We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropark Hotel Shenzhen

Save Saved
You added Metropark Hotel Shenzhen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2088 Dongmen Middle Road, Luohu District,, Shenzhen 518001, China (Dongmen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 1,809 hotels in Shenzhen
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Location, Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here in a family suite from 12th May to 14th May. We enjoyed our stay, The rooms are very spacious and this is a truly value for money hotel. The view from my room was not very appealing, but it did not matter as we would be out for sight seeing for almost the wholeday. The Hotel is very close to the Dongmen Pedestrian Street and has many mnay amenities in the vicinity. It is most important to mention the high courtesy and the intent to help by the staff. though not much versed with English, they would mobilise their colleagues to ensure that we were understood and catered help sought. The Metro Station Shaibu is just adjacent with shpping mall bang in frot of the entrance and McD and Pizza Hut just 5 min walk away. Overall loved this place and would certainly come here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing main road would offer a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    146
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
15
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Most of the previous reviews are accurate and I wont repeat those. Here are some additional pros and cons

Pros-
-50 M from Shiabu Metro Station
-Huge Supermarket across the street open until 11.30 pm. Very helpful if you need water or milk or any other essentials.
-10 mins walk to Dongmen Shopping Street. Pizza Hut and Mc Donalds, a bakery, cobbler (I actually need one!) all within 100 meters of the hotel
-Huge Rooms. I opted for a 2 bedroom suite and this comes with a living room, small kitchen with microwave oven, fridge, a huge study (great to dump all the bags) and 1 bathroom. Old CRT TV in living room and both bedrooms. Really huge and comfortable. Almost a apartment.
-Reasonably priced on-site restaurant open until 1.30 am (thought they stop serving Chinese food after 10.30 pm or so. Vegetarian options very limited but you can find someone who can speak broken english and explain that you need food without meat or fish and they make it for you. Western food also available like club sandwiches etc.
-Washing machine in all rooms. No Dryer.
-They provide 2 liters of bottled water everyday in the 2 bed-suite.


Cons
-No wifi anywhere in the hotel including in the lobby. Your smart phone is useless. You need a device which can take in wired internet like a laptop. Big drawback considering many people now prefer to do work on their smart phones and it does not cost so much to put in a wifi router.
-Kitchen has absolutely no cutlery or utensils. They provide 2 cups for coffee, 2 cups for tea both with a gold rim (therefore not microwavable) and 2 glasses. This is really silly as you cant heat left over food like pizzas (no plates), or eat other things (like say chinese food) as they dont provide chopsticks or spoons either. Cant cut a fruit as there is no knife. Why provide a kitchen with a counter and a sink at all if such basics are missing?
-As commented by someone else, the massage center is strictly ok. I was with my wife so they didnt solicit me for "girls" but on the two occasions we went there, we could see 2-3 girls who seemed to be "waiting their turn" in a small room right inside the massage center. This is not good for a family type hotel. The masseuss will shamelessly remind you for a tip at the end of a foot rub. Depending on the masseuss, they will either give a nod to show the tip in ok or throw the money on the table to show their discontentment with the tip (while blabbering loudly in Chinese with their counterparts). Happened to us...the first night she was happy and the next night when my wife paid, the masseuss that night threw the money on the table. She was lucky I wasn't there as I would have taken back the tip. A tip is my discretion and cannot be demanded. The massage center is the most objectionable part of this hotel which tries to sell itself as a family hotel. Quality of the foot massage was strictly average @ 38 rmb for 45 minutes compared to 30 rmb for 1 hour in say Luo Hu mall. The whole experience is a putoff and avoidable. The massage center is open 24 hours and for an extra 10 RMB they will come to your room and give you the foot rub or massage or whatever you choose (plus tip offcouse and you will be reminded about that!)


