We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Points for location, but unimpressed with breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zhong Tai Lai Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Zhong Tai Lai Hotel to your Saves list
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.57 Yongxin Street, Jiefang Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China (Dongmen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 2,143 Hotels in Shenzhen
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Points for location, but unimpressed with breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lets start with the positives..the location is excellent..metres from the station...metres from Dongmen. Using the Metro you can get to just about anywhere. Reception staff spoke & understood reasonable English, so another positive. The twin room was spacious and bathroom neat with good water flow. The big downside for us was the breakfast. A very limited choice for Westerners; white bread, boiled eggs, chicken sausage. They even serve peanuts in the shell. No-one's making eggs. Orange juice was warm. The cereal was cornflakes or rice bubbles, not always fresh, though the milk was cold. For a few days, ok. For more than that stay elsewhere. Also, the airconditioning was not very effective.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    246
    63
    12
    5
See reviews for
26
33
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stay here for 2 night. I booked 2 room from online site. Arrived at 6pm in Shenzhen, so we just use taxi to take us here. From other review on the online site and this site, I told my brother and his gf not to expect much. Since we just looking for a place to rest at night and spends all day outside. Only one staff can speak english,her name is Lina. But other staff also friendly and try to help a lot if you can speak mandarin. The room is so average, just like 3 star hotel in my country. A little bit weird smell but we don't really care about it. We try to check the bed and bathroom, it's clean. That's enough. This hotel have a great location for shopping and foods. You just have to walk around the area, you can find lot of kind of food. There is free wifi in this hotel, but I can't use it from my room. Ask about it to the staff, they just say that sometimes connection not working well. I end up sit at the lobby to use the wifi. Anyway IMHO I think this hotel prob used as love hotel by local people, because they put and sell some adult stuff in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

ZTL hotel is right smack at the shopping area in Shenzhen. It's very convenient. There's a shopping street just 15 minutes away full of good bargains!

FREE WIFI, i love that a lot. Another thing i want to highlight is they serve great dimsum at their in house restaurant! Delicious, Big portion, Affordable price!

Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms are just average, cleanliness is also just average. It's 40-45 mins away from the airport, it helps if you leave early to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sg
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I visited this hotel on 11apr2013 and booked a suite through an online site. When i reached the hotel, the bellboy was extremely friendly and offered a good service.

However, when i entered the room which i was allocated to which was 302, i felt unpleasant. There was a smell of fungus in the room as well as the room looks extremely old with wallpapers falling off on the sides.

That was my experience for the afternoon.

When i returned from my shopping in the dongmen shopping street, i was very tired and wanted to wash up and go to bed. However, when i took a short rest on the sofa, i felt an itch on my leg. slowly, my whole body started to itch and i realize its the sofa being dirty. Well thats alright as i thought not many people would bother. However, when i went to bed after washing up, i realize the same thing happening on the bed. i was itching all over my body and i couldn't take it anymore. I was lucky that i have a anti itch dusting powder to ease the itch.

Throughout the night, there was knocking and furniture moving sound on the level above us. It was so noisy. If the hotel has to renovate their meeting room or prepare for something the next day, i would recommend them not to disturb the guest in the rooms.

The hair dryer was place in a bedside table drawer and i didn't know. when i called the housekeeping i was told off in a very rude manner. Totally hate it and would not stay in this hotel anymore. A good alternative might be Sunon hotel just next to it. Im not very sure as i have not stayed in it.

Totally horrible hotel. Not recommended unless you do not have any other choice.

Currently in HuaQiang Plaza Hotel and the executive rooms are already far above standard for a slightly higher price and its just 2 stops away from LaoJie station.

Room Tip: Rooms are very dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a suite on the 6th floor. Room and bed was huge. Had a TV in both the living area and room. Have no complaints with the bed. It was comfortable and clean but the carpet could have been vacuumed. Found some old orange seeds on the floor. The shower also was not draining water out properly and the soap holder was covered in soap scum.

Location wise was very convenient. A minute away from the subway and Dongmen Street.

Staff was also very friendly and helpful. Conversed well in English and was able to provide directions and translations.

For the price that I paid, i will probably come back here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you're in Shenzhen to eat, shop and go to a spa - then you cannot go wrong with this hotel.

Just don't expect a 5 star hotel. This is more like a 3 star hotel.

The hotel is literally 1 minute away from Dongmen Street.

The hotel is currently being refurbished, so there is some construction noise (but you cannot hear it in your bedroom)

Unfortunately - the aircon does not work very well. I hope they fix it.

If I come back, I wil likely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were happy that we found this hotel during our visit in Shenzhen. The guy at the receptionist has a great sense of direction. He helped us in direction to get to the attraction that we plan. Thanks to him for giving us direction. If you have lots of luggage during your visit in Shenzhen, don't worry. This hotel is right on the left of Laojie subway station. No cab required.

Walking in Shenzhen do need a 'covered' shoe but not any sandals as the streets are not clean and you might step on dirty or food water anytime.

Will come back again for food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zhong Tai Lai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhong Tai Lai Hotel

Address: No.57 Yongxin Street, Jiefang Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#114 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zhong Tai Lai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star, 166-room Days Inn Shenzhen is located in the city’s famous commercial center, Dongmen shopping street. It is about 100m away from the subway and about 5 minutes away from the railway station, and about 40 minutes’ drive from Shenzhen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zhong Tai Lai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Shenzhen Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zhong Tai Lai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.