We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a pleasant surprise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen to your Saves list
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2001 Jiabin Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518005, China (Luohu Port)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 2,132 Hotels in Shenzhen
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Overall a pleasant surprise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

When we arrived at the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by the lobby. Already familiar with Shenzhen, we knew that the location was ideal, but we actually booked Sunshine based on TripAdvisor reviews.

Upon check-in, we were informed that our rooms were on a smoking floor. My reservation clearly indicated no smoking, yet they told me that they had no more standard rooms in a non-smoking area of the hotel.

It took about 20 minutes of VERY vigorous protest with several staff, and when I finally insisted on seeing a manager (clearly the only person empowered to make a decision,) we were given an upgrade to a superior floor without smoking.

In all honesty, that is really the only misstep we had during out 8 days at Sunshine over 2 days. As far as amenities go, everything was reasonably high standard for China.

They had a miniature golf course which they charged a ridiculously high amount of money to play on. It was VERY simple: basically astroturf with holes drilled into it. We had assumed that playing would be free or for a nominal fee. During our entire time there we didn't see even one person playing miniature golf.

Room was very comfortable. Internet was more than adequate. And the staff was excellent. All in all a positive experience. Definitely my choice of hotel when I am back in Shenzhen.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    288
    58
    8
    3
See reviews for
4
15
6
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Stayed here in Jan 2011 for 3days in total, great check in staff, spoke english, cantonese and mandarin.

Good facilities, golf, pool, spa, currency exchange at the counter and great restaurant where we had dim sum on the first day. very big and plush restaurant.

The location is great, lots of shops, cafes and restaurants near by.

Walking distance to Dong Men centre, a short cab ride away from Lo Hu station and shopping district.

Rooms are comfortable as has everything we needed, although the first room i stayed in had a window facing a wall so no natural light- it was a standard room. the executive suite, one up from standard had a view of the street which was very nice. Also each room has all the amenities, shower cap, soap etc.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

The hotel is located close to big commercial area and very convenient to do some quick shoppings. Staff were all very nice and helpful especially infirmary nurse. I happened to have a bad stomuch ache and got so nervous to miss the next day's work presentation. The doctors and nurse were so eager and kind taking care of me. I will definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

my wife is from shenzhen and has been telling me for 2 years to stay at this hotel....i finally took her advice....glad i did.....i was very impressed....definitely better than 3.5 stars......rooms were nicely laid out, very clean and affordable......staff very helpful and easy to deal with in english....when checking out, the person inspecting the room before we left reported a fruit knife was missing......i asked what fruit knife?.......never seen one.......no problem they say.....must be our mistake you didnt have one......we apologize....very classy.......i stay in Louhu frequently and have stayed in 6 different hotels in this area.......until these guys disappoint me they have my business....i was that impressed

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

It’s a good thing you can’t judge a book by its cover... or name.
From outside the hotel looks dull and with a name like Sunshine, we thought it’s just as well we weren't paying high end prices. The lobby is better, spacious, but looks dated. The rooms though, had a nice feel to it the moment you walk in.
Toilet amenities, safe, bedroom slippers, complimentary water, sweets etc, I thought were all nicely provided. I don't know how they do it - the bed is very, very comfortable.
The hotel had some staff that impressed me: polite, professional, hospitable, which I hadn't expected…. well in Shenzhen China. Overall, I had to revise my image of Shenzhen city pretty quickly. The prices everywhere, for food, transport etc are very affordable. Clean and orderly too.
The hotel cafeteria/restaurant at the second level has a good menu of chinese and western food at reasonable prices. Usually having a meal in the hotel is more expensive. In this case, it’s worth considering. Breakfast buffet has a wide selection but it doesn’t reach the quality of top class hotels.
The hotel cashier makes foreign exchange using the daily bank rate, not a hotel rate.
East Gate shopping area is nearby. Perhaps my only gripe is that the hotel is not within walking distance to the rail station. Another big mall is situated there. It’s about 7 mins by taxi including traffic and cost less than US$2.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

After a warm welcome by the hotel staff, I was taken to my room and was most impressed and the best part was the complimentary bowl of fruit that was delivered

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen

Address: No.2001 Jiabin Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Luohu Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#36 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#68 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time honored brand with newly docorated Imperial Rooms. Exclusive service guarantees you a pleasant & peace stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenzhen Sunshine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.