We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Correct for business trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bafang Boutique Hotel Dongguan Jinkaiyue

Bafang Boutique Hotel Dongguan Jinkaiyue
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bafang Boutique Hotel Dongguan Jinkaiyue to your Saves list
Bafang Boutique Hotel Dongguan Jinkaiyue
No.1 Jiaoyu Road, Liaobu Zhen, Dongguan 523400, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 977 Hotels in Dongguan
Sherbrooke, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Correct for business trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was there for a business trip. I was on the executive floor (8th floor). On this floor, there is the Executive Lounge where you can have free drinks from 5:30PM to 9:30PM! The buffet in the Western Restaurant is very good (and there is free beer!). If you are tired to Chinese food, there is a McDonald just across the street. There is a bus stop just in front of the hotel that goes directly to Luohu (border station to Hong Kong) in 20 minutes. There is a park just behind the hotel. In the park, there is short hiking trails going through the hill to the pagoda on top of the hill. In this pagoda you will have a good view of the area. It is a good place to go early in the morning to see the Chinese making there exercise with music. It is very zen. So this is a great place if your company pays.

Room Tip: Take a room on the executives floor (8th floor) not on street side to have access to Executive Loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    50
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotels reminds me of a property past its heyday. Where big shot communists used to live it up. Now open to public, it is in disrepair Great bones but in poor maintenance. You don't have much choice in this city (very industrial). LOTS of building going on here - this is where your american dollars are. This place is loaded with companies that cater to manufactured products to to Walmart, Kmart, Costco, Brookstone, RadioShack, ConAir, Revel, LED lights, etc. One day soon this city will boom even more!! Infrastructure and roads all being rebuilt and looking good!!. Gladden is presently a poor value even for China. Smells moldy, smokey and needs fresh paint and carpet cleaning. At $80USD/night - it is a rip off, but what other choice do you have? They really try, but still fall short. Wonderful people throughout, but far from meeting even minimum expectations. Other reviews are being generous likely due to true effort by staff.

Room Tip: Not much choice or competition in this very industrial city 2.25 hours out of Hong Kong. As such BI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you want a large room that is reasonably clean for a night or two then this hotel is OK. If you don't like smoking its difficult to get a seat in the restaurant away from the smokers sometimes.

Free Internet is good but sometimes very slow.

Room Tip: If you have kids with you try and avoid the girls on parade by the KTV bar at 7pm-8pm. No English TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed at the GLADDEN FENGGGANG TOWN HOTEL for 10 days during the end of sept 2010. the hotel is about 2 hours from lo wu border crossing. i found the hotel to be very clean with nice rooms. the executive floor while having newspapers and drinks had an odor i disliked and the foods offered were not fresh and not particularly appetizing. .
my room came with free breakfast buffet which was very good daily..
lunch and dinner was also buffet. the food was eatable and good but nothing to rave about. each days buffet were essentially the same.LUNCH AND DINNER WAS BUFFET. plenty of food but nothing to write home about.
there was a walmart store across the street. it was always busy.. very few foreigners around this area and i felt like a celebrity noticing everyone looking at me.. THE STREETS WERE SAFE AND CROWDED.
MOST STORES DONT TAKE CREDIT CARDS.
THERE WAS ONLY 1 PERSON AT THE HOTEL THAT SPOKE AND UNDERSTOOD ENGLISH WELL. I HAD A HARD TIME COMMUNICATING WITH MOST OTHER HOTEL STAFF EXCEPT THE BELHOP, COBE.
THE HOTEL IS LARGE AND HAD ALL THE AMENITIES LIKE AN INDOOR POOL, GYM, KARAOKE AND SEVERAL OTHER RESTAURANTS TO INCLUDE JAPANESE SUSHI AND CANTONESE CHINESE FOOD.
OVERALL I WAS PLEASED.
ONE LAST THING - THERE IS SHUTTLE SERVICE TO AND FRO HONG KONG AIRPORT AT THE HOTEL.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

If, for your sins, you find yourself in Donngguan, this is not a bad place to stay. Very good value for money, about 298 for an executive floor room. Not sure how much better the rooms are than the standard ones, but at least when I was here none of the executive floor stuff was open. Didn't really miss it.

The bed was comfy, the room was big with the requisite offbeat luxury touches like black marble bath, but no way to turn on the shower without either standing in the tub or hiding under the shower head. It's weird.

The 'water not safe to drink before boiling' sign above the sink is disconcerting. I mean, you can spring for black marble but not a water filter? Really?

The Western restaurant was OK for breakfast. Good buffet, hot dogs and tater tots like all Chinese business hotels, but it was clean and the staff was right there to keep people from putting their fingers in things. Good omelette station, but no cheese as expected. No big deal. Good effort.

The Chinese restaurant was outstanding. Dim Sum was good, and the Peking duck was unbelievable. Best thing I ever ate in China, and in my all time top ten anywhere. Had it 3 times in 3 days. I'm not going to bother to describe it, just get it if you're stuck in this place.

'Crystal Sauna' on 3rd floor. The assistant managers will follow you around the lobby, I must have collected 9 or 10 of their business cards. I was actually looking forward to a massage, but after meeting these guys and getting the nudge nudge wink wink crap, I stuck with a local foot massage place.

Stay away from the gift shop unless you really want to buy something. The jackhole who runs it was following me around with his calculator repeating "just looking, just looking" as he's shoving every POS fake thing in his shop in my face. I actually was interested in picking up some little thing for my wife but I couldn't even browse without this idiot up my tuccus. Will someone that speaks Chinese please explain it to this guy?

Bottom line is I'd stay here again no problem. Dongguan is an ugly industrial place, but the Gladden Hotel is a good place to lay your head for not a lot of money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

My office is a couple of blocks away, I stay here all the time. The executive floors are very comfortable. Separate check in on 4th floor for exec rooms. There is an executive lounge where breakfast is included. Big screen TV, very good service in lounge. Rooms are fine - high speed internet access, nice bathrooms. Beds are extremely firm, which I always experience in China. Clean rooms, very attentive staff. 3 restaurants. Gym is quite outdated. Vietnamese restaurant next door is really good.

  • Liked — convenient to office, clean, safe
  • Disliked — not much to do in Liaobu Town
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bafang Boutique Hotel Dongguan Jinkaiyue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bafang Boutique Hotel Dongguan Jinkaiyue

Address: No.1 Jiaoyu Road, Liaobu Zhen, Dongguan 523400, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bafang Boutique Hotel Dongguan Jinkaiyue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladden Hotel Liaobu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bafang Boutique Hotel Dongguan Jinkaiyue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.