We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit better than average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview O City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seaview O City Hotel to your Saves list
Seaview O City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3-5 Guangqiao Street, Huaqiao Cheng, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China (Overseas Chinese Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 2,143 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cedar Hill, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A bit better than average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We picked this hotel for it's location, price and proximity to the Shenzhen Metro station which is located across the street from the O∙City Hotel Shenzhen hotel.
The lobby is very impressive but that's the best part of the hotel. The west wing rooms are quite small and cramped. The main rooms have nicer furniture and are a bit larger.
The TV has the usual assortment of Chinese language channels but for Western tastes - you'll probably watch a lot of CNN or something that looks like the Discovery channel.
Since it was summer, it was hard to get the room cool enough and I had to move rooms once and although it was a bit cooler - it wasn't much.
One day I came back from business and the whole floor of rooms was littered with AC units. Apparently they all got cleaned and that was supposed to help.
It was reasonably comfortable but it wasn't what I would call adequate AC.

The hotel is located across the street from an "amusement" park area which includes the OCT area. The main attractions are Splendid China Park, Windows of the World, China Folk Custom Village, Happy Valley, Huaxia Art Center,and Hexiangning Gallery.
Also within walking distance is a shopping/entertainment area which has a movie theatre, restaurants and believe it or not - a WalMart.
Just going to the WalMart is an experience. They sell live frogs, fresh fish, etc. If you've forgotten to pack something - they might have something you recognize here.
.
Breakfast has a wide variety of western and Chinese favorites that change daily.

This hotel is friendly and affordable and if you like the location - it's a good choice.

Room Tip: There are two wings - the west wing is less expensive but has much smaller rooms and is quite a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    160
    38
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
5
12
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Size of the room is just ok. Also, it was quite clean. If I have something to complain, that would be the soundproof of the rooms. You could hear people talking at the corridor outside the room. The service was fine, the staffs were kind. They have a personnel who could speak in English.
The hotel is walking distance from the subway, which is very convenient. Around 15-20 minutes walk to Walmart that closes at around 1030 pm. Walking distance to the Chinese Folk Cultural Village.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW Area
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I picked this hotel based on other TripAdvisor reviews. I had not been in China for work in a few years and never stayed in Shenzhen directly, always being farther out in Dongguan. I think part of my "surprise" was how long it had been since I had traveled in this part of China.

The hotel seems to be in a good location for other attractions, near Windows on the World and Western-brand hotels. The English language capability is adequate, barely. If you do not know any Chinese dialects, eventually, you can talk to a person who can help you. They just all seem to be at the front office, maybe one or two...this is not unusual in this part of the world, so not a problem at all.

I had to be escorted to my room so that I could find it. The hotel seems to be a series buildings connected during expansions. My room (which I believe was in the East tower) seemed new, fresh and small. However, I am used to small in this region. The internet speed was good, TV adequate (and I found English-speaking options) and the bathroom up-to-date and more than functional.

Because I was there for one night and somewhat afraid I could not relocate my room, I ordered room service. The service and food were both excellent. The only challenge came when I needed the dished picked up. It was difficult to reach someone by phone who understood the request, though I followed the instruction card exactly.

The amenities are good. There is even a box of office and personal supplies in the room available for your use, along with the customary robe and slippers. The towels and bedding are very cozy. Also a plus, the light switches are convenient and easy to use-figured them out on the first try.

The staff are friendly and they try to help as best they can. When I had a question at breakfast (included in my room rate), they went out of their way to find someone who could understand me. The food at breakfast is adequate, though figuring out what some things are can be a challenge. It was also extremely crowded the Saturday morning I was there and finding a table was difficult.

Overall, if you need to stay a couple nights in Shenzhen, this hotel is good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a few days with work. The room was OK - clean and good size. Try and get a room in the main building. Decent breakfast. Good service. Bar with live music. Shopping mall within a walking distance.

Close to the Underground.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakobstad
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I went to Shenzhen for conference which was held at Seaview hotel. The hotel room was ok, but it was a real pain to get there. There are two wings in the hotel and I stayed on the "wrong" one. I had to take two different elevators and walk long hallways get to the room. I had very nice and large deluxe executive room.
Everyone spoke good English and were very helpful. Good restaurants and breakfast. Location was great since there is a metro station just in front of the hotel and taxis were always available. About 5-10 minutes walk to Wall-mart.

Room Tip: Get the room from the main building. It takes about 5 minutes to get to the rooms on the west wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Got a nice room with comfortable King Size Bed, good and friendly service , reasonable price. Great Variety for breakfast and also two optional restaurants are part of the hotel. One Chinese and one International. Nice bar with Live Music which has been almost empty three days in a row. Still music the music played :-)
Metro entrance direct in front of the hotel, which is situated in probably the most green area i stayed so far, you feel like in the middle of the jungle.
Worth a trip!

Room Tip: Obviously a room with seaview is the best (front) but also the backside give a nice view over the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I went to Shenzhen for a family day in Spendid China and stayed in Seaview O City hotel for one night. The receptionists and waitresses look very nice and courteous. And the location is perfect with only a few steps away from the underground train to and from Luohu station and also within walking distance to "Spendid China Theme Park".

However, with elderly and young kids traveling with me, I should have booked chauffeured cross-border transportion service from AmyExpress.

Room Tip: Some rooms are facing the dormitory building of factory girls
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaview O City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview O City Hotel

Address: No.3-5 Guangqiao Street, Huaqiao Cheng, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Overseas Chinese Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#60 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaview O City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Ctrip TA so you can book your Seaview O City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Shenzhen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview O City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.