We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice business hotel, loved lobby + breakfast + lounge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6005 Shennan Boulevard, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China (Xiangmi Lake)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 2,133 Hotels in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 stars 486 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A nice business hotel, loved lobby + breakfast + lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The JW marriott is a nice hotel with a wonderful lounge. The room and location is average and you need to walk a bit to the nearest subway station. On the other hand, it's located in the business district which you don't need to take a lot of transportation time.

The lounge has a good skyline view of Shenzhen, which also has a lot of space that you can sit comfortable and have a drinks with your colleagues. Perrier seems to have provided (need to ask the staff for it) too.

One drawback is , as a platinum member of Marriott group, it seems that the hotel is not likely to provide you with a suite upgrade (visited several times, never had an upgrade to suite), usually they will put you to a normal room with executive access.

The breakfast is nice and you can almost fill yourself up and skip the lunch. There are plenty of selection including dim sum as well.

Room Tip: try to bargain for a suite~~
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valuable comments and kindly pointing out the aspects we did good and those still need to be enhanced. We are sorry about not upgrading your room in time and the Front Office is being made sure to pay better attention to it. We will keep spending great effort to improve our service quality and we sincerely looking forward to your next stay in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    180
    17
    10
    0
See reviews for
23
15
24
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

In the midst of a multi-city trip in China I decided to take a weekend sojourn in Shenzhen. The J.W. Marriott proved to be a nice spot to relax and recharge before my return to Beijing.

It had been 25 years since my last visit to Shenzhen, and needless to say the city has undergone immense change from back then, when it was a small town. Now it's a metropolis of about 15 million people, with its own distinct feel and culture, much of which can be sampled right outside the doors of the J.W.

Service is the highlight in this relatively new hotel property located in Shenzhen's Futian business district. I found the staff to be impeccably friendly and helpful, though sometimes a tad too much 'in your face' as is often the case with high-end Chinese hotels.

The J.W. has a modern chic feel, and is adjacent to a lovely golf course that has a tropical flavor. It's possible to arrange to play there, for 1,600 RMB (USD 265) on weekdays and 2,400 RMB (USD 400) on weekends. There is a convention center across Shennan Boulevard to the north, and a shopping district just to the southwest that is replete with banks, 7-11's, KFCs, supermarkets, restaurants, and just about everything else you might need.

For transportation there's a public bus station just adjacent to the hotel, and the Xiangmihu subway station is a 15 minute walk east on Shennan Blvd. I wouldn't recommend using the Chegongmiao subway station to the west of the hotel, as there's lots of construction in that area and the walk is both unpleasant and even a little dicey; there's currently no sidewalk in a few spots so you have to walk along the busy road. But the subway itself is very new and high tech, more modern than the ones in Beijing, Shanghai and Hong Kong.

The weekend rates were very reasonable, about USD 210 per night including the 15 percent tax/service surcharge. As a Marriott platinum member I chose a Club Level room, which included some especially nice amenities--even for a J.W. Marriott--and access to the Executive Lounge, where I took all my breakfasts and dinners. The view from the room was grand, as you can see in the photo I've provided.

If you're coming to Shenzhen from Hong Kong, and you're not too laden with heavy luggage, I highly recommend taking Hong Kong's MTR from the Hung Hom station in Kowloon, and then after you cross the border take the green line from Luo Hu to Xiangmihu. The trip was cheap (about USD 4.75 from Hung Hom to the Shenzhen border, and then another USD 1.00 from the border to the hotel). By taxi I imagine this trip would cost at least $150, maybe more.

Although the hotel's location is good for business travelers, especially those attending a convention across the street, it is a rather quiet area at night. I took the subway one stop west (to Coco Park) to catch a movie. For those looking for more adventurous evening entertainment options, you'll want to check out the Sea World area or maybe the grittier Luo Hu neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the golf course. As of this writing there is lots of construction on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for sharing your experience with the online community. We are very glad to know that you have a nice stay in our hotel. The location of our hotel is good for both travelling and bussiness, and you can enjoy yourself in the green golf course adjacent to the hotel. Really looking forward to your next stay in the coming future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stay two nights during CNY, we had a great time here; great customer services, as we asked for a bigger room, cause we have kids, front desk really cared and gave us a lovely room. Big bathtub, with TV on the top; breakfast has variety of choices, with freshly squeezed juice.
According to my husband, as all Marriott, Gym facility was excellent.

