We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food One of The Better Restaurants in Shekou” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gypsy's

Gypsy's
Ground Floor, Shop # 3,Hai Bin Commercial Building, Shekou, Shenzhen, China
0755-26682657
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 2,804 Restaurants in Shenzhen
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very Good Food One of The Better Restaurants in Shekou”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have been going to this restaurant on and off for over 4 years. I have always had a good meal here. On my most recent visit I tried a Caesar salad and salmon steak. The Caesar salad was good not too much sauce/dressing and the salmon was perfectly cooked and was very good. Service was good. All in all a very good meal commensurate with past meals and service enjoyed here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have lived in Shenzhen more than 10 years. This used to be a decent and reliable restaurant but no longer. Our last two visits the food was terrible and the service worse. This last visit, and I mean last ever, the ribs were simply inedible. The steak ordered medium was raw. The 'lobster medallions' were pieces of prawn. The service was basically nonexistent yet an automatic service charge is still charged despite most places doing away with this archaic practice. Much better choices in Shekou! For ribs and steaks try Cheers or Frogs - much better food for less. For Indian, Spice Circle is a must. Just avoid Gypsy's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A must in Sea World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

To start with, they serve a fantastic white wine sangria (my favorite)! Now, for other things: The atmosphere is more upscale, but not pretentious. The staff is friendly and helpful. The menu selection is outstanding, with a selection to fit just about anyone. I had the Turkish style calzone with lamb and beef. It was amazing. We also had the potato cakes, which are more than enough to share, as it was a basket worth. Others at our table had seafood salads, vegetarian lasagna, kebabs, and pasta. ALL were happy. There is also a wonderful dessert selection that we were unable to get to on this visit. Although some items are more pricey than other restaurants in Shekou, this restaurant is DEFINITELY worth the visit. And not all items are costly. Overall, it is rather reasonable.

This would be a good date night place, but also worked well for a group of friends having a happy hour/dinner after work.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
1 review
“Great night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A group of us went here for dinner a few nights ago. Had one of the girls not already been there we probably wouldn't have even known about it but we were all glad she did because we had a really enjoyable time with a great food & drink selection at a reasonable cost. Will definitely be recommending to others!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Go to" place for Expats in Shekou”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Probably the best place for date night in Shekou. My wife and I have been coming here for years. The food is great and the atmosphere more upscale than most places in the area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy's also viewed

 
Shenzhen, Guangdong
Shenzhen, Guangdong
 

Been to Gypsy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gypsy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.