We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got flea!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Goodview Hotel Tangxia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Goodview Hotel Tangxia to your Saves list
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Entrance of Longlin Highway, Yingbin Avenue, Tangxia Zhen, Dongguan 523710, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 972 Hotels in Dongguan
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Got flea!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have been to goodview for 3 times. The first two times gave me a good experience.

However, I went there again in 1Jul and it was super crowded (it is crowded everywhere in China though, but the previous two stays gave me a good impression). I went there at 1:00pm and I have got to wait for another 1.5 hours to check in although I have asked for early check in in advance.

The swimming pool was worse then it used to be. Got quite a lot of flies on the water and you would see trashes at the bottom of the sea.

The room was nice (as it used to be), but my girlfriend and I got bitten by flea!! My girlfriend was then sick in the next morning. What made her feel worse was the very "Chinese style breakfast buffet". It was like playing american football when you wanted to get some food.

Goodview shall spend more effort on facilities maintainace and cleaning in order to keep its reputation

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangxia2013, Guest Relations Manager at Goodview Hotel Tangxia, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
First of all, thank you very much for your feedbacks following your recent stay at Goodview Hotel Tangxia,Dongguan. We are very sorry for the inconvenience which you had during your stay.
Your valuable comments are immediately reported and viewed with utmost importance by the hotel management and relevant department heads, the action had taken and look into this matter very seriously; the necessary communication has made with agreement with related departments and immediately will take action.Actually our check-in time is 14:00, but we do apologize, if you had to get your room. The hotel will pay more attention to swimming pool facility and will fix it. We will confirm to HSKP floor attendance to check room after make up and make sure are suitable. We have confirmed to F/B department head, and will pay attention during choose buffet selection. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you wish to discuss further.
We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Goodview Tangxia,Dongguan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    121
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
3
6
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Goodview hotel is a really nice big resort style hotel with nice facilities for the family. Staff are polite and the food is great. While not quite the international standard but generous with what the nitty gritty things it provides. Also, the hotel seems to think that as long as they throw all expensive looking materials together it would mean designer looking quality but alas not so.

But it is nice enough. I stayed at the main building which seems to be the older wing but it is still good. Wifi is free at the lobby and rooms are provided with ethernet. You can request for a wifi router for your room. Wing 5 will have balcony with gates that will allow you to jump straight into the pool. There are kids play rooms, recreation centres, different restaurants, ktv and others. It is all very nice indeed.

However, while I was wow-ed by the many things it provides the bed is rock hard and i mean it literally. An intended 5/5 rating from me dropped straight to 3/5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangxia2013, Guest Relations Manager at Goodview Hotel Tangxia, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
First of all, We would like to say thank you very much for your feedbacks following your recent stay at Goodview Hotel Tangxia,Dongguan. We truly value your comments as it is from guest feedback that we will be able to uphold our commitment to excellence. We take our guest’s feedback very seriously.
We have already added some baby beds, so please remark it on your next reservation, and then we could arrange it in advance for you. We would like confirm you as we always bring new facilities for guest ,so you can enjoy free Wi-Fi very guest room in hotel.
If there is any further request, please don't hesitate to contact with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you at Goodview hotel, Tangxia,Dongguan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is not a hotel, it's a resort! I have stayed at the Marriott Resort in Phuket and the Ritz Carlton (now Ayana) in Bali. This property is up nearly up there (except it's not a beach resort) with them and about 1/3 the price.

This resort is located next to a lake. It has a mixed of accommodation spread all across the huge property ranging from rooms to luxury Villas.

The room may be in need of a bit of makeover but bathroom was great and the facilities great. The pool stretches all over the resort and there are kilometres of it I would guess, There is even a shooting range, a basketball court, tennis court and water playground for the children. There is even a shoe shining machine outside the men's toilet in the lobby!

On the lake, you can hire a boathouse and it appears you can dine on board.

The resort has restaurants, a large Vegas styled entertainment complex and spa.

We asked one of the staff to take us on a tour of the resort on the golf buggy and it was impressive.

