from China it is a hotel I can absolutly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerelbekeBelgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We had a club room: good comfort, but a lot of noise from a bar in front of the hotel (maybe because of Mid Autumn Festival). Winhdow isolation for noise???A whole night we heared the drum of the music. Service was average at reception several times: Not perfect check in: we and my Indonesian husband checked in...I gave them both pasports. They said they couldn't find the reservation...Afterwards it becomes clear that they were looking for a second room, while we booked only one room for 2 p and with 2 breakfast included. When this was solved out, they said only 1 breakfast was included, while on the reservation form: 2 included breakfast were mentionned. When we complained twice about noise (night and morning the day after) they had no solution at all. When during the day we were looking at a pharmacy for eardops and couldn't find it, we asked at the reception, and they had eardops and said a lot of guests are complaining!!! Why not offering them immediately at our 1rst complaint the first night? Same stories by checking out, they locked our door before the checking out time, and didn't tell us when we came in and told them we would check out in half an hour...Breakfast and the at breakfast was very good. Coco Park (shopping mall) and metro station (Gouwu Gongyuan station) are in walking distance, a few minutes away, so location is very good. Beautiful view over the buildings into Hongkong from the club on the 40th floor. Good,serviceminded and very friendly staf there (both, lady at reception, and man serving the drinks). Also the choice and taste of the snacks was very good. Conclusion: good hotel, poor frontdesk service, noise can be problem (or only when Festival???)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Found Marco Polo Hotel via tripadvisor and with other reviews booked two deluxe rooms for friends and my wife.
Travel from LuoHu Metro to Gouuwugongyuan Station ( 8 stops ) comes out Coco Shopping Mall..
use exit c and once on street you can see hotel about 400 metres away.
At check in we were upgraded to a club Room, very nice and well appointed. Great sleep and a great shower. From 35 floors up one could get a great view over the area.
Used the swimming pool......GREAT.
Gym appeared very well equipped but with the amount of walking we did we did not need it.
Reception staff very helpful and did their best to assist, our Chinese no good but at least they could give a little with English.

Metro service excellent and cheap. Did trips to LaoJie Station ( Dongmen area for shopping ). Went once when raining and not a good experience, but went back when fine, loved it. Shopping good and no hazzle from shop owners. You could spend hours around the streets.

LuoHu. Full on and lots of fun, be warned they mark up the prices but will not sell unless in their favour. They will always win. Place to buy genuine fakes....handbags, DVD's watches etc. Just walk away, but if you offer a price and they excepted be warned you had better buy as they will give you a mouth full. Seen them do it to a customer.

Overall: If I was going to Shenzhen for 3 to 5 days I would stay at Marco Polo and have already recommended to others. Use the Metro great once you get used to it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Shenzhen

Address: No.28 Fuhua 1st Rd, Futian District, Shenzhen 518048, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Civic Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#15 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#21 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#97 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Shenzhen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Shenzhen is located in the heart of Futian Central Business District, with close proximity to the Shenzhen International Convention & Exhibition Center and Metro Subway Station. It is only 15 minutes to the Lowu Railway Station and Shenzhen Bay Port, 20 minutes to Shenzhen North Railway Station, 35 minutes to Shekou Ferry Terminal and Shenzhen Bao'an Airport, and 10 minutes to Futian/Huanggang Checkpoint. The 391 well-appointed rooms and suites are equipped with broadband Internet access, luxurious bathrooms, state-of-the-art communications and entertainment facilities. Situated on the 35th to 41st floors of the hotel, The Continental Club provides the most luxurious accommodations for travelers. The 31 function rooms including Marco Polo Ballroom and one auditorium, can accommodate up to 3000 people and provide the ideal Shenzhen venue for meetings, seminars, and social events. The hotel has 5 restaurants and bars, including the Cafe Marco, serving a fusion of "Euro-Asian-Chinese" cuisine, Margarita Bar, Connect (Lobby Lounge), Carrianna Chiu Chow Restaurant, Nishimura Japanese Restaurant and Wine & Cigar Bar Le Cru. The hotel's fully equipped Fitness Center includes a gym, sauna, and outdoor swimming pool, and hotel guests can indulge in relaxing spa treatments at the internationally renowned Pure Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marco Polo Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Marco Polo Hotel Shenzhen
Shenzhen Marco Polo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.