We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Western Food in Shekou” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gypsy's

Gypsy's
Ground Floor, Shop # 3,Hai Bin Commercial Building, Shekou, Shenzhen, China
0755-26682657
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 2,807 Restaurants in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 stars 41 Reviews
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Reliable Western Food in Shekou”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our factory's western management team started eating here years and years ago. Compared to lots of the other Shekou "western" restaurants, it is good value for money, with large portions and good flavours. They deliver to our home and to our office which is quite a ways away, and the food is still hot and fresh. I love that about China and Gypsy's in particular.....lots of staff means quick delivery. It can be loud, and I have been a couple of times when (usually European groups) take advantage of the fact that China has not caught up to the non-smoking world, and puff away with no regard to other clients. But I have been here about twenty times and this has only happened twice. Perhaps management should be thinking of better ventilation - there will be lots of customers - more and more - who hate this. Angelo's not far away is non-smoking but a little more expensive. I have never seen any issues with discouraging children - always lots of families here. But sometimes I notice westerners let their kids run amok. I might ask them to manage their kids too, if I was the owner. So, I guess it depends on your priorities, and what one thinks is appropriate restaurant behavior for kids. BUT as far as food and service goes, I like this place alot. The waitresses always remember us, and have been there a long time, so offer a pretty good standard of service. One of our guys won't eat anywhere else unless forced!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The owner don't like children but smokers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Gypsy's offers good food but many Westerns with children would stop coming to this restaurant after being told to carefully manage their children. The way it comes out show a strong dislike of families. On the other hand, I asked to keep a door open so the smoke could go out, but the owner wanted it to be closed so he won't loss smoker clients. A sign should be put out saying, children are not welcome here but smokers are!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great atsdt in Sea World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was told when I arrived in Shekou that Gypsy's had good food and they were right. I have only eaten there twice, both for lunch but both times was good, a bit pricey but ridiculously big servings.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The food and the service are amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I have been there twice and I can only say I enjoyed every morsel,each time. I had the steak the first trip and the pesto chicken the second. My husband was on his third trip and had lamb the first two times and had the chicken tagine this time and he too was really impressed. The food is really really good and tasty and the prices are more than reasonable for the quality of the meals. I love this place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good, international restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This restaurant is very popular among the expats in Shekou.
Main dishes are RMB100-180, but quite good value-for-money. Imported lamb and beef. Decent wine card. While it certainly is an international restaurant, many options seems to be mediterranean or moroccan.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy's also viewed

 
Shenzhen, Guangdong
Shenzhen, Guangdong
 

Been to Gypsy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gypsy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.