We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunon Holiday Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sunon Holiday Villa to your Saves list
Sunon Holiday Villa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.55 Yongxin Street, Jiefang Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518000, China (Dongmen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 2,132 Hotels in Shenzhen
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Safe haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Address was in pinyin/english and Chinese characters (essential for obtaining directions from the Chinese). Located almost opposite exits E and G of the Laojie train hub for overland and several metro lines - just 2 metro stops from Hong Kong border and easy walking distance (about 10 minutes for me). Would have helped if Agoda had provided me with phone no.and email address for this hotel as I had great difficulty locating as China has no equivalent of our London A-Z or geographical maps covering every single street - eg no indication it was right by Laojie ( and for the Yintong Inn Mingji booking I wasn't even given the Chinese characters - and cancelled anyway unbenownst to myself).
Staff knew minimal English but a duty manager was a great help in giving directions and guided me to my next hotel at Garden Inn about 10 minutes walk away.
Adequate breakfast and stair access through the dining hall.
Excellent bathroom, 'kitchen' and hygiene hospitality.
Great location as set back from the main thoroughfare but also in the heart of commercial and social Shenzhen.
The free computer internet facility in the lobby was a great boon as Shenzhen does not appear to have internet cafes and the Chinese have limited grasp of either romanized Mandarin or English.

Room Tip: Contact hotel in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    84
    40
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
37
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My family were having holiday in Shenzhen in Jan 2013, booked 2 rooms..Got a warm welcome from the bell boy who saw us walking towards the hotel in the cold weather, quickly came to carry our luggages for us.The hotel has a great location. Room is clean and modern & provide free wifi.. breakfast provided is quite alright with nasi lemak.. to my pleasant surprise.. MTR is just 1 min walk with many many shops and eateries. Easily accessible to travel via MTR to places of interest conveniently as well. Hotel staffs are very friendly, helpful. Had a happy stay & value for money. Thanks Sunon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As pointed out by multiple reviewers, the selling point of this hotel is its location near the MTR station and the Laojie shopping/food streets. Another plus is the availability of 2 laptops in the lobby with free wifi if you have any need for quick Internet access.

I had the superior room which is not at all big. But the major let down is the small bathoom with water from the shower cubicle seeping out easily. Toilet roll holders are normally positioned for convenience at the side, but this one is awkwardly located behind you. Fortunately these negatives are saved by the clean linen and towels.

Hotel staff are not impolite but I think they are not at all amiable. No smiles and no greetings, not even from the Manager. Breakfast is only for convenience for those who want to have a fast bite without having to go out to the streets. I believe you can get better choices elsewhere.

For those who are coming in from the Laojie Metro Station, and especially if you have lots of luggage, the simplest way to find the hotel is if you take exit D which has a lift for the handicapped. Once out of the lift ( there are some renovations going on so you will find the lift and area a bit crummy), you just need to turn left. Walk a little further and you can see Sunon on your right.

Be warned that international channels ( English medium) are pay channels

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My familiy and I were having holiday in Shenzhen in Dec 2012. We booked this hotel recommended by friends. We stayed 3 nights there. true enough, it is a newly renovated hotel and it is clean and comfortable hotel. Most importantly, it is an extremely convenience hotel as it is located just right on top of Laojie MRT. There are many shops which sells cheap and good stuffs like shoes, shirts, blouses etc. There are also many eateries there. There are also many restaurants and we had dinners for the past 3 nights. From this station, we go to Window of the World and Hua Chiang Pei with ease. The staff at this hotel are also very helpful. I will stay this hotel again if I go Shenzhen again.

Room Tip: Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel has a great location. Room is clean and breakfast provided is very good with the price you paid for the room. MTR is just 1 min walk with many many shops and eateries. Easily accessible to travel via MTR to places of interest conveniently as well. Besides the hotel, there is this restaurant selling peking duck and many delicious chinese dishes. We tried the delicious peking duck for only SGD$11.60 which is so cheap!!! Hotel staffs are very friendly, helpful and even provide us many useful opinion on travelling. A big thank to them. I will definitely stay in this hotel again when I am back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Spent four nights here and it is highly recommended! Accessible by taking the MTR to Laojie station. Nearest exit is just a stroll away from the hotel. Just a few stops from Luohu station if you are coming from HK. Right smack in the shopping district with loads of cheap buys, many eateries and night market. the hotel comes with massage services just a few steps away!! I went there every night after a long day out with tired legs. all I have to do is put my things at the hotel, walk less than 20 steps after stepping out of lobby, take the lift to level 6 and massage of all types is available! there's manicure, pedicure, facial services too. Nothing dodgy ! Service is good, just take note that tips is expected. the convenient location means I can always come back for a quick shower, change of clothes, put my heavy shopping and head out again! hotel staff is very friendly, very willing to help when I needed to FedEx a parcel to a friend in Guangzhou. all in all, a great place to stay :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunon Holiday Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunon Holiday Villa

Address: No.55 Yongxin Street, Jiefang Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518000, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunon Holiday Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunon Holiday Villa, Shenzhen has integrated business, conference,leisure and shopping as its theme. Its comfortable and well appointed rooms, advance conference facilities and impeccable services will make your stay a memorable experience. We are conveniently located in the heart of Shenzhen Dongmen shopping street and is set amidst business district, shopping havens and many local attractions. It is 100 meters away from the subway, 5 minutes away from the Luohu railway station and 40 minutes from the Shenzhen Bao'an international airport. The Hotel also featuring its Malaysian hospitality with each room well appointed and furnished with colour TV, direct dialling telephone, hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities, internet access, refrigerator and safety box. Its fine restaurant serve international cuisine of the highest quality including delicious Malaysian Cantonese, Asian and Westerm cuisine expertly prepared by master chefs. As for banquet facilities, the Hotel offers the fully equipped multifunction room, ideal for business meetings, cocktail and dinner parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunon Holiday Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunon Holiday Villa Hotel Shenzhen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunon Holiday Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.