We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be anywhere from great to just OK ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gypsy's

Gypsy's
Ground Floor, Shop # 3,Hai Bin Commercial Building, Shekou, Shenzhen, China
0755-26682657
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 2,633 Restaurants in Shenzhen
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can be anywhere from great to just OK ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Have been eating here for over 10 years ... probably the best steak in town ... but sometimes I wonder if it is the same restaurant. Aussie owned and run ... the wines are very good. They have a great breakfast. It is a "must try" if dinning in Sea World.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable price with pretty good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Try to have T-born steak with their house wine.
It's pretty good, not so high quality, but worth to try to do it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for brunch on a lazy weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My wife and I have been here for brunch on the weekends numerous times and thoroughly recommend it. It has a good breakfast menu with generous portions at a reasonable price, we will definitely be going back again...

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“ With my wife during her vist.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A very good restaurant with friendly and efficient service. Good food and good wine. We made several visits last trip and I have been back again this trip.
Will continue to visit as it's a good and well managed establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First stop in Shekou...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I think Alicia S must have been in another restaurant?

I have been going to Gypsy's restaurant for around 5 years now and I always make it my first and sometimes only port of call for meals when I go to Shekou, which I do at least four or five times each year, simply because I have not found anything in all the other restaurants that I have been to that can match it.

Whether eggs benedict for brunch, or a fillet mignon for dinner, the food is always excellent, portions that hardly fit on the plate and attentive service by knowledgeable staff. I don't think that I have actually finished all that was on my plate very often. You have to leave room for the fabulous desserts!

The wine prices are exceptional. I can buy a very good Australian wine in Gypsy's for less that I was paying in Australia 10 years ago!! Gives you the opportunity to have two instead of one.

I would thoroughly recommend Gypsy's to anyone travelling to Shekou!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy's also viewed

 

Been to Gypsy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gypsy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.