We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retains a personable feel lost in many Chinese hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Noble Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Noble Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Noble Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.121 Humen Avenue, Humen Town, Dongguan 523916, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 977 Hotels in Dongguan
lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Retains a personable feel lost in many Chinese hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have stayed in several supposedly "better" hotels in China, but find I keep coming back to the Grand Noble when in Humen. The Sofitel adjacent is "grander" and I've stayed there too.
But here, the staff tend to be more personable, the pool good enough for a daily workout and open early too. Gym OK with free weights and some OK machinery for those that like them.
Food wise, I like the breakfasts, and the dinner buffet can be Ok to good, although it is a bit of a scrum sometimes if you happen to be following competitive eaters around!

There's a nice park around the corner for jogging in, and several interesting restaurants that the hotel desk will gladly point you too if you ask.

Management have always been helpful in extending check out times when required, attended to the occasional glitch in rooms I've had promptly, and stored bags for a few days when doing excursions inland to other areas of China for a few days.

The western bar is a liveley and welcoming spot for Westerners used to the pub culture (probably the thing I miss most when travelling to China).

If you're entertaining business contacts, they do have very good personal dining rooms with good food and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    61
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
3
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I just got back from a 6 day business trip to Humen, and I stayed at the Grand Noble for all 5 nights. I am an experience traveler, and my tastes are relatively refined, but my nose is always looking for good value. The Grand Noble hotel is clean, the bathrooms are nice, breakfast is free (American and Chinese buffet...and it's good), the roof top pool is cool, you can get a 90 minute massage for $30, they have a cool bar called Kansas on the 2nd floor that is popular with locals as well, they have a tasty Chinese restaurant on the 4th floor that I really enjoyed, and the staff is very friendly (shout out to Jeff...who is one of few who speaks really good English. Not many people do in China, FYI). Granted this was the only hotel I saw in Humen, but overall, the experience was really good, and the rates were totally reasonable.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1516, and the room was nice (regular room with a King bed), and the view was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here several times-in the diary for next return !

Lovely fresh "pristine" hotel

Management / staff / facilities /
The backbone if this establishment - :)

As one would expect from a quality hotel

Roof top indoor pool / nice !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed here for many many years now... and this is really a nice place! even though newer hotels are popping up everywhere in China almost daily, and also a new 5-star hotel is right next to this hotel, I still prefer this one.. when you walk in the lobby you feel welcomed! and even though this is not in best shape overall anymore, all is still working properly... the food and restaurants on the hotel could need improvement... they have been trying for years different locations and style, but so far this is lacking! I can recommend another Northern Chinese food restaurant around the corner from the hotel which is excellent.... the food massage on the hotel could lso need improvement... this can be found better outside the hotel.... but again due the overall "cozyness" and how you feel welcome here.. then I can only recommend this nice hotel for your next stay in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I stay here for months at a time, this has the best staff and just feels like a home away from home.

Starbucks coffee in lobby at least one can get a good coffee in the morning.

Food is good for china, they have 3 places to eat and will even bring you a
Cake on your birthday!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This used to be a very good hotel where it was easy for Europeans to communicate. I guess it may have changed hands, because it's so different now. It seems to be focusing on a different customer.

The major changes I could see are:-
1. As a previous reviewer observed, communication is very difficult and frustrating. I couldn't even order a steak in the bar as staff didn't understand when I asked if vegetables are included or how I wanted it cooked. Settled for Pizza which was "average".
2, The food in the Western restaurant is distictly Easternised! Still just about OK.
3. The lobby area used to have seats where you could meet and chat. These have been replaced by a cheap version of Starbucks (cheap bar stools and paper cups) and a massage parlour. This says it all!

I would have stayed for sometime, but checked out after one night.

Very disappointing

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My room was not technically a suite but was very large with a desk for work, a relaxing chair, a substantial TV/dresser/mini-bar, and a large bathroom with separate glass-walled shower and tub. The hotel offers a shuttle to the Canton Fair (China Import & Export Fair) and the hotel sent two English speaking employees on the bus to make sure everyone was well cared for. Upon our return to the bus at the end of the day, we were greeted with refreshments (water, beer, cookies) for the drive back to the hotel. There are at least three restaurants to choose from at the hotel and each has excellent food. For Westerners missing their branded coffee, there is a Starbucks inside the hotel! This hotel is a close, safe walk to at least two shopping malls.

Room Tip: Although I didn't have one, there are large suites available with room numbers that end in 07...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Noble Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Noble Hotel

Address: No.121 Humen Avenue, Humen Town, Dongguan 523916, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
#25 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Noble Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Noble Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Noble Dongguan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Noble Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.