Breakfast is typical mix of western and chinese food @ 60 RMB/p. Beds are hard. A/c works ok. We had a problem in one room and they attended to it. Room comes with an electronic safe, 2 umbrellas
From Luo Hu border, this hotel is 3 metro stops away (with one change at Lao Jie station) costing 2 yuan/p or a 10 minute taxi ride costing about 15 yuan (about 3 kms). It takes 1 hour to get to the airport by taxi and the cost is 150 yuan (including highway toll).

Front desk staff speak very limited english but are not snooty and try their best to help. Same with the restaurant.

Shenzhen is not tourist friendly in terms of language and like elsewhere in China very few can speak English ( I expected it to be a bit more cosmopolitian considering the large number of foreigners who visit this city). This hotel in on the main Dongmen Road but the taxi driver didnt know the location and they dont understand any english (spoken or written). Remember to get this written in Mandarin from the airport/train station before you get into the taxi.

Overall the feel of the hotel is good. Reception area is small and the pictures you see on the net of the atrium type look is that room area which is from 5th - 10th floor. I would recommend this hotel. This is a all suite hotel I think so it would be comfortable for business stopover as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Though the rooms are abit dated, this is still my choice to stay in Shenzhen. Good value and fantastic location if you want the bustle of Dongmen! The service staff was kind enough to inform me that they are undergoing major renovations but assure the room on my level will have minimal disturbance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed three nights, 30/4, 1/5 & 2/5, in a Business suite - the room was huge and very clean. I haven't stayed in a cleaner hotel before - the main room had polished wooden floors - they shone! The beds are firm like many hotels in China which is not unusual.

The housekeeping staff on the eighth floor were amazing, returned some monies left in a laundry item, and at check out this morning arranged for the concierge to bring a clothing item down that I had left in the room.

The hotel reception and restaurant staff were friendly at all times, we often laughed while trying to work tour ideas or general directions. The Dongmen Road Pedestrian Mall is within 200 metres from the hotel - there are many food options in the surrounding area.

The breakfast was adequate, plenty of choices - try the omelettes and friend toast!

The only minor downside was the limited tea (cha) options in the 11th floor Coffee Shop during the day.

The Metropark is an older hotel, which makes no difference - it appears popular and was busy early evenings.

They also arranged a share limo trip back to HKIA this morning - allow at least 2 and half hours travel time to HKIA via Shenzhen Bay - then allow for check-in and walk to your gate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Metropark Suites exceed our expectations! We stayed 2 nights & wished it had been longer 'cos it's clean, comfortable & so spacious. Took the Deluxe Suite - comes with a small kitchen, microwave, fridge, iron & board but no crockery, cutlery or pots. There's lots of storage space in the room and living room.
The breakfast spread is reasonably good, more towards chinese-style.
From Metropark it's about 100 metres to Shaibu station. To get to Luohu, it's just 1 stop to Laoji, change to Line 1(then 2 stops) to Luohu. To get to the wholesale markets in Dongmen, walk across the overhead bridge towards MOI Mall, pass MOI Mall, turn right into the pedestrian walk.
The cons: Check-in took a long time as there were only 2 staff but our check-out was quick.
Someone smoked in the lift.
We would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

booked 2 rooms in metropark hotel for 2 nites...room is big which I think is usually the case for China hotels...bedroom and living room separated...double room have a bathtub but twin room does not...walking distance to Dongmen pedestrian street...easy to find food...overall, have a pleasant stay and hotel location is good...will stay there again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms come with bathtubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savusavu, Northern, Fiji
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is really nice. LOVE the spacious rooms and bathrooms. We got a good deal, maybe because of the construction work going on and tended to be a bit noisy at times but it could easily be overlooked. its right opposite the Dongmen Mall and a short walk away from the other shopping centres...great location, great hospitality...definitely a place i would book into if i ever went to Shenzen again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropark Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel Shenzhen

Also Known As:
Shenzhen Metropark Hotel
Address: No.2088 Dongmen Middle Road, Luohu District,, Shenzhen 518001, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#33 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropark Hotel Shenzhen 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Metropark Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropark Hotel Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.