We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does anyone here speak english??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of OCT East Shenzhen

OCT East Shenzhen
DaMeiSha, Shenzhen, China
0755-88889888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 482 things to do in Shenzhen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Famous "Swiss mountain" theme park and resort in Shenzhen. Even if you are not into theme parks, this one is not to be missed. Visually stunning, OCT East has been called the “Universal Studios of China” and offers rides, golf, magic shows, luxury hotels, restaurants, spas, and—believe it or not—a scenic Swiss village. Nobody does theme parks like China! Plan to spend most of your day here (though you could spend a week). Noted in Time Magazine 29 November 2007 (opened 7 November 2007).
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Does anyone here speak english??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Good - Spectacular views, interesting sights. We caught a taxi from lowu which cost 60rmb that took us to "Knights Valley" There is a lot of walking uphill so the best and most convenient way to see anything (if unfit or young at heart but old in body) is by a open sided train that goes around the park you can hop on and hop off for 30rmb per person for 4 circuits. A lot of effort has gone into this park to attract local visitors.
There are different buses running to take you back to Lowu or Hong Kong but no trains that go straight to the park.
The Bad - No one spoke English or very little English, so westerners beware. It was very confusing and at a certain point they made you alight the train as it was the last stop(not sure) as we stood there and waited no train stopped and as we tried to flag another one they kept shaking their heads to say "no" very frustrating!!
Do not go at the beginning of October as it is their public holiday, it was very packed and took over an hour to get on the vehicular train that took you up to Tea stream Valley.
Could not catch a taxi from the Tea Stream Valley exit but by following everyone else we found there was a bus that would take you back to the Knight Valley entrance for 5rmb. This we did not know until they would not let us on it till we paid, but again confusion as other people there (weren’t sure were part of the bus service) told us different prices as well.
As it had been a very long hot day and we were travelling with another couple patience was a bit thin so we walked to the nearest hotel from the bus stop (not far) where we knew someone would speak English.
The staff there were brilliant and offered us cold bottled water and explained that should we go back to our start point we would have to wait as it was a holiday that it was a long way out so taxis would be few and far between (maybe up to an hour) so they arranged for a van to return us to our hotel, though we had to pay 400rmb for it.
Bottom Line - This is a very huge park lots to see and do but may be best to go there when not so many people, with a guide or someone who can speak the language....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    181
    56
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A bad copy of an Alps village”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have no idea why so many people like this attraction so much and giving it 4 and 5 points, all the buildings in there are badly built, a typical Chinese approach in making things: copy something from the West and make them cheap and fast. Not to mention the planning destroyed the surrounding environment and ecology. There used to be a traditional Hakka village, I recon it was a thousand times better, but then it was bulldozed and made way for this fake Alpine village.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Swiss village in Shenzhen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Another great day ...I went on a normal day and found it an excellent opportunity to relax ..I walked for many hours all possible spots , whilst used the small steam train and have a full view of the village and all amenities ...I hope in my next visit to have the chance to spend a couple of nights in the OCT Hotel ..The atmosphere inside and around the lake is magical.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Western Guest, Save your time and spend else where”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Dear Western Friends, this is not worth your time as it is all fake. Most visitors are from inland China and it's get crowed on weekends and public holidays. The OCT group is famouse for providing horrible services. No real point of interest for Westerns. Go to Splendid China or shopping at the outlet across the Walmart on Dong Bin Road in Shekou. You will feel better about coming to Shenzhen.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shenzhen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A splendid place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is where you can escape from the high pressure of the city. I have been there several times. They always have surprises for the tourists,especially during the years of construction. They have some quirky hotels, such as castle hotel and train hotel. Can you imagine living in a hotel just decorate like a train? interesting, right? This is a wonderful place for both adventure and leisure, and a brilliant place for friends to hang out! The main hotel, the "Interlaken Hotel", is designed as a Swiss town~ the view is romantic! Just be there for few seconds, I promise you will forget any distress! Definitely a "Must Go" place!!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OCT East Shenzhen also viewed

 

Been to OCT East Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OCT East Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.