We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superior Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan to your Saves list
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9028-2 Shennan Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China (Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 2,133 Hotels in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 stars 283 Reviews
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Superior Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed 2 nights on business. Excellent room quality and comfort. Modern decor. Ate at Five Sen5es restaurant my first night. Incredible local cuisine and wait service. Although they were not fluent in english I was able to communicate sufficiently. Had breakfast at seasonal tastes restaurant off the lobby. Very clean and great selection of western and local foods. Utilized top notch conference rooms. Great location in Shenzhen. Would look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear inotown, Thank you for sharing your stay experience at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan. We appreciate your compliments on our food and service in the restaurants, all these will motivate us to provide best service to guests consistently. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    118
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
25
14
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HONG KONG
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our family of four stayed two nights last week. It is a great experience overall. The location is convenient if you need to take the metro since the hotel is right next to it. You can get underground through the connecting shopping center. Windows of the World is right across the street and the rest of the OCT attractions are all within a short taxi ride.

Hotel is new, clean, modern and well-designed. Bathroom is spacious, but the way they put the bathtub actually makes the bathroom cramped. Beds are comfortable and the hotel provides a WIDE choice of pillows. There are also two types of blankets to choose from. Very attentive to details.

It is not a very big hotel as you can tell from the size of its breakfast restaurant and the lobby. Staff is friendly and helpful. We only encountered a slight problem upon check-in, and I felt that their staff are not so well-trained at times.

We paid RMB1265 per night including breakfast for 2. As I am an SPG member, they waived the breakfast charge for our kids. Breakfast spread is good. Choices are reasonably diverse and quality is above average.

I noticed that this is primarily a business hotel. We stayed for Saturday and Sunday nights. Didn't notice a lot of people at breakfast on Sunday morning, but the traffic definitely picked up on Monday.

Would definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear elmostoney, warmest greeting from The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review us with positive comments.
At The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, we know that when you feel your best you can truly be your best and that means paying careful attention to the most important elements of your stay. At the same time, we are also proud of that you enjoy your journey in our hotel. Regarding to the check in issue which you mentioned, we have already forwarded the comment to related department for future improvements. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I came for work and the facilities and staff were fantastic. The hotel is lovely, clean, spacious rooms, fabulous bathrooms and great restaurant. This backs onto the theme park and giant shopping mall so very well located. Great Hotel, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear KAT2410, warmest greeting from westin shenzhen nanshan.Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review us with positive comments. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at the Westin for a few nights. There were many choices for hotels, but the Westin was the right one! We had a warm and friendly check in and stayed in a beautiful room overlooking the windows of the world. The rooms were clean, refreshing, beautiful and modern. The best club lounge ever. During our stay, we dined in the beautiful seafood buffet restaurant and grange grill their signature restaurant overlooking shenzhen. I must say my husband and I were very satisfied with our stay. The team at the Westin was consistent, friendly, professional and attentive, from the front desk to the restaurants to the management team especially the foreign managers.We will deffinetley come back to stay here! If you are planning to choose a hotel, The Westin is the perfect choice!

Room Tip: Upgrade to club access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Simona V, thanks for visiting The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan. we are so proud that you share such great experience with us, and also enjoy your journey at our hotels. We will keep our service and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a really nice hotel. It is very convenient to access by train. The station is Window of the world, and take exit A will lead you to hotel entrance. There are also lots of taxi passing by during day time. It is close to Window of the world, Happy valley and CFV. The hotel is attached with a shopping mall, YiTian holiday plaza. Restaurants, clothes, shoe and groceries can be found in this shopping mall. There are also some economic restaurant located at the LG floor.
Hotel staffs are very friendly and try their best to assist everyone. They are hardworking.
Our room is very spacious and well designed with quality finishes. Mattress very good to sleep in.Housekeeping clean and tidy the room in very neat way.
The only disappointment is with the buffet breakfast. I think the venue is too small can't handle large amount if their guest. They are also short handed. For the whole week, I was always being seated at the table without silverware. I always need to request from them. I guess they don't have enough time to set up new set of silverware before next customer. 2 times out of the week, I need to come down for second time because they couldn't find me any seat in there.
Overall, I still think it is great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Jiajiabinks, Thank you for your loyalty, it was great have you staying with us. It is encouraging to be able to share your positive comments to our service team and regarding to the buffet breakfast issue which you mentioned, we have already been forwarded to related departments for future improvements.Thank you again for your detail recommendations and sharing your view as a business traveler are truly appreciated. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We took a weekend package which provide late check out on Sundays. The goal was to spent weekend in the parks nearby.
Overall the stay was really enjoyable.
Particularly
- the staff attitude was great during all period of our stay. One of the best I saw within past few years. All are friendly and sincere looking forward to assist (quite rare nowadays).
- excellent location. Shopping mall, parks all within 5 minutes (we were with 3 kids so supermarket was a really valuable add-on for us). Everything is accessible with the stroller.
- Nice and convenient rooms. Connecting rooms is a really good option for the large families.

Minor things to consider
- sliding doors to the shower/toilet. Though I am fine with that someone may find luck of privacy.
- Not too many things to do after the kids go to sleep. We went to the bar in Venetian hotel, which is just opposite.

Few hints and ideas for the staff which are not really critical but could make stay even more enjoyable.
- We took weekend package and were under impression hotel is flexible with late check out time (this is what we were told during check-in). Unfortunately the time we were allowed to stay was bit shorter to what we have expected. Would it be possible to agree the check out time during the check in to avoid the rush on a last day and make planning more efficient?
- wifi connection in the room was quite slow. In fact 3G connection over the phone was more efficient. Didn't test LAN cable.
- the room is equipped with the latest sockets such as USB/HDMI/RGB etc which is cool. Unfortunately couldn't connect iPhone to the TV (we wanted to see new photos on the large screen). Can it be enhanced?
- As mentioned attitude of the staff was great, meanwhile it would be highly appreciated if they could brief us about events in the parks. Say there was a large show with fireworks on Sat evening in Windows of the world (just opposite the hotel) which we would really interested to attend should we get some hints from the hotel staff when we were asking the way to the park. Unfortunately parks itself are not informative for non-Chinese speakers.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with the view at Window of the World. Connecting rooms are good for large families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Konstantin_4, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan. We value feedback from our guests and were so excited to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. we were extremely happy to read that you like our service. regarding the Wifi issues, we have shared to the related team for improvement, your time spent on writing and posting your review is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Located in the Window of the World. There are several large malls, a good selection of restaurants and activities, and a metro station. The hotel is very nice, and the food as well. Staff is friendly and helpful. - All in all, a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear WorldTraveller550, Thanks for your great review! We are delighted to read about your experience during your recent stay. Thank you for your positive comments of our facilities,services and food, we have shared them with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan

Address: No.9028-2 Shennan Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#11 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#12 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#102 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan ideally located in conjunction of business and recreation area, connected to upscale shopping complex with direct access to subway station. 350 inviting guest rooms and suites offer the signature Heavenly® Bed to ensure you start your day feeling rested and energized. You can unwind in the Heavenly Spa by Westin, recharge with a WestinWorkout, or enjoy free wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan Hotel Shenzhen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.