We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It sucked” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Venice Hotel Shenzhen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Venice Hotel Shenzhen to your Saves list
The Venice Hotel Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9026 Shennan Road, Overseas City, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China (Overseas Chinese Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 2,132 Hotels in Shenzhen
Riyadh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It sucked”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Rooms are basic. Customer service is poor. Communication is a big issue. It is supposed to have non-smoking floors but the patrons still smoke. The Chinese come back drunk and rowdy and disturb others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    363
    48
    11
    2
See reviews for
9
10
25
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was a bit worried when I saw that this place wasn't a Crowne Plaza any more and the reservation process had me wondering if I was giving my details to the hotel or an agency (it was the hotel in the end but I gave them feedback on that which they said they are going to take into account). When I got there though it looked pretty much the same as I remembered - a fun Venetian themed place that lacks the crass vulgarity of the casino hotels in Macau and elsewhere that pursue the same theme. This time I only stayed for a night before going to a business meeting in OCT but the place looks great for families (nice pool) and business people (great bar) and is very close to Happy Valley theme park and only ten minutes from the chillout area of Portofino. Recommended.

Room Tip: Insist on non smoking until they upgrade you to one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
427 helpful votes 427 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights. The room was excellent with a gorgeous bathroom with a bath and overhead shower plus a separate walk-in shower. The room had tea/coffee making facilities. The beds were comfortable and the room was a good size. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice. The public facilities were very nice and the doormen/women were all dressed as gondoliers and were very friendly and helpful. The air con was very efficient.

I did not eat in the hotel restaurants in the evening so cannot comment. The hotel was well located. Happy Valley is a 5 minute walk away and the hotel is close to a shopping mall, a convenience store and a number of fast food eateries including Pizza Hut, KFC etc.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to westerner was seeking a good quality place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Rooms well appointed and clean with all expected amenities
Hotl well situated near many local attractions
With staff better trained this hotel I ould have rated good
Lobby bar is very good serving a selection of coffees and snacks
Has a number of facilities including a spa and the famous V Bar

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

this hotel is quite good with a huge and a somewhat view from the room. Breakfast is not so appealing but there is a happening club at the hotel 4th floor which is quite well known in Shenzhen.... would consider for a next visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed at the Venice Hotel Shenzhen during an ISO standards meeting held at the hotel. My room was very large and comfortable. It had excellent bedding and provided excellent sleep, something rather important during business travel. My room was very clean and cleaned very thoroughly on each day. The laundry service was also excellent.

My group rate included the buffet breakfast which was quite good, offering something for almost everybody including cooked-to-order omelets, fresh fruits, juices, as well as eastern and western style breakfast items.

We had group lunches in function rooms that were also fairly good; many times such bulk catering leaves much to be desired.

The internet service in the hotel was at no extra charge and in fact provided some of the highest bandwidth I have ever encountered in a hotel even during “peak hours.”

All members of the hotel staff were exceptionally friendly. However, once you get beyond the lobby staff, the English skills often left much to be desired, although the staff with poor English skills would always run off and quickly find a comrade whose English was a level or two better. At a five star hotel serving international business clientele, I would expect better performance in this particular aspect.

Complimentary bottles of “C'estbon Purified Water” are provided in each room and also are available in all meeting venues in the hotel. Why? Apparently according to a note fairly well hidden in the hotel directly in each room, the tap water in the hotel is NOT POTABLE (i.e., not safe for drinking)! If this in indeed the case, signage regarding that should be placed by the spigots in all guest room bathrooms and all common area restrooms. A better solution, though, would be for the hotel to use a reverse osmosis filtering system for all water used for cooking, dishwashing, and available at spigots for guests. This is truly a public health hazard.

Although otherwise helpful, the hotel staff tries to push its own limo service for longer distance transport to locations in Hong Kong other than the airport for fees of about $250 US-equivalent or more. Fortunately, one of the standards meeting staffers (not a Hotel employee) knew of a car service that would provide the same service for a little over half that cost.

The Venice theme is cute, but wears on you after a while. Sorry, but native Chinese dressed in Venetian gondolier uniforms in the lobby seems somewhat silly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Venice Hotel is an off shoot of The Venetian and scaled down as there are no casinos (China has a no gambling policy). It is very beautiful, posh and very baroque.

The staff there were very attentive and courteous. They checked us in and put us on the newly renovated floor. Room was very spacious, comfortable and we had a huge bed!

After checking in, we decided to go for dinner at their Café Zentro that has international buffet on the menu. Choices are pretty good though limited but in terms of seafood, there are prawns, mussels, oysters, fresh sashimi and an array of Japanese sushi. Their dessert spread is quite large and offers a variety of cakes, tarts, mousse and fruits. The dim sum was a bit disappointing and I pointed this out to the Manager, Gerry who was on duty that evening. He apologised and at the end of our meal, gave us a box of chocolates for our feedback!

Love the bed, soft comfortable except the pillows are way tad too soft that even with 2, after a while, they go quite flat. But might just suit some persons who prefer to have flat pillows! They, however, do offer harder pillows on request...

This hotel is located just directly opposite the Windows Of The World, Holiday Plaza (shopping centre) and a couple of minutes from the nearest train station. It is also approximately 30 minutes (if traffic is good) from the Shenzhen Bay Customs as well.

Everything about the hotel is beautiful, staff courteous, helpful and a great location but be careful of their auxiliary services and products and that's where the OMGosh comes in!

Firstly, the first night's buffet costs about USD50 each. We actually had another buffet dinner at the Holiday Plaza shopping centre opposite the hotel for USD35 each. This buffet has an overwhelming spread (四海一家 International Buffet located on the 3rd floor).

Secondly, while waiting for our ride the next day, we had two cups of coffee at the La Piazza and we had a bill of USD16 for both!! I can appreciate that it is a 5 star hotel but their prices are 10 stars!!!

Also, we were offered discounted breakfast which we took up on but due to a very late night, were unable to make the breakfast. Though we did not turn up, we were still charged accordingly (admittedly our fault)... We decided that in future not to take up such offers unless we are absolutely sure that we can use the offer.

All in all, we will still return to stay there but would suggest checking out neighbouring restaurants where we could potentially save more money and if you are on a tight budget...

Room Tip: Not rooms facing the Windows Of The World as there is a large traffic junction and unfortunately dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Venice Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Venice Hotel Shenzhen

Address: No.9026 Shennan Road, Overseas City, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Overseas Chinese Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#19 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#107 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Venice Hotel Shenzhen 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Venetian charm and business success at the Venice Hotel ShenzhenLocated in the southwest of Shenzhen city, The Venice Hotel Shenzhen is within 5 minutes walk from the famous theme parks and shopping malls – Window of the World, Splendid China, Happy Valley, China Folk Culture Village, and Yitian Plaza. Moreover, we are just just 10 minutes drive from Futian Centre and the Hi-Tech Zone, 15 minutes drive from Shekou Harbour Passenger Terminal and Shenzhen Bay Port, and 20 minutes drive from Luohu Port and Shenzhen International Airport.Being the first international Venetian style hotel in China, The Venice Hotel Shenzhen represents a unique and distinctive Venetian theme. The hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and suites; eight function rooms and a 685 square meter pillar-less ballroom; seven restaurants and bars including the award-winning Blue Italian Seafood & Grill Restaurant and V Bar, the coolest venue in town for evening entertainment and live shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Venice Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenzhen Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Venice Hotel Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.