We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making business trips more enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6005 Shennan Boulevard, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China (Xiangmi Lake)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 2,144 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Making business trips more enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great hotel with excellent service. Deluxe rooms have everything you can think of: large flat screen TVs, IPod docking stations, all the PC interfaces needed,...

Very comfortable beds.

Executive lounge is definitely worth the price, great breakfasts, cocktails and dinners.

Room Tip: Deluxe corner rooms provide a lot of space and are well designed and appointed. If you travel on bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    194
    21
    11
    1
See reviews for
24
19
25
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful staff but the rooms and hotel were disappointing. Terrible first room with an enormous structural pillar in the middle of the room. They moved us with no hesitation, after we complained. Next room was much better, with an enormous, modern bathroom.
We arrived late and all the restaurants, except one, were shut and the open one had a very limited food selection, and limited seating if you didn't want to be in a smoking section.
Breakfast was OK but service v slow as we confused staff by not wanting the buffet.
Outdoor pool was terrible - dirty water, small. And the ladies' changing room was unusable because the jacuzzi was being fixed.
Wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I really liked this hotel. I stayed here while visiting a factory in Shenzhen. The rooms are nice size and are definitely design for business travel. big desk and the closet is very reasonable. internet works great and you even get access to FB through the hotel internet. hum...I wonder why, but who cares. fans are very quiet and AC works great, especially for Americans, somehow AC at the Chinese mall is never strong enough for me.

the downside of this hotel is that there are not too many restaurants near by. when it's dinner time, you must grab a taxi to go somewhere and sometimes it's hard to get a taxi back. subway is about 15 minutes walk, which is too far for when you are jetlagged and you just need food. The hotel food is surprisingly very good, but pricy. we had a birthday celebration at the club lounge and they didn't have enough wine glasses... hum...strange.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My family and I stayed here for only 1 night but I wished I had booked it for a much longer stay. We had just traveled in China for almost 3 weeks and though I felt most of the hotels' service to be very good, I felt this hotel was a step above. The club lounge was excellent, rooms were immaculate, bed comfortable, bedrooms very large, staff very helpful and I could go on and on. In addition, I was concerned about the border crossing into Hong Kong because it was during Usagi (major typhoon which was suppose to hit Hong Kong head-on). I reserved our shuttle from the hotel to the Hong Kong airport and I could not believe how smooth it went. All I can say is that I will be back and next time I will stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My room had a very large vertical, structural column going through it. This 10' X 10' column took up a great deal of space, and obstructed access to and views out the window - though it was not connected to the window or exterior wall. It was literally in the middle of the room, leaving the room feeling cramped and small. Also, the hotel's lobby and common areas have an air freshener system that frequently spayed very sweet smelling perfume. I know these types of systems are common in high end Chinese hotels, but in this case it smelled like a strip club. All-in-all, not want I expected from a JW Marriott. I will be back at the Ritz Carlton on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not overwhelmed by a huge column.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

this is the best hotel i would consider in china, at least in Guangdong area. comfortable room, nice staff, execellent lounge. they always try to remember your name and give you warmest greeting.

good view, convenient environment, close to HK, dont know what to critisize them. excellent hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The place is GOOD ( with capital letters ) i've staying here for almost 3 nights ( still at the place till the 30th of September ) and it is good, its good in terms of pricing ( considering china in general ) and its good in terms of service and in quality in general.
li
the room feels really big and i got the "executive" room ( which enables you to access the executive lounge ) and it is really spacious, and the room is really clean in a way ( considering overall mainland china "quality" ) and the whole bathroom is good. we can like categorize the room into like 2 main categories divided into 3 sub-categories :

1- the "room" and 2- the "bathroom" :

1- the room :

a) the entrance + "office" : well the office area is kinda big and the drawers are big too to fill your stuff in, and it is not bad at all.
B) the bed + TV area : i really loved the bed, because its comfy and its big and right in-front of the big TV and its really good to sleep in or just relax in and read a book.
C) the "SITTING" area : there are 2 "chairs" next to the window and they are comfy to sit in and i personally find them really up to the standard of being a "5*" hotel.

2- the bathroom :

A) you have the toilet area.
B) the make up / getting ready area
C) the washroom area
D) the shower and bath tub area

Over all, the place is decent, its good, the staff are friendly, and the whole "process" ( what ever it is ) will go somethely especially when we talk about the whole "main land" china part ...

the JW Marriott is a GOOD hotel to spend your time in, and if you could afford it you should go for it.

pros :

1- amazing location, pretty much near everywhere in Shenzhen.
2- over the top service.
3- really good value per money.

cons :

1- the prices are not very "clear", for example if you book and they will give you the rate X when you check-in they will charge you more as far as "deposit" goes.
2- your key-card might kinda "run out" to not enable you to go up to your room ( it happened to me today, just make sure that you make your stay duration "clear" for the whole period just so that you won't end up like me today unable to go to your floor because the card refuses to give you access to the floor you want to go to )

other than that its a really good hotel in many different "fields" or areas. and i would personally recommend it to anyone i know ( and i already did ).

Personal tips : make sure you get the executive room so that you get access to the executive lounge which is not bad. also make sure to get a high floor room to enjoy the views.

in conclusion, the hotel is really good ( even though i was kinda lowering my expectations ), the staff are very helpful and the location really adds in to the whole value per money thing.

i give it 5 starts because i've tried it over the course of 3 days and it did not fail me ( even though i have 7 more nights to go here ) but still, i really like how the house keeping gets their job done and how the staff over all is very helpful. i WILL definitely check-in here the next time am in Shenzhen, main land china :)

Room Tip: 1- get an executive room. 2- I'm a smoking person so this won't bother me, but if you were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen

Address: No.6005 Shennan Boulevard, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Xiangmi Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#7 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#7 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#86 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the newest International 5 star luxury hotels in Shenzhen at the JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen. Centrally located in the Futian Business District, our luxury International hotel in Shenzhen offers easy access to Baoan International Airport, Shenzhen Convention & Exhibition Centre, major tourist attractions and ports. Enjoy our Shenzhen 5 star luxury hotel first-class services, spacious accommodations, incredible amenities and fine dining. Rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, 42" flat-screen TV, high-speed Internet, laptop-size safe, mini-bar and rainforest shower. Extensive spa treatments are available at Quan Spa along with our 24-hour Health Club and outdoor swimming pool. With over 1,226 square meters of function space, event planning and catering, we commit to make your event unforgettable. Experience the finest of luxury 5 star hotels in Shenzhen, China at the JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, ideal for your China Hi-tech Fair needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, Marriott, HotelTravel.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Shenzhen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.