We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gulf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Gulf Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Gulf Hotel
No.96 Jinsha Road, Longhu District, Shantou 515041, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Shantou
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel. There is shopping around the area. The room was clean. The bellboys were friendly and helpful. We were waiting for the driver we engaged and one of the bellboys came up to us and told us he has seen our driver who has gone to the washroom.

The con is that the cleaning staff is not very good. I left a cup of coffee half drank and went out. I came back at night the cup of coffee was still sitting on the desk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    94
    31
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
4
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zhanjiang, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went to Shantou to attend friends' wedding, and they booked a room in this hotel for us.

The location is quite convenient. It locates in a main street. The road behind the hotel leads to Parkson shopping mall. And there are a lot of local restaurants and a Walt-mart supermarket around it. However, the whole area does not look very luxury or top-end.

There are several restaurants and bars on G/F of the hotel. On the night right after my friends' wedding, I had drink (green tea) with one of my university schoolmates in the lounge bar. And the next morning, I had Chaozhou style morning tea with another schoolmate in university in the Chinese restaurant on G/F. It was very convenient for me to choose and I didn't find any food rather untasted.

The room is comfortable. There is green plant in the room, which is quite rare during my experience in many hotels.

We just stayed for one night, so didn't have much special feelings about it. It is a traditional hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

During my recent stay, I exchanged currency with the front desk several times. On the final day, I was given fake 100 yuan notes. I do not know how many fake I was given but the taxi driver identified two. I may have passed more unknowingly to other parties. When we notified the hotel, we were told that the front desk verify with a currency detector (this was not done). We informed the hotel to investigate as there may be a racket using the hotel as a front to pass out fake currencies but they did not respond to our request. This is a TERRIBLE experience, and if this is happening, how can I trust the hotel with all my personal belongings left in the hotel room???

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here although the first impression of the dirty carpets wasn't very good.

Positives - Spacious room, reliable internet and good friendly reception staff.
Negatives - dirty carpet, people touting for business in the lobby.

Overall I would stay here again and probably will on future business trips.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I think this is the best hotel in Shantou.Price is affordable,good location.(just next to Packson Shopping Centre) Clean room. service is 5 Star.Butler Miss Molly very helpful.Tour desk next to the reception very useful and helpful.I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

I go to Shantou once every year for Business and I've stayed at the Regency Hotel. This hotel is much better than the Regency Hotel, The front desk was very friendly, the western breakfast is served on a separate restaurant (which I liked very much), the beds are much softer than on the Regency Hotel, and It's located in Downtown , which is a plus. The gym needs an upgrade. I stayed at the Top floor rooms, which were huge, and recently renovated. In all a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I stayed in a suite and it was very spacious, clean and room service was excellent. The maid went out of her way to clean our messy room and hung all our wet clothes, put them on a rack that faced the window so our clothes would dry quickly

The travel service next to the check-in counter was very good. We bought airline tickets to fly to ShanTou and it was very easy - well, assuming you speak Chinese. My Chinese was passable for a foreigner so I was able to get what I wanted across but the staff spoke very little English. The place opens until midnight, I think.

There was another travel service nearby the elevators - I think this travel service caters more to group tours and when I tried to buy a train ticket from GuangZhou to Hong Kong, they told me that there was a surcharge of 30 RMB per ticket (190 RMB). This works out to be 15% of the regular ticket price. I just bought the tickets for my family at the train station and saved my family $120 RMB.

The buffet is not very appetizing. We arrived late (about 8 PM) and the food didn't look fresh and the selection was pretty limited. My daughters and I decided to walk and had dinner at a fast food place called Turbo, a block or two from the hotel. They had pictures on the menu so my daughters could just point and order since they can't speak Mandarin

Internet access is free in the room but it's wired, not WiFi (Ethernet cable is provided) A little bit inconvenient but it sure beats paying $10/hour ($80 USD / 24 hour, I think) as I had to pay when I stayed at the Hyatt in Hong Kong. You'd think that at $120 USD per day for a room, one would get free WiFi but the Hyatt sure knows how to milk its customers.

Taxis service is readily available. Some taxi drivers will not turn on the meter so beware.

Within a block or two of the hotel is a Walmart. It's huge and you can buy fresh fruits there as well.

Within a 5-10 minute drive is the night market (it costs about 10 RMB to take a taxi there). This is a good place to take the kids shopping for junkets in the evening and it stretches out almost a city block. We bought two no-name wrist watches for $3 USD / watch and, amazingly, it's still keeping good time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Gulf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gulf Hotel

Address: No.96 Jinsha Road, Longhu District, Shantou 515041, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shantou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Shantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Gulf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gulf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.