We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel quality for sure and very nice hotel and staff .... BUT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Shenzhen Watergate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Shenzhen Watergate to your Saves list
Novotel Shenzhen Watergate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1019 Shennan Middle Road, Futian District, Shenzhen 518031, China (Huaqiang North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 2,143 Hotels in Shenzhen
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Novotel quality for sure and very nice hotel and staff .... BUT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The price of the hotel is a joke, not sure if compared with Papua New Guinea or a place in the middle of the desert but a Novotel for 70 Euro’s a night is definitely a bargain. Not even bought via a discounter but strait from the Accor website. Make sure you have the address written in Chinese prior to your arrival otherwise no one will find it. Having the telephone number to call and hand over to the driver is finally the only answer. Located down town! Sort off considering the city is huge and has several down towns. The hotel by itself is what you expect even more. Brand new everything and is perfect regarding the hardware. Rooms are large and comfortable with all amenities and even more that one would expect. Having said the above one must be prepared to struggle a bit if you’re not a well-traveled multilingual person. No one speaks English or French. You have a choice between Mandarin and Cantonese for communication. Hotel was totally empty. Breakfast buffet is surreal; everything is there Chinese food, Japanese food, French or American style the choice is yours. Just that it’s a bit weird to heat alone in a restaurant for 200 people? Staff very helpful and smiling all the time however they basically don’t understand what you say or what you want. In a nut shell yes I would stay there again but will have a translator on hand if I need something from the hotel. I suggest Accor hires at least 3 staff on rotation for the concierge position to be able to facilitate communication with clients. I also hired a limousine with a driver from the hotel for a full day in order to go to my meetings all over the city. Paid 100 Euro’s for 9 hours and drove about 120 Km, no complains. Internet is free but certain sites are off limits due to China regulations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    100
    59
    17
    9
See reviews for
21
28
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I could not believe the beds in this Hotel. It was like trying to sleep on a concrete slab. Even after asking for another mattress cover, the bed was like a rock. I have no idea why a hotel would choose the hardest mattress available, but this hotel has. I spent 4 very uncomfortable nights here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The recently renovated hotel is located in Futian (close to Luohu) and is midway between two Shenzhen Metro stations (Grand Theater and Science Museum). Both stations are a short walk, but it does require going up/down the stairs of a pedestrian underpass. So, if you’re traveling with heavy luggage, it would be best not to arrive by metro.
The hotel is at the back of an office building and the entrance does not face the street. My taxi driver had a difficult time finding it (even with the Chinese address). I would recommend that if you don’t speak Chinese that you definitely have the address written in Chinese and the hotel’s phone number available.
The lobby is modern and stylish and there in an internet corner, with several iMacs available for guest use. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout the stay.
The rooms are large and decorated in a stylish and minimalist design.
There were a wide array of international TV channels and free internet access was available.
The bathroom was large and bright, with plenty of counter space for personal items, toiletries, etc. The only issue was that there was no shower curtain, but only a small glass divider that only covered part of the shower. This made it impossible to take a shower, without splashing water out onto the bathroom floor.
I requested to borrow an iron an ironing board and housekeeping staff arrived with it, within minutes. Unfortunately, the old ironing board was weak and wobbly, with crooked legs and the iron fell apart. I’m sure they spend a lot on the renovations of the hotel, but they should have spent a little more on new irons and ironing boards.
Overall, the hotel was very comfortable and a good value. Although it is not the most central location, it is within a short taxi or metro ride to most of Luohu and Futian. It is within easy walking distance to Grand Theater, MixC shopping mall and Kingkey 100 (the tallest building in Shenzhen) and the KK mall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Difficult to find because not easily visible from main avenue, and not well-known from taxi driver. No interesting place around, you will have to walk 10 to 15 minutes before reaching some commercial streets, and much more if you want to get closer to LuoHu busy district area. Hotel room is comfortable, but lobby is very unfriendly and fully deserted. I feel as if I was the only one client in the hotel. Room is OK, breakfast so-so for a hotel that pretends to be of Accor Novotel level (again, only 3 clients at breakfast in the morning, compare to 5 or 6 employees !). Finally, it is OK for one night, if you are just looking for a room for sleeping. Do not expect to find cosy atmosphere for dinner or relaxing. Swimming pool supposed to be opened until 22:00 was closed and lights off before 21:00 (OK, you can ask reception to open again, but you need to be motivated as you are the only one client...). And last, the main reproach is for front desk : when check-in at evening time, I provided my intl credit card for preauthorization, but mentioned I will pay by cash when leaving (to avoid change rate and bank commission, as I am living in China). When I checked-out, I discovered the bill has been charged to my credit card, the same lady being still at the front desk at that time.
I tried to book the same hotel for 5 nights 2 weeks later, but no room available that time due to an exhibition in Shenzhen, my Accor Advantage Plus provided me no "advantage". Finally I deleted this hotel from my list of Shenzhen hotel, and found a chinese 5 stars hotel instead, closer to my working place, with much better quality/price ratio, amazing lounge piano bar and perfect service.
I will also not renew my Accor Advantage + card, as it is of no help to get lower price or priority booking. Unfortunately, I cannot say I was unlucky, as I had also bad experience in Accor Mercure in Beijing. It seems service in Accor hotels in China is no longer what it was a few years ago, if you are looking for hotel at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The location of the hotel is very good and close to both the business area and shopping area. There are a nos of major shopping malls around the area and a lot of choices for the lunch and dinner. The underground is very close, just about 5 mins walk and the main concert hall is just across the street. There are a lot of good quality bars and restaurants around and offer a lot of choices for even a very picky traveler. Services of the hotel is reasonable however the major problem is the main entrance of the hotel is located at the inner part of the building and quite difficult to find, even for the taxi drivers. The lower floors of the hotel is under renovation and makes a lot of interruption during the stay - even interrupted the main electricity supply on Monday morning the 30th of April, it's no comfortable for hot summer days. Suggest the hotel make some sign board so that the main entrance can easily be found by the travelers, especially for the new comers. Overall the location is excellent and can offer a lot of choices for dinning and entertainment - hopefully the overall situation would be improved after the renovation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Shenzhen Watergate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Shenzhen Watergate

Address: No.1019 Shennan Middle Road, Futian District, Shenzhen 518031, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Huaqiang North
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
#68 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Shenzhen Watergate 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Shenzhen Watergate is an ideal destination for guests travelling on business to the port city of Shenzhen, home of the first Special Economic Zone in China, located in the financial district on Shennan Zhong Road. 40 mins drive to Shenzhen Bao'an International Airport & 10 mins drive to the railway station.140 spacious rooms with broadband Internet access, along with conference facilities for up to 100 people in a theater-style arrangement, plus restaurant, bar, outdoor pool, gymnasium & parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Shenzhen Watergate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Watergate Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Novotel Shenzhen
Shenzhen Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Shenzhen Watergate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.