We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nan Hai Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nan Hai Hotel to your Saves list
Nan Hai Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Gongye 1st Road , Shekou Nanhai Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518067, China (Shekou)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 2,158 Hotels in Shenzhen
Irvine, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hotel ideally situated 30 seconds walk from the Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and very close to the metro station. 5-10 minutes walk to bar/restaurant area of Shekou City which caters to ex-pats. English, Irish and German bar as well as Western chain restaurants in this area.
Hotel buffet was so-so, the menu doesn't change much each day, but plenty of choice with both Western and Chinese cuisine. There is also a Chinese restaurant located behind reception which I would recommend. Hotel and rooms were spotless, staff very friendly and helpful.
One negative is taht there is nowhere to buy a drink during the day. The bar opens at 1630 and there is no shop or kiosk either. Bar has Happy Hour (two drinks for price of one) between 1630-2030 every day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel have a sea view and are bigger than the front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    119
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
3
6
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nan hai hotel

pros:
- Location is super great, directly on the sea, 5 minutes walk from metro station "Sheko port" and bus station (end of some bus line).
- clean, good room service, calm, not feel crowded, classy, very friendly staff,...
- Good swimming pool, may be better than similar hotels in the same price range.
- The room is organized in a smart way, e.g. I liked the reading light, and controlling most lights from beside the bed, the alarm clock lightens up when you hold it,...
- Strong and solid internet connection, wired, and you can ask for wireless for free.
- Breakfast is nice and big buffet, u don't feel crowded or under-served.
- 4 elevators, I never waited more than 30 s for the elevator, which is a problem in some other hotels.
- Nice big hotel lobby at the entrance.

Cons:
- no washing machine, no kitchenette, no spoon, no fork, so difficult to eat any meal inside the room (however, this means no food smell in the floors also). and the mini bar fridge is small cannot take much.

- Hotel laundry is very expensive, if u stay there, u must look for a nearby laundry.

- The overall room lightening is not strong, but it is intelligently organized, you have reading light in the right places.

- The TV is locked to the some channels and offers you to buy movies for money buy pressing buttons in the remote control. This means: a- you can buy a 50 RMB movie by mistake,
b-Some of these movies are not suitable for children at all (semi-porn LOL) . c- if u r a nerd like me, u cannot connect your mini pc or laptop to the TV LOL

- the gym is small and not very well equipped.

- although guests can park their cars for free, the car waiting area in front of the hotel is
limited, but no big deal.

Overall, I felt peace of mind and reassurance in Nan Hai hotel, I changed it looking for a residence with washing machine, but I think I will go back there. It is perfect for single travelers for less than a month period.

But I think it is not a good choice for families or long stay.

Room Tip: sea view is magnificent, however more expensive of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
37 hotel reviews
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have been using this hotel for 15 years + and they generally tend to disappoint.

The location is great for arivals by boat fm Hong Kong being right next to the ferry terminal, but that now is a pain because its an unpleasant walk into the Shkou to visit the restaurants and bars. The is a lot of constrcutin nearby so you have to negotiate a busy dusty intersection which gets really muddy if it rains.

The service is benign and without any flair whatever.

My room was large and well furnished but annoying in that the small things like: can't watch the TV without all the ceiling lights on, every time you turn on the TV you have go through the menu to get TV every time, the shampoo/soap disenser drip a drop when you push the contraption with a bout 4000lb of pressure (not good unless you are fit football forward), internet is patchy at best (Wifi and cable) and breakfast while OK, is ordinary.

A very average affair but OK for the business traveller.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I live in Guangzhou, China.

This review is limited to my visitor use and is from my own experiences and one must remember that what can be one’s nightmare hotel can equally be another persons dream stay.

I stayed at the Nan Hai in Shenzhen for 2 nights - March 21-23. I was with a group of HS students as part a 3-day tournament. We only slept there because we were up at 7am, out for the day and back at 8pm to sleep.

Overall the hotel is a resort type suitable for business travelers and families. I did not use any facilities i.e., pool, and massage/Health center, barber, gym, cafes, non – breakfast restaurants, business center etc. so they are not reviewed.

Room
My sea view room (#1050) was massive for one person. It was a 1-bedroom suite with a very large sitting room with TV, a small kitchenette with a microwave, fridge, kettle etc. but no cooking amenities. My bedroom was large with a TV and in-room safe. My workplace booked the room so I think it was luck of the draw getting the suite.

Other rooms in the hotel were of an average size and no complaints from the students.

My bathroom was small but fine for a bathroom. It was old and in need of updating.

A lovely large balcony but there was no patio furniture.

My bed was of course hard. I asked for two additional duvets to make it softer and it was done within minutes. The bed size compared to a King bed. Pillows are like marshmallows, so bring your own if you can. I did.

No Wi-Fi in the rooms. In-room free cable Internet worked fine but free Wi-Fi in the lobby only.

Location
Is good, near the Metro, shops, restaurants and the ferry to Hong Kong is within a few minutes walk. There is a lot of construction going on at the hotel cross roads that made for an unpleasant surrounding atmosphere but this will end in the coming months.

Other
The hotel staff are super nice and very helpful.

Photos on the hotel web site are slightly not fair because the hotel is worn down.

Value?
I did not pay and we were offered an incredible deal as a tournament group.

Hotel Pros
Decent facilities. Good buffet breakfast. The food is fresh. Made to order eggs etc. and Asian style foods. The food is well presented and the serving areas are clean. The coffee is not bad but not good either. There was no other food eaten at the hotel by our group. A small shopping arcade with mostly high-end boutique shops is accessible on the main floor.

Hotel Cons
The hotel has seen better days. Through the entire property and the building, my room included, things are worn out, grungy, worn through, worn down, dirty walls, peeling wallpaper, dirty to filthy carpets, cockroaches in rooms – the whole place needs a serious cleaning and resurfacing. Except for the PATIO café, which was quite suitable for breakfast.

Clearly this is a hotel that, although they aim to please, needs the owners (Miramar Group - HK) to do an honest & thorough walk about and then put some serious money into making it look newer. To really measure up to the condition of a 5-Star hotel, the whole kit and caboodle needs a purposeful cleaning and makeover.

Despite the demerits, I’d consider going back for another try.

Room Tip: Select sea view rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stay there 2 nights.
Good service, breakfast. Did not tried restoran during the dinner.
Location is busy due to construction work. Very close to Ferry, direct conection with HK lsland and Airport. Little bit tierd hotel - renovation will be needed very soon.
middle size open ari area, one pool, one gym club

Room Tip: I will recommend room with sea view. Currently some construction works around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very old and dirty hotel. The floor in my room was sticky, bathroom was nasty, fan didn't worked, bed smelled bad and bed clothes wasn't fresh. Room was very noisy and I found big cucaracha on the table in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

In summary, I would give this hotel a max 3-4 star status based on hotel and facilities.
The rooms are large however they are missing basic thins such as an Iron & board, some basic tea making facilities are there.
First hotel I have seen that has removed ALL toiletries except toilet paper, no problem with this, but don't rate yourself 5 star and remove basic 5 star amenities.
The walls are thin. Unfortunately I could hear everything that was going on in the corridor or in the rooms beside my.
The positive is without question the staff! Very good. English good enough and very very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nan Hai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nan Hai Hotel

Address: No.1 Gongye 1st Road , Shekou Nanhai Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518067, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shekou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#59 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Hotel Class:4 star — Nan Hai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Nan Hai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nan Hai
Nan Hai Shenzhen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nan Hai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.