We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Shenzhen Watergate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Shenzhen Watergate to your Saves list
Novotel Shenzhen Watergate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1019 Shennan Middle Road, Futian District, Shenzhen 518031, China (Huaqiang North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 2,133 Hotels in Shenzhen
3.5 of 5 stars 190 Reviews
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
“good place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I and my family enjoy staying at this hotel because it's good place, food, room and service. I hope the next time, all the staff can understand and speak english better s there will be no misunderstanding each other..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    93
    54
    13
    8
See reviews for
18
23
26
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Novotel, has been one of my favor hotel chains in the past, booked standard room from accorhotels.com, arrived at 11:30 pm, there were no greeting or welcome from the staffs. Then family and I was very disappointed when we check the room and notice the "super tiny SMOKING room". That they have given us, when during the online booking I indicted MUST HAVE NON SMOKING ROOM. When arguing with the staff, they said “Smoking and Non Smoking room request” is only request only. And “Not Guaranteed”.

Then I demanded talk to manager, both staffs indicated there is no manager on duty, and even there is he or she can only upgrade us to a bigger smoking room, this go on for 40 minutes, as the staffs keep on insist we can get a smoking room, while stair at me like I am from another planet with no expression, while I try to explain to them in both Chinese and English that I am very sensitive to smoking odors. AFTER additional 20 minutes of arguing they finally call the manager and get an ok to upgrade up a NON SMOKING suite.
On the day of check out, we ask front desk to get a taxi for us, they just turn around and told us to walk 150m to the main street and wave down the taxi. WOW customer services at work!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Aust.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

For the price I paid which included breakfast and internet it will be rude of me to say anything bad.
But I don't have anything bad to say, I was able to check into my room at 8:30am which was fantastic. The room was clean and a good size, it had everything you need. I do agree with another review re the buffet breakfast, it wasn't the best I have seen but it was ok.
Location was fairly good, close to the metro and also CITIC plaza.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Not a bad place to stay in. The breakfast is a bit overpriced at over $20 USD for an unimpressive buffet. Other than that - the rooms are ok and the Internet is free. Location is good with only a short walk to the Grand Theater metro station and taxis are always at hand as well. Works well for a business stay in the city. Mattresses are a killer though - they are very thin and tough. Not sure what happens in other hotels in the district, but sleeping is not easy here!

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, ask for a non-smoking room, otherwise you'll be inhaling tobacco all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic. Not only are you close to the subway and central station but you are also close to where some good shopping can be had. The hotel itself is what you would expect from a Novotel - service was excellent and the room had plenty of space. Dining was very good and the seafood buffet superb. Staff were always willing to help. Overall a great experience and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Shenzhen Watergate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Shenzhen Watergate

Address: No.1019 Shennan Middle Road, Futian District, Shenzhen 518031, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Huaqiang North
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#70 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Shenzhen Watergate 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Shenzhen Watergate is an ideal destination for guests travelling on business to the port city of Shenzhen, home of the first Special Economic Zone in China, located in the financial district on Shennan Zhong Road. 40 mins drive to Shenzhen Bao'an International Airport & 10 mins drive to the railway station.140 spacious rooms with broadband Internet access, along with conference facilities for up to 100 people in a theater-style arrangement, plus restaurant, bar, outdoor pool, gymnasium & parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Shenzhen Watergate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Watergate Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Novotel Shenzhen
Shenzhen Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Shenzhen Watergate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.