We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new & clean, but service, food, and facilities sub-standard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added L'Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
L'Hermitage Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3031 Nanhai Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518052, China (Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 2,162 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“new & clean, but service, food, and facilities sub-standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Check-in:
Only 1 staff and very slow.

Room:
gorgeous, spacious, new, and very clean. Same with bathroom. No complaints here. Not surprising since the hotel has been open less than 1 year.

Hallways:
still have bad chemical smells of new construction on some floors

Lunch service:
ordered a steak sandwhich and the meat was so tough... very hard to chew. Flavor was OK though.

Room service:
of course they screwed up the order which is normal for China, even when you order in Chinese. Beyond that, I ordered an "American style chocolate fudge cake". Skip that. It was disgusting. There was no cake in the cake... just a gelatinous glob of brown... so gross. The rest of the food was OK but small portions for high price and just average.

Gym
So tiny... just two treadmills and a couple dumbells... and a stationary bike and a bored looking staff member. not a gym at all... and certainly not the "state of the art technogym equipments with excellent personal trainers" as written in the hotel guide. That's laughable. No pool for those of us who like to swim for exercise... and no sauna that I could find though I asked and there was supposed to be one according to the guide.

Overall... a decent place to stay if you have to be in Nanshan/Shekou area of Shenzhen, but hotel definitely needs to improve its facilities, food, and service level.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us, at L'Hermitage Hotel in Shenzhen.
We are happy to hear you are satisfied with the room and we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations for the food service and gym. According to your comment , we will try to focus more on every particular position of the menu.
Regarding to the gym, we would like to explain that it is only for the hotel’s Guests and it’s size is adjusted to this quantity. There is also the highest quality brand equipment (called LifeFitness) installed there. Next to the gym, our Guests could find the sauna.

We would like to assure you that all your comments for the improvement, are very important for us and will be definitely taken into consideration. Thank you for sharing them with us.

We hope you will visit us one more time.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    25
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
8
2
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vedano al Lambro, Italy
Level Contributor
216 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Hotel is in Nanshan area, very close to Shennan Road, the long road crossing Shenzhen from west to East.
The Hotel is new, rooms very comfortable and very well equipped with a very functional aircon (necessary in most periods in Shenzhen), a great shower and a bath tub.
The fitness room is well designed and there is also a sauna.
Breakfast is typically included in the rate, great choice for every taste.
If I have to find something that could be improved is the english speaking of some receptionists (but they are very helpful anyway) and the fact that the hotel is not very well known by taxi drivers, so I suggest that you always carry with you the room key with the chinese name of hotel and address. The closest metro station is Shenzhen University, at about 10-15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Corrado,

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us.
We are more than happy to hear you liked the hotel’s room, gym and breakfast.
Great that you share a tip with other tripadvisor-users about the hotel card. We also recommend to all of our Guests to have it, as it is very useful for the taxi drivers.
Regarding the English speaking of some receptionists, we will do our best to improve the communication skills of our staff. Thank you one more time for your comment.

We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minorca, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The service was excellent during our stay from the front door staff to the concierge to the housekeepers. The rooms are quite large and pristine. This hotel is all about the total experience.
Overall, this was a great hotel and we would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Aloha,

Thank you a lot for such kind words. We are very glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.
We appreciate your wonderful comments, especially your willingness to return to L’Hermitage when you will be in Shenzhen next time. We will be more than happy to serve you again.

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

"Faultless" is not a word I use lightly and I've had some grim experiences in China. this hotel was a breath of fresh air - very reasonably priced at around the $100 a night mark I was surprised to find that this included breakfast and internet access. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and the internet speed was excellent. The food was excellent - breakfast was an excellent compromise with most breakfast items kept on hot plates but the bacon and eggs freshly cooked to order; also a good array of cold meats, cheese, fruit, etc. Dinner was also good although a wider menu would be an improvement. Staff were incredibly friendly, polite and helpful across the board and included 2 or 3 Europeans with excellent English for whom nothing was too much trouble. As an example I was smoking a cigarette outside, it started raining and a guy immediately sprinted across to hold an umbrella over my head!! For this price, this hotel was outstanding.

TOP TIP - the taxi drivers have difficulty finding the hotel so when arriving at the airport have a printout of the name and address of the hotel in Mandarin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Chris,

First of all, thank you for sharing such nice and positive comments about your experience at L'Hermitage Hotel. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay, and that you liked the service and breakfast. We will definitely continue to pay attention about our quality and make you feel like at home next time you visit us again.

Great that you shared the suggestions with other TripAdvisor users about the location map. Yes, we recommend our guests to have the hotel map printed out for taxi drivers. Regarding the food selection, we are always open to hear your wishes and requests, so if you have any, please let us know. Also, we change our dinner buffet offers according to guests' requests.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varazdin, Croatia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great hotel with comfortable rooms and beds, delicious dining, very clean and most of all lovely staff. Tamara handled all our needs and requests in a professional and friendly manner, making sure to exceed our expectations each time we saw her. Lovely lady and we will come back due to this hotel's amazing and personalized customer service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you so much for your lovely words and compliments. We are so happy to hear you had a great stay with us, and that you enjoyed the rooms, food and our staff. We will continue to keep our standards, and we hope you will choose us next time you come to Shenzhen. Many warm greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Tamara and Diego English speaking Europeans working at hotel made you feel at home and everyday attended to any needs that were required such as getting my cell phone working again. breakfasts were great with good selection, fantastic Japanese restaurant. close to Shenzhen University and 20 RMB taxi ride 15 minutes to Sekou ferry to HK airport. Very friendly chinese staff with most speaking some english. Was upgraded to Superior room on executive floor with large bathroom and luggage area. wonderfull beds and pillows. great internet service. good value. new hotel with the service of a Shangri-la hotel. highly recommdable.nice quiet area . a little trickey locating off Nanhai Ave. added bonus happy hour every night on main floor and executive lounge floor

Room Tip: superior room on executive floor is great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Everret,


Thank you so much for such kind words, we appreciate them a lot. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the room and Executive floor benefits, and liked the specialties from Japanaese restaurant, as well as our buffet breakfast. Yes, our staff are improving their English daily so that we ensure a smooth conversation with our guests.

It was nice to get a chance to know you. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This newly built hotel in the Nanshan district is very well located close a cross section (but without the normally accompanying noise) of two major expressways. The hotel's management has made the wise decision to hire a few non-chinese staff members ensuring a smooth communication with foreign guests.
I was helped on numerous occasions by Tamara and Diego in an effective way and always with a smile. Likewise the chinese staff, of course.
The rooms, the breakfast are of top class.
Visitors will surely not regret their stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Jacques,

These are such lovely words! Thank you so much. We were so happy to read your review and such a positive feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your time with us. When you come next time, we will ensure another great stay.

Best regards,

Tamara Gadjanski
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Longgang District
Crowne Plaza Shenzhen Longgang City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Civic Center
Marco Polo Shenzhen
Marco Polo Shenzhen
#25 of 2,162 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Zhuzilin
The Langham, Shenzhen
The Langham, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,162 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Longgang District
Tangla Hotel Shenzhen
Tangla Hotel Shenzhen
#20 of 2,162 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: No.3031 Nanhai Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518052, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 2,162 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.