We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great place (golf)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen to your Saves list
Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Mission Hills Road, Longhua New District, Shenzhen 518110, China (Guanlan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 2,132 Hotels in Shenzhen
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“what a great place (golf)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

just been there as a group of 9, and really enjoyed the experience. courses were fantastic at Shenzhen, played 4 courses only due to our preference to get "good " greens. lots of coring on both fairways and Greens created problems for us. would have been nice if the Sales dept. had advised us in advance so we could swap dates. greens slow but courses spectacular. rooms great, food good, particularly breakfast. service willing if a little misunderstood, but learn to be patient. Caddies are good and very helpful, a highlight for us all as you can use the same one each day . More English would be a help, especially with check out. too much discipline not much flexibility and flair. Its a golf resort only, and we will go back. True , not much atmosphere in the bars , mainly due to clientele and diverse nationalities. Staff all very keen to please, so all in all, just get used to it and enjoy the day!

Room Tip: all rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear guest, thanks so much for your comments on Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen.We are so sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay.And English training will be conducted for the staff to achieve improvement. Wish you the very best in your business and personal endeavors~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    47
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
15
2
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Amazing resort with all possible conforts!! I stay 3 nights for work and the hotel is fantastic! the best room I ever try. You must try Japanese resturant and spa wellness. Everithing much cheaper compare to hong kong.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest, thanks so much for you positive comments about the Mission Hills Resort. We'are very pleased to know that you're impressed with the environment and facilities in the resort.Waiting for you coming back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

If you don't like golf this resort is definitely not for you. Even if you do like golf you will find that the resort itself is quite sterile. The facilities are all there but the place is soulless. There is hardly anyone in the bar. The restaurants are half empty. The pool is hardly ever used.

Room Tip: ask for one higher up overlooking the course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for the comments on Mission Hills. Do hope you enjoy the facilities and services in our club and wish you come back again~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We went for the golf as most people do. The variety and standard of courses is excellent. It's good resort golf with a wide variety of tees depending on standard and not much rough unless you are well off target. The caddies, all woman, were excellent and quickly tuned in to your game and kept the field moving, which is important given the standard of some of the players!

The hotel is clean and OK. But nothing special. It feels a bit soulless. It was quite quiet when we were there so the bars and restaurants were empty. This part of China still doesn't get service they way they do say in Hong Kong. So don't expect fantastic service here - you won't get it. That's not to say people don't try. They do. But it's different.

The other big gripe I have is that when you come off the golf course, having played for example the Jack Nicklaus World Cup Course, the bar/restaurant you sit at overlooks the golf buggy car park!!! Why? The have thousands of acres of golf courses and you finish up having a drink looking at buggies on a tarmac car park. Madness!

The bar and restaurants are OK but not great. I'm sure they will improve with time.

But if you really just want good golf and a place to relax with your mates afterwards it's still a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest, thanks so much for you review about the Missionhills Resort. We are looking forward to serving you at a high standard in Mission Hills Resort & Spa and we trust your next stay with us will be a pleasant and satisfactory experience.Long for your coming back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

GOLF - As a group of 7 guys , we only came for the golf and the golf courses are amazing layouts but the condition of some of the fairways was average as a lot of maintenance (coring) was going on - plus the slow greens are frustrating to people who don't play there every week - but the caddies are fun and caring and very knowledgeable and put the customer first. We played on 6 of the courses over 3 days including the night golf which was different but I might never do again.

HOTEL - it's a nice 5 star resort hotel . Nice rooms , good beds , amenities ,plus free bottled water The Asian restaurant was good but the western offerings here and there seemed to lack a bit of cohesion but ok . Food was a bit more fast food than "meal" but breakfast buffet was good, typical style with lots of choices.

THE GOOD - This is golf heaven - the magnificent scenery especially around Dongguan , the golf courses , the operation of the facility with all the carts and the staff - lots of smiles and greetings from staff who seem genuinely willing to help

THE BAD - Everything seems to take more time than it should and communication in english is difficult at times - staff speak enough to get by but not enough to really help at times. They don't understand anything out of the ordinary - Checkout was slow whilst they couldn't get someone to check the mini bar but numerous occasions over three days where staff struggled to communicate - but they stayed patient - but lots of rules. Better systems needed for managing paying for on course food and drinks and a drink cart running around on a hot day would be a winner. Plus lots of mosquitoes

OTHER SUGGESTIONS : Some UHT milk with the tea and coffee would be EXCELLENT.- Some sun cream in the locker rooms or with the caddies -would be so good.


