We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6 Guiyuan North Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China (Dongmen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #46 of 2,110 hotels in Shenzhen
United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in June. We received everything we expected for a 2 star hotel: clean rooms, comfort beds, and good breakfast. However some hotel staff could be better trained. There were a couple of times they either provided us with wrong or not enough information.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    227
    53
    14
    10
See reviews for
30
30
39
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I am a gold member of IHG. Their quality is standard. This is the main reason I stayed in Holiday Inn Express Luohu. I received everything I expected: clean room, comfy bed, pillow choices, desk, free wifi, breakfast and excellent staffs.

During my stay, however, I found that A/C was not working properly. I couldn't adjust to the temperature I wanted. On my arrival Shenzhen was hot and I wanted my cool my room down. However the A/C couldn't achieve that. Staff came and checked and couldn't do anything. However the staff were nice enough to keep my A/C on all day long. So every day when I came back the room was cool. (This is not recommended because it's a waste of energy)

Another issue I encountered is that I asked for a non smoking room. I traveled several times to China and always find room with cigarette smell. When I entered my room it smelled cigarette even though it was a non smoking room. Later I found out that people smoke on the hall way or by the elevator and the A/C just pushed the cigarette smoke into my room. This must be improved.

Finally I would recommend to have more western choice for breakfast. Bagel, cream cheese and pancake would be excellent choices. Also scramble egg is a must on daily basis, please don't switch it for other kind of egg, much less tea egg.

I loved the Holiday Inn Express umbrella that I got to use for the last two rainy days of my stay. I loved it to the point that I wanted to buy one. However staff told me that it was not for sell. Too bad.

Overall I received all I expected from IHG brand. Definitely will go back for my next visit.

Room Tip: Monday ~ Friday they provide shuttle to subway station at fixed time. The hotel is close to Dongmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Am currently staying and intend to do so for 8 nights, first day, impressions. Most of the services are self service style - everything including elevator is card operated. There's no concierge to help with luggage, no door man, no security guard, the rates are not cheap (RMB 378/night) with breakfast (will experience it tomorrow morning).

Theres no laundry service but they have a laundry room (washing and drying at RMB 30 each cycle), ironing free (not possible to iron inside room). Theres are vending machine in the lobby for cigarettes, drinks etc.

There's a desk space provided for work, but the computer chair was very poor, having to sit on the front edge, if I did try to rest my back the chair would go all the way back nearly throwing me off!!

The rooms are large enough with windows and rooms on higher floor come with mini fridge (have to ask for it). Internet service is slow (wifi and wired) less than 500kb/ps (not even 1mb/ps).

Staff spoke enough English to be able to communicate both ways. The airconditioner no matter what setting you try and even after asking the housekeeping guys the temp refuses to go below 21.5degC.

The location is not convenient either, with no Metro station close by, the Hotel offers a shuttle bus to Grand Theatre Station only three time a day 8am, 8.30am, 9am.

The Restaurant is mainly for breakfast and they have some items on the menu which are too expensive to try out.

There's a Mcdonalds 2mins from the Hotel, and a KFC within 10-12 mins walking distance, the Hotel is basically located in a Residential area. The main Luohu area and Metro stations and Malls (MixC) are 1-2kms away, a taxi ride from the Luohu station to the Hotel cost me RMB 15. Be prepared to spend on taxi money or walk for 15~20mins to reach a more happening area in Luohu.

I noticed a strange damp/musty smell in the room throughout, the carpet was dirty, there was some leakage from the shower area into the room carpet, the linen was ok, firm and soft pillows provided, there's a 32" TV with 4-5 English channels (HBO, CNN, Pearl, Discovery), two seater sofa, coffee table, alarm clock with iPhone dock. The bathroom and shower area shares one door, and the supplied shower cap, toothbrush, comb, vanity kit are average.

It seems that a local Hotel has been converted into the Holiday Inn brand, and it feels that it's 3-4 old with the wear and tear you seem to notice around the Hotel and Room.

While walking back to the room in the Corridor above my Room door I noticed a large cockroach lazily crawling away and getting into the neighbouring room!!

I went for the Holiday Inn name and thought it would be good, however, they can improve and make it a better experience and value for money only by making small changes.

May stay here again if they make above minor changes...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in may. We had booked 3rooms. This hotel is not for family. Yes it is a budget hotel with no bell boys. We had tough time in handling the luggage all by our selves.... Water too is chargeable.... Rooms are very tiny.... Don't think about placing extra bed in the rooms....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stay here with friends and family for 4 nights. The staff was helpful, they speak a good english. The hotel was nice and clean and the room was spacious, the bathroom was also clean. The one thing that need improvement is the breakfast, because i think the food wasn't taste that good enough. The hotel is close to malls and also close to Luo hu train station. There are lot of good restaurants around. Overall we enjoyed our stay in this hotel,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for four nights with family of eight, we had taken four rooms facing the beautiful skyline of Shenzhen. The rooms are of a decent size, beds are super comfortable, bathrooms are nice & clean.

Breakfast is very average, as the menu was same for all 4 days which is very negative. As everyone knows the Holiday Inn express is more like a service apartments, no in room dinning, no swimming pool etc. It is good for tourists like us, as we leave after breakfast & come back late evening for a nice shower and comfortable beds to rest. Over all nice place with super comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the skyline view & avoid the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is a simple and clean hotel ideal for short stays, perfect for transit stays. The location is not bad but you will not be at the centre of all the action in Luohu. The service is ok. There's a vending machine for water and sorts at the reception lobby and a business center if you need to check your mails and do some office stuffs. Wi-fi and wired internet is available for free in the rooms.

All in all, it's a simple hotel that is good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SZXLH, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Appreciate your time to make us aware of your delightful experience. The hotel locates near to the Hongkong boarder, Luohu Commercial Complex, East Gate shopping street in 5 min drive, features comfortable room, signature shower, complimentary breakfast and internet to make a smart option for busieness and leisure travellers.

Thank you again and looking forward to serving in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu

Address: No.6 Guiyuan North Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#49 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu is easy. We're just 38km from Shenzhen International Airport and 3km from Luohu train station. Our modern high-rise hotel is also close to Dajuyuan metro station, where trains speed you to the Central Business District in just 10 minutes. Complimentary wireless Internet in your stylish Guest room keeps you connected.Invite colleagues to Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu for a conference in our high-tech meeting room. You can print agendas and check email in the 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and it's just 4 metro stops to events at Shenzhen Convention and Exhibition Centre. Train services from Luohu station take just 1 hour to reach Hong Kong.It's 3.5km from the hotel to buzzing Huaqiangbei, the place to shop for the very latest in computer and electronic gadgetry. Pick up stylish outfits and leather handbags in huge MixC Shopping Mall, one of the biggest in China, or hop in a taxi to haggle for bargains in the shoppers' paradise of Dongmen district and Luohu Commercial City.Chinese congee porridge is served alongside western choices like poached eggs and toast at Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu 's complimentary breakfast buffet. Relax on the sofas in our vibrant Great Room, and enjoy a beer with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Luohu Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen
Holiday Inn Shenzhen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.