We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor communication between the Hotel and the on-line booking agent HotelClub.com” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Shenzhen

Save Saved
You added Marco Polo Shenzhen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marco Polo Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.28 Fuhua 1st Rd, Futian District, Shenzhen 518048, China (Civic Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 2,132 Hotels in Shenzhen
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor communication between the Hotel and the on-line booking agent HotelClub.com”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room for 3 adults via hotelclub.com, unfortunately we found out that we were given a room with 2 small size beds and the room was so small that there was no space to add an extra bed. The hotel only provided us towels and bathroom utilities for 2 persons. Also, we have indicated that we wanted to have a non-smoking
room in the hotelclub.com web page, but when we check in, the front desk still asked us if we want to have a smoking or non-smoking room. We called hotelclub.com for help, and explained to them we had booked a room for 3 adults but now the hotel had given us a room just fit for 2 adults. They said it was our fault to book such a small room, we should book a bigger one. It was not acceptable to have such answer from a big agency like hotelclub.com. We indicated that we wanted to have a room for 3 adults at the very beginning, and the web site recommend the room for us, we suppose that the room with 2 beds that can fit 3 adults and should have 3 sets of towels. Finally the hotel gave us a corner room, a bit larger, but still with 2 small beds and 2 sets of towels. Later we checked the hotelclub.com web site, we couldn't book a room for 3 adults in this hotel. They have made some change after our case and this indicates that hotelclub.com and the hotel understood that giving a small room for someone booking for 3 adults was not acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    218
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
9
17
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Overall a pleasant experience with friendly staff, a great location, great breakfast selection, clean and well maintained guest room. Chinese restaurant is not my best pick for authentic Cantonese food, but club lounge has some nice offers to make for a great stay. The gym is well equipped and one of the best places in the hotel, same as the lovely outdoor pool.
Would for sure stay again, specially due to the location and the price compared with nearby competitors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipa, Ilhas, Macau
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed two day Marco polo hotel Shenzhen hotel near bank,shopping center same restaurant and night bar this time in Shenzhen holiday we are very lucky for traffic

I stayed two day Marco polo hotel Shenzhen hotel near bank,shopping center same restaurant and night bar this time in Shenzhen holiday we are very lucky for traffic

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Once upon a time, the Marco Polo Shenzhen was not only my favorite hotel in Shenzhen, it was my favorite hotel in South China. I travel all over China for business and was always happy to stay at Marco Polo Shenzhen. The staff knew my name. They knew what I liked. Everyone was always friendly. Unfortunately, this is no longer the case. The service has taken a nosedive and on a good day can only be described as "good enough that I didn't have to scream at someone to get what a 5-star hotel should have offered in the first place." Satisfied isn't even a word I am comfortable using. Cafe Marco is the worst of all. I haven't had a trouble-free dining experience there in well over a year (breakfast excluded). The front desk is slightly better, only because they do have occasional good days mixed in with the frustrating debacle days.

The worst part of it all, is that year after year, the hotel keeps raising prices, especially in the restaurants, while service is falling. Restaurant prices are now on par with Shangri-la and other 5-star luxury hotels. In all fairness, Marco Polo has stepped up its buffet offerings, but it is nowhere near Shangri-la or Ritz-Carlton. Unfortunately, the prices are.

The worst part is, I now dread coming because I don't know if it is going to be one of the pleasant experiences of the past or yet another blow up at the staff to fight tooth and nail to get what should rightfully be offered for the prices charged and the name Marco Polo. Really disappointing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is becoming old and worn down. Upon check in, got informed that no more non-smoking rooms available. As we insisted, 2 more non-smoking rooms magically appeared. Bf buffet is ok and good. Otherwise, not like a real luxurous Marco Polo anymore

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Marco Polo Shenzhen is my choice of stay when I needed to be in Shenzhen for work and have stayed here for 3 other occasions previously. Unfortunately the stay this time round wasnt as comfortable as it used to be. I was informed they are unable to provide me a non-smoking room when I checked in (I had requested for 1 when I booked the rooms). I had to 'volunteer' for a downgraded room in order to get a non-smoking room. I started getting nasty bites on my arms from the 2nd night ownards and the bites started getting worse each subsequent night.
I would advise the bed in room 2211 be changed..

Other than that, location is perfect and the cleaniness is always there...Thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Marco Polo is a full-service hotel with large, comfortable rooms. The staff speak English pretty well. It's in a good location in the Futian district of Shenzhen, and is more affordable than some of its nearby competitors.

Downsides:
- The thumping beats from the nightclub across the street can be heard in the rooms until at least 2 AM every night. This is not under the hotel's control, but it could be bothersome, and guests should ask for a room on the side of the hotel farthest from the nightclub.
- On the bill, there were several items marked "service charge" that I was told were actually taxes. If they are taxes, they should be listed as taxes.
- The chair at the desk in my room was too short and couldn't be adjusted upward. Only a problem if you're going to be spending a lot of time working in your hotel room (as I did).

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side will probably have the least nightclub noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Shenzhen

Address: No.28 Fuhua 1st Rd, Futian District, Shenzhen 518048, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Civic Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#15 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#20 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#95 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Shenzhen 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Shenzhen is located in the heart of Futian Central Business District, with close proximity to the Shenzhen International Convention & Exhibition Center and Metro Subway Station. It is only 15 minutes to the Lowu Railway Station and Shenzhen Bay Port, 20 minutes to Shenzhen North Railway Station, 35 minutes to Shekou Ferry Terminal and Shenzhen Bao'an Airport, and 10 minutes to Futian/Huanggang Checkpoint. The 391 well-appointed rooms and suites are equipped with broadband Internet access, luxurious bathrooms, state-of-the-art communications and entertainment facilities. Situated on the 35th to 41st floors of the hotel, The Continental Club provides the most luxurious accommodations for travelers. The 31 function rooms including Marco Polo Ballroom and one auditorium, can accommodate up to 3000 people and provide the ideal Shenzhen venue for meetings, seminars, and social events. The hotel has 5 restaurants and bars, including the Cafe Marco, serving a fusion of "Euro-Asian-Chinese" cuisine, Margarita Bar, Connect (Lobby Lounge), Carrianna Chiu Chow Restaurant, Nishimura Japanese Restaurant and Wine & Cigar Bar Le Cru. The hotel's fully equipped Fitness Center includes a gym, sauna, and outdoor swimming pool, and hotel guests can indulge in relaxing spa treatments at the internationally renowned Pure Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Marco Polo Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Marco Polo Hotel Shenzhen
Shenzhen Marco Polo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.