Location is not perfect, but since we used taxi everywhere we goes, it was not a big deal. A few restaurants around the hotel, 7-11 and conner shoppes...
We enjoyed our stay, will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your precious comments on us and we are so glad to know that you are satisfied with our facilities and service. We will keep improving ourselevs and looking forward to your coming back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I only stayed here for one night but I wish the trip was longer! My room was beautiful, modern, spacious, and had a great bed, great breakfast, good wifi, and a spread on the Club Floor (lounge) that gives R.C. properties stiff competition.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for your very positive comments on us. We are pleased to know that you are satisfed with our hotel!Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Shenzhen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

To start I have a car pick me up at the Shenzhen airport, its a wonderful service and takes the stress out of getting to the hotel. They greet you by name and have water and cold towels in the car, after a long trip from the US its a god send. Next you are greeted at the door by name and escorted to the service counter to check in which is extremely quick and efficient then off to your room with both a porter and the service attendant. The rooms are quite spacius and the beds are large and comfortable. The main restaurant has lots of options and is quite good. This was the first time I was able to access the exec level, very nice to have an area for breakfast, cocktails and hors derves. In all very happy with the JW Marriot in Shenzhen.

Room Tip: Stay on the exec levels if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your praise for our staffs and service. JW Marriott always tries to provide the best customer service. Very glad that you appreciate our room and restaurant, we sincerely look forward to your coming back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

To start with, this is a typical high-end hotel in China -- great building and great amenities; when it comes to the service, it's just soso. Maybe it's great in Chinese standard, but far below Korean or Japan. Staffs will talk/response in a good manner, but you don't feel the warmth and they barely smile. Did I ask too much? Maybe...

Anyway, I was upgraded to a corner executive room because of my Marriott status; it was a great room, with a great view. In terms of the room, it's topnotch.

I tried to go to the lounge for breakfast but it's a very small lounge and easily full; on the plus side, staffs there are generally more friendly than others. Since my room rate came with free breakfast in the lobby, I tried there once -- however, the food quality there is not what you'd expect from a JW, espeically if one has to pay $30USD in China! Same applies to the buffet lunch, not good.

And to the location, it's right between two subway stations, so it means it's not closer to any. It's was pretty cool to walk for 15 mins in April; but I certain don't want to do so in summer. On the other hand, cab costs little in China, so you can live without taking subway if staying here.

Overall, it's a good hotel in China standard; given the value, I'd certain stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valuable comments and kindly pointing out the aspects we did good and those still need to be enhanced. We will keep spending great effort to improve our service quality and look forward to your coming back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great US Styled Hotel all the quirks of a grand US Hotel.
There is a sense of Space and dignity here and this is to be appreciated.
I had previous stays but this time I dropped in and no help on rate or concessions for upper floors or executive level access were given. I booked via booking agent last time and saved about $100 Usd / Night against this stay. I suggest that if you plan to stay here and care at all about the rates book ahead and use a room broker.

Room Tip: North rooms are better...... Also there are great restaurants out the back of the hotel n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott_Shenzhen, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for sharing your experience with the online community. We have special offers on the homepage constantly and it may offer you a favourable price next time. Sincerely looking forward to your coming back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen

Address: No.6005 Shennan Boulevard, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Xiangmi Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#6 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#96 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the newest International 5 star luxury hotels in Shenzhen at the JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen. Centrally located in the Futian Business District, our luxury International hotel in Shenzhen offers easy access to Baoan International Airport, Shenzhen Convention & Exhibition Centre, major tourist attractions and ports. Enjoy our Shenzhen 5 star luxury hotel first-class services, spacious accommodations, incredible amenities and fine dining. Rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, 42" flat-screen TV, high-speed Internet, laptop-size safe, mini-bar and rainforest shower. Extensive spa treatments are available at Quan Spa along with our 24-hour Health Club and outdoor swimming pool. With over 1,226 square meters of function space, event planning and catering, we commit to make your event unforgettable. Experience the finest of luxury 5 star hotels in Shenzhen, China at the JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, ideal for your China Hi-tech Fair needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Shenzhen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.