We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel to stay for business or holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon to your Saves list
Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Yingbin Road, Dongcheng District, Dongguan 523129, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 972 Hotels in Dongguan
Dongguan, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice hotel to stay for business or holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I brought my family to have a weekend holiday in Sofitel Dongguan, Royal Lagoon. The lobby staff are friendly and able to speak English, and there are lot of foreigner staying in this hotel, this place is quiet. There is a big park beside this hotel, I think the good view and nice surrounding make this a plus to the hotel. My son and daughter really like the hotel, as the bed is soft and comfort for them. Room is clean and comfort. The hotel facility is quite complete, but we only use the big swimming. The breakfast is nice, with lot of variety, and the bread is really good, same quality like Europe. The western restaurant salad and food also really good taste. We have a good time and will come back again.

Room Tip: Pool view room is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your weekend holiday with us. The big park , the lake , the 2 huge swimming pools, the spacious rooms and the nice surroundings are really a hit among our regular guests both local and foreign, besides the many top quality food and beverages offerred by our 5 signature restaurants on top of the many recreational facilities. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    131
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
19
25
19
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel, good location, good staff as well as the bar, the singer is good. However, the wifi signal is very very poor. We have the group more than 200 pax, we work together during the stay. But it's very difficulty to receive the wi fi as well as we are all here. I think it must improve.

Room Tip: facing the green course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. We are glad to note that you were happy with the hotel, location, staff , the bar and the singer. On the issue of the WIFI, we had a heavy thunderstorm 2 weeks ago that destroyed the original high-capacity receiver which we have to temporarily replace with a limited one. This new receiver should be in by next week. While in the mean time if you do face some WIFI problems, our Assistant Manager is able to help by adding a router in your room. We look forward to your return soon. Thank you very much for giving us full points for this assessment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had one stay at this hotel. Very pleased with the services provided from the Front Desk to the Housekeeping staff. Enjoyed the Chinese Restaurant meals in the hotel. Very good hospitality extended to us from the front desk to the housekeeping. Amenities provided were of such good quality - Occitane.

Room Tip: My suite room was facing the greenery and it was very refreshing to sit at the balcony and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. We are happy to note that you were very pleased with the services from the Front Desk , the Housekeeping and the Chinese restaurant. It reflects the success of our Sofitel motto of serving the guests with all our hearts. We are also glad to note that you were happy with our high quality amenities which reflects the Sofitel DNA in luxury. We look forward to your return soon to experience the many other aspects of the hotel such as the 4 other established well-known signature-restaurants within the compound serving very good tasty food, the park around the serene lake in front of the hotel, the large outdoor swimming pool, the spa, the golf course and so on. Thank you and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Superb staff attentiveness and responsiveness. Main restaurant could improve the biffet dinner food quality; breakfast is good. Other restaurant in the property are good; in particular the Japanese and Bistro. Common areas are pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments of your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. It is indeed great to hear from you about our staffs' superb attentiveness and responsiveness. It is truly a success in our efforts to train our staff following the Sofitel motto of Serving our Guests with all our hearts. On your suggestion, we will look into the buffet dinner food quality but it was good to know you mentioned that our Breakfasts is good , together with the Japanese restaurant and the Garden Bistro French/ Italian restaurant. Our resort is very convenient to food connoisiers who are looking for varieties as we have 5 signature restaurants to choose from, and many of our long-stay guests prefer to stay here due to the variety of food choices, besides the 3 mentioned earlier, we also have the Chinese and the reputable Brazilian BBQ restaurant. We look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongGuang
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Quiet place to stay but away from city centre. You need a taxi for your travels. Long walks inside the hotel.

When I was checking out and I was trying to extend it - it did not work - except for a triple rate.

I had my booking from US so I could not extend it due to time difference but for them it was a no no. Triple rate or nothing.

I chose to check out and spend the next 10 nights in another hotel. The reply I got to this was absurd. In their mathematics it is better to kick out the guest and keep the room empty instead of extending one night with the previous rate.

Really left me with a bad taste from this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. The hotel is a Resort which is just 15 minutes away from the city center, so close to the city, and yet it has all the qualities of a resort sitting on top a tree-covered hill facing the lake and a beautiful park surrounding it. We are sorry to hear about the rate dispute at the Front Desk. It is true we do have a special rate structure with certain overseas websites but with conditions of prepayment and inflexible dates guaranty. If flexible dates are requested the rate structure varies depending on the supply and demand of the day/ period. The Front desk staff , perhaps, have applied too firmly on the rate of the day due probably to some past abuses by other parties on the low-rate pricing scale. We definitely should be flexible on your case. Please do not hesitate to call the Assistant Manager or the Front Office Manager who will make a better decision should you have any pricing issues in future. We sincerely look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 23 days in this hotel last week. Room was large, clean and well appointed with amazing details. Good hospitality found in everybody who served us: from door lady to front office, from coffee shop staff to duty manager, swimming pool crew to gym attendants and many more.

Breakfast was served with may choices in sumptuous portions. The swimming pool was big and well maintained. and the view from our room was gorgeous with the pool and the lake in the foreground. All the facilities, services and amenities were enjoyed with excellent value for money.

We are already planning for a comeback over Christmas and probably on a more recurring basis.

Well done Sofitel people!

Charles Fung

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks, Mr Fung , for your comments of your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon.
We are really glad , especially hearing from you that our staff is really living our motto of serving our guests from our hearts , caring and pleasantly surprising them. Truly motivated by your remarks which I will be sharing with them immediately.
Happy to note that you enjoyed our Sofitel breakfasts which is one of our selling points, with the many varied choices especially now with our new De-lite menu, promoting healthy breakfast food with many fresh detox juices available, with a French touch.
The hotel is truly indeed value for money , as not only one gets 2 very large indoor and outdoor swimming pools to one-self, also the lake in front , and the mountain at the back, with a golf course at the sides (10 minutes away), and if you need some "noise" at night, there is also the Bar street in the town centre, just 15 minutes taxi ride from the hotel.
Thank you for your long-stay of 23 days and we look forward to your and your family's return during Christmas where we have aligned some interesting programs for both the hotel guests and the community (a pre-Christmas party for the under-priviledged kids).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon

Address: No.8 Yingbin Road, Dongcheng District, Dongguan 523129, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dongguan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
#6 Business Hotel in Dongguan
#24 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located nearby the Huying Park, and facing a lake on one side, and a wild forest on the other side, it is the ideal place to disconnect from work and worries. The 2 swimming pools, the spa, and the sport facilities are dedicated to well being and relaxation. The complex is also a perfect setting for your events, with its 22 meeting rooms up to 1000 people. ROOMS: 268 rooms, including 10 opera suites, and 21 prestige suites, 3 villas and 1 imperial suite with private fitness centre and meeting room. The bedrooms offer splendid views of the lake, the swimming pool and the garden.F&B: • Cafe Royal: travel around the world with an international buffet and live cooking. • Garden Bistro: taste fine dining cuisine, with French and Italian touches with view on our peacock garden. • BB’s: our Brazilian churrascaria for meat lovers. Terrace facing the swimming pool. • Sugi: enjoy a Japanese fine dining restaurant. Teppanyake, sushi bar and private tatami rooms available. • Fragrant Pavilion: try out the local specialties in our Cantonese restaurant. 3 bars are available: the Mardi Gras Bar, the Lobby Bar,the wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon Hotel Dongguan
Accor Dongguan Royal Lagoon
Dongguan Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.