We had breakfast in a restaurant overlooking the lake. The buffet was adequate but quality was not something to write home about.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are connected to the pool. One type of room has the pool in front of the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangxia2013, Guest Relations Manager at Goodview Hotel Tangxia, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking out your precious time and posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Goodview Hotel Tangxia,Dongguan.. It’s delightful to know that you are satisfied with our service and facilities. We are always striving to provide our guests with a home away from home feeling. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Standing in long line for breakfast... Sitting in corridor provisional tables for dinner... Noisy, busy and stressed for eating there.... Worst, most tables are for smoking people (just a few tables at the back reserved for non-smokers).
Swimming pool is nice in shape, yet almost all of it is far too shallow - just 1.00-1.20m (to save water).
Bottom line - good for locals. Not good place for who cherishes International standards. Locals don't care for congestion, noise, standing in long lines and smoke. Most of them can't swim anyhow... And when there is sun outside - all hide in their rooms and ...sleep

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangxia2013, Guest Relations Manager at Goodview Hotel Tangxia, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
First of all, thank you very much for your feedbacks following your recent stay at Goodview Hotel Tangxia,Dongguan. we are very sorry for the inconvenience which you had during your stay.
We truly value your comments as it is from guest feedback that we will be able to uphold our commitment to excellence. We take our guest’s feedback very seriously.
We will transfer your valuable comment to department head and immediately they will take action. We have already open other restaurant on busy period, so next time you will face this problem and please while you making reservation for your meal please conform us in advance which kind of table your want. The hotel will pay more attention to the poolside building and to check the facilities and fix it.
If there is any further request, please don't hesitate to contact with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you at Goodview hotel, Tangxia,Dongguan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is amazing for the swimming - lover, except the swimming pool, there is a castle in the pool, kids will have much fun

Their rooms are nice, everything are prefect.... only disappointed thing is I can't have my room at 2:00pm since the room is not ready.. ppl was check-out already but less labour for cleaning up, they pass the key to us at 2pm, but we found the room was dirty until 4pm...

We haven't go anywhere after dinner since we don't know where should we go....

I think I will be there again if i have a kid

Room Tip: Pls be reminded to have the room which can be access to pool directly from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stay only one night 2 weeks ago. Direct booked with hotel summer promotional package. Reservation thru their online system and email enquiries replied quick. Check in efficient and professional. Most of the staff were nice, friendly and helpful. They were trying their best to accommodate the guests. We had a room with direct access to the swimming pool, lots of leaves in the pool close to our balcony, cleaners managed to clear them up in a few minutes. The room is spacious with a king size bed, (two double bed combined), but too hard that our back were a bit painful the next day. Should have to request a softer bed. Resort is big and there are shuttles to drive you anywhere within the resort. Dinner and breakfast were average but with the package prices inclusive, quality were fair enough. Dinner time were packed with people and local people not queuing up for seats and messing around instead, restaurant staff were trying very hard to maintain their professional service....!
I think it is more suitable for family with small kids. Checked out efficient but locals again wanted to cut in the line, front desk officer keep asking them to queue up.....! There's also an entertainment street starts from 9.30pm, free entrance and complimentary drinks but forget it, it is very noisy and boring. Drinks tasted horrible.

Room Tip: room - make sure to book a softer bed dinner - book your table in advance and arrive punctually
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I have stayed at this Hotel a couple of times before and they always make you welcome on your return. The hotel is extremely spacious including the rooms and it caters well for holdiay's as well as business travellers.
The breakfasts are always popular and have a good range of western and Asian food catering for all. The bar and club is always popular but far enough away from the rooms to ensure you are not bothered by the noise.
Fully recomended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodview Hotel Tangxia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodview Hotel Tangxia

Address: Entrance of Longlin Highway, Yingbin Avenue, Tangxia Zhen, Dongguan 523710, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dongguan
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
#12 Business Hotel in Dongguan
#39 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodview Hotel Tangxia 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Goodview Hotel Tangxia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodview Hotel Dongguan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodview Hotel Tangxia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.