We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed 3 nights here and really liked it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Venice Hotel Shenzhen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Venice Hotel Shenzhen to your Saves list
The Venice Hotel Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9026 Shennan Road, Overseas City, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China (Overseas Chinese Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 2,133 Hotels in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 stars 713 Reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stayed 3 nights here and really liked it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Really nice hotel in a great location. Lots of options close by and a great night club by the pool with an excellent house band.

Very efficient check in and out.

Rooms are clean and tidy, nice to have separate bath and shower. Slept well here.

Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    365
    48
    11
    2
See reviews for
9
10
25
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The OCT [Overseas Chinese Township] group took over the erstwhile Crowne Plaza and renamed it The Venice, with complete Italian theme. Right from the entrance, with the ushers and employees wearing the same outfit makes you feel like in some costume party. Piped Italian music keeps on playing 24 hrs. Rooms are ok, with good sleep quality but the sound proofing is not good. One can hear squeaking, groaning, walking, loud noises throughout the night. Chinese being avid smokers, there is no respite in the non-smoking floors. Smoke wafts around everywhere. The air-conditioner can go only upto 22 degrees C, no matter what settings you keep. Fantastic swimming pool [one of the largest I have seen] and very well maintained. Breakfast is average spread and in-hotel dinning is extremely expensive. The executive lounge is ok but the food is usually dried out in the heater and not very fresh.

Locality is good, with two huge theme parks, malls as well as local middle-class life can be enjoyed withing walking distance. Fantastic underground metro, with clockwork service. English speaking is a challenge, but with smarting of chinese [which is pretty easy] one can get around without any problem and negotiate to hearts content on anything [except in the malls].

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph Z, Owner at The Venice Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Venice Hotel Shenzhen.
We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience during your stay. We will share your feedback to our management team and find out ways to provide better staying experience. We hope you can feel our improvements on your next visit to our hotel.

Thanks again and please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel has grand public spaces intended to remind you of Venice, Italy, complete with mechatronic gondoliers at the entrance and tile in both the lobby and the rooms. Decor was pleasant but somewhat cheesy.

The room was a bit worn - nothing major, but there were minor details that were off (cracks in several places, carpet a bit worn). The bed was very comfortable, and the room was reasonably quiet. The glass-door shower had plenty of water pressure and was reasonably large, unlike some hotels that provide showers that are a bit small for a 6'1" occupant. The A/C often struggled to keep the room comfortable, particularly given the 30C / 85-90% humidity outside, so sleeping was more difficult than it should have been.

There was a lot of choice for breakfast, and they were happy to make me an omelette, which was very handy for me since I don't eat pork and that's about all I got offered during the day at my meeting. Coffee was mediocre, and the selection of fresh fruits wasn't great.

Service was very good: when I checked out, I left a charger for a new phone in my room. They found it within minutes of my checkout and came to give it to me (I ate breakfast after checking out). I had left it intentionally, though, since the charger had Euro plugs and I live in the US; it took some convincing to have them keep it so a future traveler might use it.

Overall, definitely a good place to stay in Shenzhen, but a notch below the top hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph Z, Owner at The Venice Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Venice Hotel ShenZhen as your home away home. We are sorry to hear the issues you experienced during your stay. Your comment is highly appreciated and it will be forwarded to appropriate department and we hope you would see an improvement in all the conditions you mentioned. Thanks again for your advice and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I just came to venice hotel after a six wonderful night stay from intercontinental hotel shenzhen .

I only shifted to venice hotel because of it being a little bit cheaper and v bar being near but that was my mistake.

when i first got shifted in the hotel via agoda .. i asked for a smoking room .. once i got to the room . it was stinking of smell. i couldn't bear it and asked the reception to change my room .

Thank god they changed my room but little did i know that they put me in a room that is like a steam room due to the heater and the a/c not working . although i complained twice .... one of their management staff came in my room and just opened my window and told me that its going to be cold tonight and its going to cover the cold.

i am checking out tomorrow to go to another province but will be back in shenzhen and i will make sure to not be back in this hotel .

i mean how could they let me sleep in this heated room .

sad .

Room Tip: make sure the a/c is working !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Only had one night here, wish I'd stayed longer! Foyer of hotel is magnificent and redolent of a true Venetian experience. Was decorated with gold silks, rose petals, lanterns etc for Valentines Eve. Spectacular! Reception staff most helpful and had a little understanding of English language!
Corridors sumptuously carpeted. Our room was HUGE with queen beds, sofa, easy chairs and coffee table. We had heating and a balcony! Sadly no view of Window of the World which is local theme park attraction just opposite hotel. Glorious bathroom with rain shower.
Had the buffet in the evening. Sadly staff didn't divulge that it was due to close at 22.00-we entered at 21.15. Food was reasonable quality- Chinese items much better than European- quite justified in China! Choice of fruits, cheeses, seafood and deserts was spectacular! Breakfast was equally good!
This hotel is situated in convenient spot for MTR so easy to get to other attractions in Shenzen. A really good place to stay!

Room Tip: A room overlooking Window on the World would be an ace photo opportunity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I'm a long time traveller into Asia and have stayed at this hotel often over the years. Service on the executive floor is always pleasant but poorly trained. I continue to accept that there's no heating in the rooms at this time of the year, that the TV volume control has a maximum level below a volume my old ears can comfortably hear, that they always deduct the room charge from my visa on check in, that the buffet closes early and is very poor quality anyway, but to close the only really good thing is the Italian restaurant, the normal highlight of my stay FOR A PRIVATE PARTY just shows what's important at this hotel. It would have been nice to know at check in OR when room reservations are made not wait until you make a reservation from your room that night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was stayed this hotel for 2 days in the end of October for the Halloween‘s day. The room it's basic,nothing special,hotel Reception are not very Passionate to talk to you. The Buffet Restaurant it's terrible,a chef stay at the open grill station has very bad attitude, I had ordered a grill lamb chop but every time I came back she told me already give other people, and I was asked her make a new one and please send to my table she was refused to me, than I complain to someone wearing a black Jacket but he nothing to do, I swear I'll never go back this Restaurant again. to be honest, the pool bar are very comfortable, relax and big.but you never can get the good service even you paid for 15% service change. music not bad, but inside the singer was awful, she screaming whole night you don't even can stay there for 5 min.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Venice Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Venice Hotel Shenzhen

Address: No.9026 Shennan Road, Overseas City, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Overseas Chinese Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#17 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#107 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Venice Hotel Shenzhen 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Venetian charm and business success at the Venice Hotel ShenzhenLocated in the southwest of Shenzhen city, The Venice Hotel Shenzhen is within 5 minutes walk from the famous theme parks and shopping malls – Window of the World, Splendid China, Happy Valley, China Folk Culture Village, and Yitian Plaza. Moreover, we are just just 10 minutes drive from Futian Centre and the Hi-Tech Zone, 15 minutes drive from Shekou Harbour Passenger Terminal and Shenzhen Bay Port, and 20 minutes drive from Luohu Port and Shenzhen International Airport.Being the first international Venetian style hotel in China, The Venice Hotel Shenzhen represents a unique and distinctive Venetian theme. The hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and suites; eight function rooms and a 685 square meter pillar-less ballroom; seven restaurants and bars including the award-winning Blue Italian Seafood & Grill Restaurant and V Bar, the coolest venue in town for evening entertainment and live shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Venice Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenzhen Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Venice Hotel Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.