We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic but interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ZEN Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shenzhen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ZEN Guesthouse
Save
You added ZEN Guesthouse to your Saves list
No.75 Dawei Cun, Dongchong, Shenzhen 518100, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 638 Shenzhen B&B and Inns
Guangzhou, China
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Rustic but interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on tripadvisor with high praise. I'm normally very particular about hotel but decide to venture a little bit.
The room really is not what I expected (Chinese toilet? Light nor working in bathroom? No hot water? No tv?) however the host was nice enough & switched us to a room with western toilet & functioning bathroom the next night (but still no tv.)
The host was a wonderful Aussie & we had many great conversation. But I still have to go on the record to say this place needs more regular maintenance to keep it up to date. It has great potential & can be so much more.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hefei, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I've been to Zen twice now, once backpacking on my own and once with a friend and I would go back in a heartbeat. The beach being a short walk away is great, the times that i've gone it hasn't been crowded at all and the water is really clean. There are hills that you can hike up and even some caves for exploring. It's in a very small town so there isn't a lot of big night clubs or things like that but the small restaurants/bars they do have are great. The owners are extremely nice and very helpful. Any questions you have or problems they try and take care of right away. The rooms are all clean and brightly painted with great artwork on the walls and the rooftop is a great place to have a drink and enjoy the scenary. So if you're looking for an amazing place to just get away from the city and relax then stay here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Surprisingly nice and calm beach in Shenzhen. Don't expect bars or jet ski rentals around.
You will feel yourself in your friends beach house rather than a customer at a guesthouse.
If you're living in the area, this is the best place you can go for a beach weekend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Don't go there if you are looking for some fancy place with bars, shops and blah blah blah... GO there if you need some time with nature! I spent 3 days there and was lucky to stay at alsmost empty house and had great empty beach to myself. The beach is not that far and actually walking to the beach was one of many things I loved as well. Rooms are good, have conditioner and anything you need for a good comfort. I loved the serenity of this place and I am defenetly coming back as soon as I can!

Room Tip: Talk to owners and book the room - they are very helpful and friendly! Too bad theye were away and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I just got back from Zen Guesthouse, and I have nothing but good things to say about it ! I found the website www.zen-guesthouse.com online and instantly fell in love with the place. It definitely lives up to it's name, where we felt REALLY calm and relax at any given time of the day. Really nice place, spacey, simple, clean, as shown on the website. No gimmicks! Even though when we were staying there there was no breakfast, we're not even complaining as the owners was really kind to let us use the kitchen and all the ingredients in it. The owners (I contacted Chris) was really really friendly and helpful. He even took the extra effort to help us when we got lost trying to reach this place from Shenzhen.(I strongly recommend you to take the pick up car service provided by the guesthouse. Trust me, it's far more convenient and saves time). The beach is really just 15minutes walk away, and the view we get when we got to the beach is breathtaking, even the laziest person of our group didn't mind the walk. After an exciting day in the beach, you could just relax at the house as you would in your own home. We cooked ourself a nice dinner, then took it to the rooftop to eat while enjoying the clear,star-studded sky and the cool breeze of air. Extraordinary. We are definitely coming back here again ASAP ;) As a group of overseas students, this IS our home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We loved it! Very relaxed atmosphere with a home away from home feeling. Wonderful decoration and trendy. Rooms were clean and the English breakfast was a welcoming surprise. All in all our stay was good and I will certainly be coming back. Thank you Rachel for your kind hospitality.

Room Tip: I recommend the room on the fourth floor facing the mountain as you wake with the sound of birds chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ZEN Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ZEN Guesthouse

Address: No.75 Dawei Cun, Dongchong, Shenzhen 518100, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 638 B&Bs / Inns in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zen Guesthouse was started by a group of people from China, South Africa, Australia, and Canada who wanted to take advantage of Shenzhen's proximity to some of China's most beautiful coastline. We were tired of spending all our time fighting the traffic and noise of downtown life, and wanted to be able to drop everything on the weekends and go relax at the beach.We found a place in the quiet town of Dongchong and immediately started knocking down walls to let the sunlight in, and painting the rooms bright colours to match the better mood we all felt when we got there each weekend.Word spread fast amongst our friends and colleagues, and pretty soon we were meeting new people each weekend from across China and the world, all looking for a place to relax in the sun and forget the stress of work in the city.We welcome you to come down and spend some time with all of us, and hope our guesthouse will have the same regenerating effect on your daily life that it's had on ours!Your home away from home.Guesthouse Details:All rooms have en-suite bathrooms and air conditioning. There is a common lounge and a roof top terrace for all guests to enjoy. The terrace has breathtaking views of the mountains behind and the sea in front. Guests have full use of the kitchen, BBQ & pizza oven, and an honour system is used for drinks. Basically help yourself 24 hours a day to drinks and sign your name. For the nature lovers there are beautiful mountain trails to enjoy as well as some good waves for the avid surfers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZEN Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.