We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hardware, Poor Software” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6005 Shennan Boulevard, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China (Xiangmi Lake)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #6 of 2,143 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beijing
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Hardware, Poor Software”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am a proud platinum member of member rewards, because the hotels of Marriott always provide me stable outstanding service both in hardware and software. I've just stayed one night in Shenzhen JW Marriott, as excepted, I was upgraded to the executive suite as a platinum member's benefit, the suite is quite amazing, especially the fantastic bath tub. The breakfast is very delicious.

However, the service is not so good. The staff in this hotel is not friendly, especially to the Chinese residences. Check-out process costed me around 10 minutes, seems the FO is not very similar with Marriott's system. And also, she missed my platinum arrival gift: 500 points, despite I mentioned it to the FO twice when I check in and check out.

According to the Marriott's platinum member's benefit, I should get 100 bucks compensation. I have called this hotel today morning, but unfortunately, no one contact me and help me get back the points.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for kindly pointing out the bright side and the part still need to be enhanced of us. We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy a satisfying stay here. Sincerely apologized for the inconvenience we caused and your comments have already been conveyed to the FO department, which will get in touch with you immediately. Wish you a perfect stay next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    192
    19
    11
    1
See reviews for
24
18
24
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The service is very good as the reception on duty staff are friendly and helpful. Room is very nice and I can see the town area view from window.
Buffet dinner has plenty of choices, but western food is not as good as I thought.
The basic supplies like drinking water, bathing items are ready in the room. But there is no free coffee powder or tea pack supply.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your compliments on our service and facilities, we are pleased to know that you have spent a nice stay here. We do have coffee powder and tea pack in the room and if you can’t find them next time, please don’t hesitate to call 26698888 to ask our front office for help. Thank you again and sincerely look forward to your coming back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've stayed at probably 20 hotels in Shenzhen over the last 10 years or so, and this place is definitely at the top.

Check in was fast and efficient (for China), as a Marriott Gold member, I was given an Executive Level room right on the same floor as the lounge (a huge plus). The room was very large, the bathroom was one of the best 'standard room' bathrooms I've ever seen--it was huge. Everything seemed very fresh and new--well decorated, clean and modern. The beds were soft and comfortable and the air conditioning worked very well in the sweltering heat of late June/early July.

The only down side was that the bathroom's sliding frosted-glass door cut down on privacy and illuminated the whole room when one of us went to the bathroom. Particularly inconvenient when sharing a room with someone and they have to 'go' in the middle of the night.

The food in the executive lounge was of good quality, however, seemed as if they were always running out of things--they had a tough time keeping up with the crowds at times. The smoked salmon they served in the lounge was some of the best I've had anywhere. The only common thing every night was their bread pudding with vanilla sauce--I normally don't like bread pudding, but that stuff was delicious!

The staff in the lounge was very good, in particular, the Eastern European gal (I'm sorry that I forgot her name)...She especially, but all of the exec lounge staff did a great job to make the guests feel welcome.

Because of the executive lounge access, I did not get to sample any of the other restaurants or lounges in the hotel, but their menus looked very nice.

I hope to stay here again next time I'm in Shenzhen!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your highly evaluation on us, it is our good great honor to serve you. Our relative departments will take care of the problems you've mentioned to maintain food supply in E-lounge . And as well, we will definitely convey your appraise to Alex (the European Executive Lounge manager) and the fellow colleagues. Sincerely looking forward to your coming back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, Usa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Everything about this hotel makes you want to come back. From the views from your room to the Restaurants, it's a very nice place to stay. The rooms are large and address all the needs of the business traveler....although I did struggle with internet speed. The restaurant buffets are really good, I didn't have to wait even though they were somewhat crowded. I am not a big fan of Chinese food, but found enough Western cuisine to fill me up both for Dinner and Breakfast - and it was delicious as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out over the front of the hotel for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your appreciation on us, we are glad to know that our service have meet your expectations. Our associations are always ready to help if you come up to any problems like the internet things. We will keep improving ourselves and sincerely look forward to your next stay in the coming future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very reasonable price for a JW. High quality, excellent treatment, nice lounge. Very spacious, clean and silent rooms, nice bath tube, high speed internet...what else to say?...It's a JW Marriott...kind of... home for a while...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your highly appreciation on us, we are so glad to know that our service and facilities have meet your expectations. We will keep improving ourselves and sincerely look forward to your coming back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed in an executive room which was nice with a good bathroom although it would have been nice to have had a make up mirror with light and magnification. We had access to the executive lounge which was not as good as I would expect in this quality hotel. Breakfast was rather hit and miss with fruit juices not topped up, no brown bread, no obvious egg menu (we discovered that you could order eggs on our last morning but the poached eggs had no toast and one was soft and the other broken and hard). The French wine which was on offer in the evening disappeared after the first hour! This needs some improvement.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your precious comments on us, the relating department is being made sure to pay better attention to the problems you've mentioned about. It's our good great honored to serve you, looking forward to your coming back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Rooms were clean, set up well, comfortable amd upscale. Staff was very courteous. Wireless access, which I feel is a must for a business traveler was very poor. After two days of struggling with this staff brought a dlink hub. I'd stay there again but would reserve a wireless hub.

Room Tip: The full size shower windows have auto blinds that go down for privacy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for you comments. It's been our great honor to serve you. As to the wireless hub, you can simply register to be a member of marriott club in the front desk, then you can enjoy a fast speed wifi for free. Sincerely looking forward to your next stay in the coming future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen

Address: No.6005 Shennan Boulevard, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Xiangmi Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#6 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#7 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#84 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the newest International 5 star luxury hotels in Shenzhen at the JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen. Centrally located in the Futian Business District, our luxury International hotel in Shenzhen offers easy access to Baoan International Airport, Shenzhen Convention & Exhibition Centre, major tourist attractions and ports. Enjoy our Shenzhen 5 star luxury hotel first-class services, spacious accommodations, incredible amenities and fine dining. Rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, 42" flat-screen TV, high-speed Internet, laptop-size safe, mini-bar and rainforest shower. Extensive spa treatments are available at Quan Spa along with our 24-hour Health Club and outdoor swimming pool. With over 1,226 square meters of function space, event planning and catering, we commit to make your event unforgettable. Experience the finest of luxury 5 star hotels in Shenzhen, China at the JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, ideal for your China Hi-tech Fair needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Marriott so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Shenzhen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.