THE SURPRISING : If golfing -Be prepared to do a lot of walking. the cart paths are sometimes a long way from where you hit your ball - even on a fairway and whilst the caddies do their best to direct you where to park and help you out you will walk as far as you would if you were pulling your clubs back home. be fit before you get here.

THE BEST - In the end It's all about the golf - Put it on the "sand" bucket list and come and play. the courses are different and challenging and they understand golf. Bring lots of balls and i am sure you will have a great time. Despite any frustrations the attitude of the whole resort is to serve the customer and they will help - I will be back - six courses left.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest, thanks so much for you comments about the Missionhills Resort. In terms with the restaurants, we will make efforts to create new menus. and we will continue to improve the English levels of our staff in order to provide efficient services. Long for your coming back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The Shenzhen's Mission Hills is a beautiful and relaxing resort, featuring many comforts, with luxury rooms and for a decent fee. Hotel's workers are nice and very kind. Golf instructors are great and they are building a new centreville reachable by bus. It's the second time I come, and I'LL definetly suggest it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for the positive comment on Mission Hills. It was a great support and an encouragement to us.We are looking forward to serving you at a high standard and wish you the very best in your business and personal endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here recently on business as was near our next day destination. Was not here to play golf so will just focus on hotel.
This hotel is vast, and it may have been just timing but the hotel was totally empty. No one to be found anywhere.
We went to eat in the so called 'western' restaurant, I would liken this to McDonalds, menu was mostly fast food. We left quickly.
We ended up eating in the bar area of the hotel after a long walk back from the restaurant. Food here was good, but very expensive. Service was very good, think we had the whole team looking after us as they had nothing else to do!
I took breakfast in the room in the morning as couldn't face the hike to the western restaurant. I know this is china, and I am in China a lot but breakfast was poor. I was checking out that morning and was told because of this I would have to pay cash by the guy delivering the meal!! I told him no, as I had no cash, then the usual thing for china a long debate pursued, my phone started ringing, telling me I had to pay for my breakfast... think those reading this that stay in China a lot will know what I mean, small things are always huge issues here.
Anyway not good for a so called leading resort.

The rooms themselves are very big, nice bathrooms, sitting area, balcony had good views of the golf course. This the highlight I think.
If you want a hotel with atmosphere do not stay here, as there is none.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying in our resort and also the valuable comments to us. Regarding the comments to the Food & Beverage, we are truly sorry for your unsatisfied experience and the inconvenience caused, we will be strengthening the training for the staff and also more efforts will be put into developing our menu in restaurants, as highest quality service for guests is philosophy and ultimate goal in Mission Hills. Do hope you can come back again to experience the improvement in the nearly future, thanks & best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen

Address: No.1 Mission Hills Road, Longhua New District, Shenzhen 518110, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Guanlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#30 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#89 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the National 5A-level Tourist Attraction and surrounded by 12 world-class championship golf courses designed by the greatest golfers and legends, Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen offers an alluring combination of 5-star luxury accommodation plus some of Asia’s finest sporting, spa and leisure facilities. Free Wi-Fi and parking are provided.Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen is reachable from the city centers of Shenzhen and Dongguan within 30 minutes and from Central in Hong Kong within 1.5 hours. Shenzhen Bao’an International Airport is only a 30-minute drive away. The sister, Mission Hills Resort Dongguan is also just a 15 minutes shuttle-bus ride away. Set among the lush landscapes and rolling hills, the resort offers panoramic views of golf course and natural greenery. Elegant and spacious, all rooms feature interactive HD TV system with cable and pay-per-view programs, minibar and iPod docking station for your entertainment. Special inter-connecting rooms as well as children themed rooms are also available - ideal for families and friends alike.Guests have access to 2 outdoor swimming pools with a fun-filled obstacle water park, a fully-equipped gym and a state-of-the-art spa and wellness center for your leisure and relaxation. The resort also offers 13 multi-functional venues to meet your business, event and wedding banquet needs. A country club within the resort offers even more activities and leisure facilities including a 51 tennis courts and an ecology tour/trail. The resort also features a great variety of dining experiences offering some of the finest culinary selections from around the world. Guests can discover the savory tastes of local Cantonese cuisine, or indulge in a variety of eastern and western cooking traditions at 4 different dining options, including Cinnabar, Imperial Court, Mountain Café, and Shiki Japanese Restaurant.What's more, a 500,000sqm retail-tainment shopping mall (Q4 2014) is also within the resort - surely an unmissable shopping experience for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hills Hotel At

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.