We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel handy to Lanzhou University” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legend Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Legend Hotel to your Saves list
Legend Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.529 Tianshui South Road, Chengguan District, Lanzhou 730000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 386 Hotels in Lanzhou
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel handy to Lanzhou University”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Given the traffic in Lanzhou, if you are doing something at Lanzhou University this is the place to stay. It's a 300 yard walk to the University and the Hotel seems to be in the center of things. It is an older hotel with lots of aging elegance. The restaurant is good and the staff are helpful. Not a lot of English spoken, but the staff generally know enough to be pretty helpful. This is my first time in Lanzhou, but this is a nice spot and I would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    103
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
6
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

It's the best hotel in Lanzhou, which makes sense since the hotel is centrally located and the lobby is spacious and grand. The breakfast area serves pretty good food, but when I was there a few tour groups were staying there too, and they ran out of food the first day. Plus, there were crazy lines to get eggs and noodles. The restaurant manager did come by to apologize, which is always nice.

The rooms are old, but still rather comfortable. Internet was free, which is always a plus (I'm young and I need my internet to function). But the bizarre thing was that I left the room to go sightseeing and when I came back in the evening, someone (I guess the maids?) had taken all my bathroom garbage and tried to flush it down the toilet. Obviously this clogged the toilet and since I got back pretty late and only realized my toilet issue at 11 PM, I didn't think to call housekeeping (in retrospect I should've called). So basically I had to go downstairs to the lobby to use the restroom in the morning.

Overall my experience wasn't too bad. And at least I have something to talk about when sharing quirky experiences in China.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

stayed 1 night and enjoyed that it was clean and comfy - compared to my horrible stay at xilan hotel -

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Our deluxe standard room room with a view was nice. The location was good; next to a bank, across from the post office, and near a department store where we bought items for the train trip to Lhasa. We heard the buffet dinner was good, but after paying, we discovered many empty serving dishes and lots of food mislabeled in English (lost in translation?). After eating a weird dinner, we let the front desk know. We saw a massage ad in the elevator, so we went to the fourth floor. Several eager women greeted us when we stepped from the elevator. Rooms visible down the hall had open doors. Back at the front desk, after a quick retreat, the concierge responded to my husband's inquiry, and directed us to the hotel health club for his massage, telling us they have nothing to do with the business on the fourth floor. En route to the health club, we passed a noodle restaurant where we should have eaten. With few westerners checking in, you won't find CNN or any English TV channels, and if you do, reception is very poor. We had lots of laughs over pretty good cocktails in the lounge overlooking the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located in the city centre, and is generally well equipped and clean. The standard of hotels in China is different from what we might be used to in Europe. The rooms are a good size, with furniture in a good state of repair. The bathroom was ok, but could do with some refurbishment. The shower worked fine though. Atmosphere in the room was very dry, but a humidifier is supplied..use it, it helps.
The restaurant serves a mixture of western and Chinese food, with a buffet breakfast that includes molest made to order. The evening buffet is "ok", but the steaks we had were black on the outside and raw on the inside.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel, but know what to expect.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Overall the hotel is OK.
BUT needs some refurbishment, carpet needs help, toilet was not flushing properly and it is better not to look at details (shower curtains, silicon joints etc.). My room was on 19th floor, windows to the main road, giving a nice view on the crazy traffic, can be noisy from early in the morning.
Lanzhou is very very polluted (at least in February) adding to this the heavy Chinese smokers in the hotel: eyes, throat and lungs are suffering.
Don't expect a nice continental breakfast, you better convert to noodles, rice, meat and soup...
The location is fine, not too far from a nice walk along the yellow river. Avoid shopping malls but go to small markets instead.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

No complaints about this hotel. For China, it is clean, everything is working although the air condition is suspect and very moody! The Chinese breakfast is excellent. The staff in general very helpful although I had problems getting stamps for my postcards. Yes, everything is very dated and the hotel needs a refurbishment but this is China and you are very lucky to get a clean room! Some of the communal areas need a good clean but remember that 4-5 stars in China is really 2-3 stars in the rest of the world. The hotel is perfectly acceptable if you don't set your standards too high.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend Hotel

Address: No.529 Tianshui South Road, Chengguan District, Lanzhou 730000, China
Location: China > Gansu > Lanzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 386 Hotels in Lanzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Legend Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Hotel Lanzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legend Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.