We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but more like a four star rather than a 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan to your Saves list
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9028-2 Shennan Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China (Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 2,143 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but more like a four star rather than a 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed in Westin Nanshan in early June. Location of the hotel if you do not need to be in Luohu is excellent. It is connected to a very spiffy shopping mall as well as directly across from the Windows of The World Amusement Park. The Metro system is also at your door step. There is nothing to really fault this hotel. Compared to the to the other 5 Star Hotels like the St. Regis and the Grand Hyatt, this hotel unfortunately feels like a four star in ambience. The rooms were spacious and clean but again, just falls a little short of a 5 star property. Service from the staff in the Executive lounge was excellent. The staff spoke very good English. Recommended if you want to be close to the Windows of The World or doing business in Nanshan. A little far from Luohu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear bgoh1973 , thank you for visiting The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, we are delight to know you have a wonderful trip in our hotel, your compliments on hotel location and staff service are highly appreciated. we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    121
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
26
14
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If heading to Shenzen and with Family, you cannot beat the Westin! From our arrival through to check out / departure the team was seamless with their attention to all our party. Two rooms, 4 adults and three kids, the location was great! One side of road was Windows of the World, the other is Happy Valley! Hotel attached to large mall for further dining options, cinema and of course the shopping. We had a room with Exec Club benefits - worth the Value! the team and offering was great...warm, welcoming and keen to do the extra. Best sums up the overall staff...The concierge, reception, F&B, Pool guys and Club lounge all seemed geniunely keen to help and do their best..Will certainly return!

Room Tip: If views your thing, overlooking Windows of World is great for kids - bright lights and fireworks et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear patinmacau, Thanks for choosing The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan and spending your valuable time to share your stay experience with us. We are so proud that our services exceed your expectation. We would like to continue to provide the excellent service for your next visit, and look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed for 1 night for a business conference trip. It has nice decoration in the lobby and staff was really professional. Rooms are spacious and clean, with a nice view of the World Park. Breakfast is in good quality too. I think this Westin is better than that one in Xiamen.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have better veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sissiwei, Greetings from The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to learn that we provided you with an exceptional experience, your compliment on our room facility, staff service, as well as the breakfast. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Shenzhen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a night and a day here just to relax, it must be the only hotel in Shenzhen I stayed at where you don't here the traffic noise, great for a relaxing sleep!
The sound insulation is not so good towards the corridor though.
The room was all newly refurbished (or brand new?) and looked very good!
Nice assortment of teas and coffee in the room and the bathroom and bathtub is worth the extra you pay for a premium hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room away form the elevator or a cooridor cross road for a more silent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Callek , thanks for visiting The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan again. we are so proud that you share such great experience with us, and also enjoy your journey at our hotels.we will keep our our service and looking forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This fabulous Western hotel has great guest rooms (despite the odd positioning of the bathroom as the first part you enter!) and a wonderful location right by a metro station and the 'Window of the World' and an amusement park.
This doesn't come cheaply!

Room Tip: Try for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear davcosLondon, thank you for visiting The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, we are delight to know you have a wonderful trip in our hotel, your compliments on our room, and hotel location are highly appreciated. we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Came with family on a quick weekend getaway to see the nearby parks. I was shocked to see that it's a category 5/16,000 starpoints for a weekend night for a normal room, given that this is China, where all the other starwood hotels are relatively cheap. We used a platinum upgrade (not factored in the 16,000 starpoints), we were upgraded to a "junior suite" which was more like a room with a half wall + tv built in rather than more like a suite. They have a wierd set up where the bathroom has movable walls, so that when open the door of the bathroom, it's like you have a room with a bathtub in the middle of your hotel room. We found the room small for a junior suite, with a lingering musty/smoke smell, and not that impressive. The staff in the platinum lounge were just ok, not terrible, but nothing great in the least. We had some questions we had planned to ask when we went down for happy hour, but ended up not asking because the staff was not particularly warm or receptive. The food in the lounge was also average at best, compared to other lounges in Asia. I probably would not come back as it wasn't worth it, even for the good location to windows of the world, etc. As a comparison, I thought the Four Points Shanghai was much better in terms of room and service, and it is a category 2.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Sfgirl3, Thank you for visiting The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, regarding to the SPG Starpoints issues you mentioned that, we have shared with our SPG management team to follow with that, Thank you for your supports.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

From check in to checkout this hotel was brilliant. I never had any language problems. Everyone spoke very good English. Rooms were lovely and the beds superb. The breakfast was impressive, not just Asian food but really good Western breakfast foods too. I'll happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Winson796 , Thank you for sharing such an encouraging review of your stay at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan. We are glad to know that you have a wonderful trip in our hotel, as well as we shared your feedback to our colleagues who exceeded your expectation. we look forward to see you in The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan

Address: No.9028-2 Shennan Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#11 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#94 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan ideally located in conjunction of business and recreation area, connected to upscale shopping complex with direct access to subway station. 350 inviting guest rooms and suites offer the signature Heavenly® Bed to ensure you start your day feeling rested and energized. You can unwind in the Heavenly Spa by Westin, recharge with a WestinWorkout, or enjoy free wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan Hotel Shenzhen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.