We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategically located near Laojie Station & Dongmen Shopping Street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunon Holiday Villa

Save Saved
You added Sunon Holiday Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunon Holiday Villa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.55 Yongxin Street, Jiefang Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518000, China (Dongmen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 1,961 hotels in Shenzhen
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Strategically located near Laojie Station & Dongmen Shopping Street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sunon Villa hotel recently.
Here are the positives and negatives of our stay:-

Positives of Sunon Holiday Villa:-
1) Location - stragetically located.
a) walking distance to Metro Station Laojie. Exit F to hotel.
b) surrounded by great shopping and eating places at Dongmen Street (above and underground).
2) Room clean
3) Reasonable and good massage on the 6th Floor (adjoining building)
4) Popular Dim Sum restaurant on 3rd floor (adjoining building).

Negatives of Sunon Holiday Villa
1) The bed was hard and uncomfortable. ( Sunon should seriously consider adding Bed Toppers to their hard beds to make it more comfortable).
2) Air Con was noisy - regular maintenance should fix this problem.
3) Breakfast though stated for one but they offered 2 breakfasts which was a nice gesture. Breakfast should be more international. They should expand the breakfast area too as it can be overcrowded.
Overall, we did have a good stay at Sunon because of the positives but they should improve on their negatives.

Room Tip: Get Deluxe Rooms on High Floor on Non-Smoking Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    80
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
33
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

As you come up from the train station and round a small corner your there, right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of shopping a tasty street foods. Checking in was a bit hard as we only speak English, but with some help from Google translate we were on our way to our room. The room was small, but that was to be expected. I noticed a light bulb was kinda hanging wrong so I just went to adjust it and I didn't realize the windows are left open, good thing i didn't try to brace myself on that, then it made me think if any creepy things crawled in while the room was vacant. Again its all about the location it was smack dab in the middle of the shopping district, lots of food and cheap things to buy. As far as the TV, you have to pay to watch anything worth watching.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surabaya
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is my second time staying at the hotel, the first one was in 2011. I took MRT from Lou Hu to Lao jie, just 2 stops and the fare is 2 CNY. The building next door where MRT station lies is still under construction. Get out at exit E, there is a lift next to the stairs, ask someone. Turn left to the main road and Sunon Hotel on your right. Pretty much the same, nothing change. The double bed with windows is clean, the bed still hard, orthopaedic type. Dongmen area still the same, I found muslim street at the edge of the street next to Mc D, straight until one alley before the next main road. Breakfast in the hotel improving, though very basic. Several varieties have been added, watch the sign, it could be misleading for Muslims, ask the waiters. All the staffs are good and polite, they tried hard to help with their English. Eventhough it said one breakfast in the Agoda, I good breakfast for two. It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Other than the location being in the very heart of Dongmen street shopping haven, this hotel is less than desirable. Though reasonably price, it is poorly managed and maintained badly. I booked what I thought was a better Deluxe Room but sadly it was rather worn out. Carpets stinks, towels worn out and even torn w holes. Room supposed to have a Wall mounted LCD TV but instead a small 20 inch box tv which had problems. Non smoking room but clearly not! Unless u do not mind all these than I recommend a miss. I booked for 2 nights but stayed 1 night and left earlier for HK instead even though HK was pricier.

There is a great Chinese restaurant in the connecting building on 3rd level. Dim sum and Cantonese cuisine very high standard as the Head Chef is from HK. Food consider very inexpensive for this excellent standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is on the famous walking street with a few walking step from subway exit.I got the room number 215 on second floor, the cheapest one with no window and I felt uncomfortable and confused about the time. Room was clean but it would be better if they have more outlet for each bedside tables and more English TV channel. The breakfast buffet was okay but the buffet staffs couldn't speak English so it's hard to order the egg dish.

Room Tip: rooms with window recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Location was very good for a shopping spree. But the staffs at the reception was cold and distant. I asked for a map and was told there are no map. Luckily the room was clean and I got a larger room with good amenities. Breakfast was not good and the nasi lemak was far from the original taste. I would stay again only if the room is on discount.

Room Tip: get a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getxo, EUSKADI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel has an unbeateble location, but get a room with windows, if not it could be a littel claustrophibic in there. I went for the cheapest and that was a big mistake, I think that there must be better options in Shenzhen but that was what I chose. The hotel is nice the brakfast so so. But the best is the location 50 meters from the metro estation and just at the bigining of the shopping area, night market and so on.

Room Tip: There is a massage center next to the hotel, an some restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunon Holiday Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunon Holiday Villa

Address: No.55 Yongxin Street, Jiefang Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518000, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunon Holiday Villa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunon Holiday Villa, Shenzhen has integrated business, conference,leisure and shopping as its theme. Its comfortable and well appointed rooms, advance conference facilities and impeccable services will make your stay a memorable experience. We are conveniently located in the heart of Shenzhen Dongmen shopping street and is set amidst business district, shopping havens and many local attractions. It is 100 meters away from the subway, 5 minutes away from the Luohu railway station and 40 minutes from the Shenzhen Bao'an international airport. The Hotel also featuring its Malaysian hospitality with each room well appointed and furnished with colour TV, direct dialling telephone, hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities, internet access, refrigerator and safety box. Its fine restaurant serve international cuisine of the highest quality including delicious Malaysian Cantonese, Asian and Westerm cuisine expertly prepared by master chefs. As for banquet facilities, the Hotel offers the fully equipped multifunction room, ideal for business meetings, cocktail and dinner parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sunon Holiday Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunon Holiday Villa Hotel Shenzhen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunon Holiday Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.