We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobby Wifi should charge?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan

Save Saved
You added The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9028-2 Shennan Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China (Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 1,961 hotels in Shenzhen
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lobby Wifi should charge?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Enojy the swimming pool with my child last weekend, although the swimming not very big enough, but I have a great time in here.

The room provide a nice bed, hotel pround of this mattress, so they also sell the brand of their matress as well.

Holiday Plaza with resturant, high-end supermarket are next to the hotel lobby.

However, the lobby wifi charges should improve-
Most of the hotel in the world, the use of lobby wifi are free of charges.......however Westin Hotel will charge the guest with 90RMB per day

I using my room number & my last name to login the lobby wifi......there is NO showing the charges to notify me (But connecting the wifi in-room, login page show it clearly, RMB20 per hour, & RMB90 per day, so I alert that I will not login in the room)

Finally I find it, it charge me RMB90 on my check out, the front desk staff said I should get the lobby password from concergie and not using my room number to connecting it!!!

This is non-sense that free wifi using when get the password from Concerige but NOT the hotel resident!

I hope hotel should maintain a good system for resident connecting wifi in public area~!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms face to Window of the World, will possible have a free fireworks show at 8:00pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear sslll, Thank you for visiting in our hotel and spending the time to share your experience with us, regarding to the lobby wifi issue which you mentioned, we have shared that with our related department for improving in future, We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again when you next visit Shenzhen. Once again, thanks for choosing The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    109
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
20
13
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed in Westin Nanshan in early June. Location of the hotel if you do not need to be in Luohu is excellent. It is connected to a very spiffy shopping mall as well as directly across from the Windows of The World Amusement Park. The Metro system is also at your door step. There is nothing to really fault this hotel. Compared to the to the other 5 Star Hotels like the St. Regis and the Grand Hyatt, this hotel unfortunately feels like a four star in ambience. The rooms were spacious and clean but again, just falls a little short of a 5 star property. Service from the staff in the Executive lounge was excellent. The staff spoke very good English. Recommended if you want to be close to the Windows of The World or doing business in Nanshan. A little far from Luohu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear bgoh1973 , thank you for visiting The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, we are delight to know you have a wonderful trip in our hotel, your compliments on hotel location and staff service are highly appreciated. we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If heading to Shenzen and with Family, you cannot beat the Westin! From our arrival through to check out / departure the team was seamless with their attention to all our party. Two rooms, 4 adults and three kids, the location was great! One side of road was Windows of the World, the other is Happy Valley! Hotel attached to large mall for further dining options, cinema and of course the shopping. We had a room with Exec Club benefits - worth the Value! the team and offering was great...warm, welcoming and keen to do the extra. Best sums up the overall staff...The concierge, reception, F&B, Pool guys and Club lounge all seemed geniunely keen to help and do their best..Will certainly return!

Room Tip: If views your thing, overlooking Windows of World is great for kids - bright lights and fireworks et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear patinmacau, Thanks for choosing The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan and spending your valuable time to share your stay experience with us. We are so proud that our services exceed your expectation. We would like to continue to provide the excellent service for your next visit, and look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed for 1 night for a business conference trip. It has nice decoration in the lobby and staff was really professional. Rooms are spacious and clean, with a nice view of the World Park. Breakfast is in good quality too. I think this Westin is better than that one in Xiamen.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have better veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sissiwei, Greetings from The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to learn that we provided you with an exceptional experience, your compliment on our room facility, staff service, as well as the breakfast. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Shenzhen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a night and a day here just to relax, it must be the only hotel in Shenzhen I stayed at where you don't here the traffic noise, great for a relaxing sleep!
The sound insulation is not so good towards the corridor though.
The room was all newly refurbished (or brand new?) and looked very good!
Nice assortment of teas and coffee in the room and the bathroom and bathtub is worth the extra you pay for a premium hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room away form the elevator or a cooridor cross road for a more silent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Callek , thanks for visiting The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan again. we are so proud that you share such great experience with us, and also enjoy your journey at our hotels.we will keep our our service and looking forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This fabulous Western hotel has great guest rooms (despite the odd positioning of the bathroom as the first part you enter!) and a wonderful location right by a metro station and the 'Window of the World' and an amusement park.
This doesn't come cheaply!

Room Tip: Try for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear davcosLondon, thank you for visiting The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, we are delight to know you have a wonderful trip in our hotel, your compliments on our room, and hotel location are highly appreciated. we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Came with family on a quick weekend getaway to see the nearby parks. I was shocked to see that it's a category 5/16,000 starpoints for a weekend night for a normal room, given that this is China, where all the other starwood hotels are relatively cheap. We used a platinum upgrade (not factored in the 16,000 starpoints), we were upgraded to a "junior suite" which was more like a room with a half wall + tv built in rather than more like a suite. They have a wierd set up where the bathroom has movable walls, so that when open the door of the bathroom, it's like you have a room with a bathtub in the middle of your hotel room. We found the room small for a junior suite, with a lingering musty/smoke smell, and not that impressive. The staff in the platinum lounge were just ok, not terrible, but nothing great in the least. We had some questions we had planned to ask when we went down for happy hour, but ended up not asking because the staff was not particularly warm or receptive. The food in the lounge was also average at best, compared to other lounges in Asia. I probably would not come back as it wasn't worth it, even for the good location to windows of the world, etc. As a comparison, I thought the Four Points Shanghai was much better in terms of room and service, and it is a category 2.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Sfgirl3, Thank you for visiting The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, regarding to the SPG Starpoints issues you mentioned that, we have shared with our SPG management team to follow with that, Thank you for your supports.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan

Address: No.9028-2 Shennan Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#10 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#101 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan ideally located in conjunction of business and recreation area, connected to upscale shopping complex with direct access to subway station. 350 inviting guest rooms and suites offer the signature Heavenly® Bed to ensure you start your day feeling rested and energized. You can unwind in the Heavenly Spa by Westin, recharge with a WestinWorkout, or enjoy free wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan Hotel Shenzhen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.