We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel near HK/China Border” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen

Save Saved
You added Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1002 Jianshe Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China (Luohu Port)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay More and Earn More
Ranked #48 of 2,110 hotels in Shenzhen
Perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel near HK/China Border”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Travel with Family - Choose a Normal Horizon Club room this time and found it very adequate for our needs - if you have a little spare money or need a little extra room - upgrade to executive horizon room. Lovely pool on the 5 floor with a Spa Centre (Massage prices had gone up a fair bit since our last visit 2 years ago , although was great after a long day)- Fitness Centre is ok but could be better. Wifi in the hotel is good to have. Staff are great in particular the tall bell-boy who always was there to help every day when we needed with shopping and general help. Lovely Reception Area to check in either on the ground floor of 25th Club Checkin... Also they gave us free limo ride to the HK border and helped with the heavy suitcases we had.

Will be back next time in Shenzhen.

Room Tip: Be Aware that at this hotel to swim in the pool requires a swim-cap which last time wasnt needed . I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Paul V,

Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen and sharing your great comments. We are grateful that you enjoyed your stay with your family at our hotel. Your great comments on the pool with a SPA centre on the 5th floor and service has been kept in mind sincerely.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Shangri-La hospitality soon.

Best regards,
Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    636
    849
    164
    37
    12
See reviews for
50
65
54
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the club room. Broadly speaking, this is one of the best hotel in this area. 1. The breakfast, tea time, dinner with drink at the club lounge was very good quality and the staff was super kind with good english. 2. The bath salt and L'occitane amenities are satisfactory in the room. 3. The free pressing service is good. 4. late check out after 3:00PM makes my personal time cotrol easy. The old smell in the room and relatively old interior would be minor disadvantage.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear mmkim88,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen. We are pleased we were able to enjoy your stay and make it memorable with our food, service, and room amenities. We truly appreciate your high esteem us and we look forward to welcome you to our hotel again.

Warmest regards,
Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, Usa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hideous room. No shower. Fitness center awful. Outdated. Food marginal. 5 star prices. 1 star quality. Taxi needed 40 minutes to find the hotel , easy by train only. Everything outdated. Really an Asian business hotel not western





  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear 511 Chrisp,

Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen. My apologies for the poor experiences you have mentioned, would you please provide more details via e-mail at slz@shangri-la.com so we may investigate and follow up it accordingly?

Again, we do greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback on our page and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back next time.

Warmest regards,
Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel a few times during the past 2-3 years for my business trip, and I can see they always tried hard to provide best service quality. The staff were super friendly, and room was nice and clean. The breakfast was superb and getting even better for my last visit, in terms of selection and quality. The 360 on top floor has very nice view of the city and Hongkong. I also had a chance to enjoy the best Café Latte I had for a long time at the hotel lounge, served by their super friendly staff there (I think the name of the charming young lady was Sandy). Definitely a great experience there and I would not hesitate to stay there for my next business trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear ShawnY,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen as your residence during your business trip. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I am sure Sandy appreciates that her efforts are noticed. We are lucky to have many great people such as her at Shangri-La, Shenzhen. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.

Sincerely,
Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Definitely the least impressive hotel I've stayed at while on business travel throughout China and Hong Kong.
Bath tub wouldn't drain, things felt grimy to the touch, and my sheets smelled like men's deodorant and body odor in spots upon getting in.
The location is pretty good, but I would travel an extra 5 minutes to be able to sleep comfortably.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify Non-Smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear AndreaEgan,

Please accept our sincere apology for your disappointing experience during your recent stay. I was deeply concerned to learn that your staying experience is not according to the level that you expected from a Shangri-La Hotel. I have instantly addressed matter of your concern with our Director of Rooms and corrective actions have been taken to avoid the reoccurrence in the future.

AndreaEgan, thank you again for giving us the opportunity to improve upon our quality and service by providing us with your valuable comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen in the near future.

Sincerely,
Phlip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

exactly what you would expect of a hotel in this chain. Good location, great service, particularly from the concierge, comfy and clean rooms, and i thought the buffet breakfast was superb! Champs bar offers good western food and cold beer from when you ant to escape from teh busy streets outside. What isn't there to like..........

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear SpenceInHonkers,

Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen and sharing your pleasant experience with us.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our service, facilities and breakfast, and we are delighted to see your praise of all the joyful details, especially the food of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,
Phlip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I visited The Shangri La on a recent tour to the Lo Wu shopping centre. In appearance the Hotel is 5 Star. Alas the purpose of my visit was lunch! Poor quality food served at random is not what I know to be the perceived 5 star billing. I suggest finding an alternative source of food when visiting Lo Wu

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear SteelCityOwl_12,

I do regret that the food quality at restaurant did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. I have instantly addressed matter of your concern with Mr. Jeno Friedl, our Executive Chef as we want to ensure that we will improve our food quality.

Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to improve upon our quality and service by providing us with your valuable comments and suggestions.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Shenzhen in the near future.

Philip Dewar,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen

Address: No.1002 Jianshe Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Luohu Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#22 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#41 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#87 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen is ideally located in the Lo Wu district adjacent to the busy Hong Kong border. The hotel offers incredible views of Hong Kong’s New Territory and Shenzhen’s own majestic skyline while to discerning travelers who seek elegance, comfort and convenience when traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Shenzhen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.