We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised, but 3 spots is a more accurate rating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunshine Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Sunshine Plaza Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.428 Qingyang Road, Chengguan District, Lanzhou 730000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 386 Hotels in Lanzhou
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised, but 3 spots is a more accurate rating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Perhaps I was more fortunate than some of the other reviewers, but after some waiting (more of that later) I did find myself in quite a comfortable room on a non-smoking floor. Unlike some other places that proudly display dubious 'You are in a non-smoking room' reminders (carefully folded slips of card gingerly placed into the ashtray next to a box of matches), this room was free of lingering odours and indications that would suggest smoking was de rigeur. Check-in, however, was a tiresome affair and not at all helped by the fact the rooms were not available - i.e. hadn't yet been cleaned - and 'will a smoking room do?' suggestions from the clearly troubled receptionist (who was clearly more troubled by the short shrift she got in response to such a ludicrous inquiry). There were many other people in a separate party experiencing similar delays - this was after 1pm, so not inordinately early.

Rooms are functional and on the surface appear very pleasant. Scrutinize a little closer, however, and the cracks begin to appear. Tired and worn is the common phrase used, threadbare and falling to bits, to use the vernacular. Nevertheless, the bed was comfy, if a little on the small size (as was the room), and the place was clean and tidy. The carpets really do need replacing, though - use the slippers provided. The bathroom had basic amenities, nothing special, and I didn't notice at first but there was an invitation to refrain from using any of them in return for 'an exclusive fruit plate delivered to your room'. Unfortunately, I was unable to indulge in this culinary delight as I'd already opened the soap, and anyway I still needed to clean my teeth later. There was no tub but the shower was adequate for an overnighter - soap dispensers in situ. TV had a few English channels and movies, internet connection provided, so not so bad. Tea and coffee left much to be desired, though, and so were not used. Very happy that there were no noisy neighbours or obvious disturbances heard from elsewhere in the building.

I did not partake in room service as the hotel is central and within easy walking distance of eateries - avail yourself the use of footbridges as traffic is incredibly busy (my room was at the back). The hotel 'annexe' where the pool and leisure facilities are is actually a few doors down in a cheaper hostlery and didn't look anything like as inviting as the pictures. Breakfast was served in a pleasant room and was surprisingly quite well-presented. However, the choice was a bit limited and to be honest the quality was not great. I'm a crispy bacon person, myself, and was not at all tempted by the 'cooked rare' slices on offer. Coffee was a joke (and you have to get it yourself) - it was like coffee-flavoured water that had then been diluted thrice. Sliced bread needed at least three journeys on the conveyor to get remotely browned and in any event turned out to be quite doughy. Jams were also disappointingly artificial-tasting. The orange juice, however, was most acceptable but they ran out before I could get a second glass. Cereals were crisp and fresh but the rice krispies were inextricably laced with cheerios for some bizarre reason. Altogether, rather disappointing.

Overall, it was good enough for a night and better than I was expecting but could make some serious improvements here and there, especially at breakfast. It did have one of the most odd things I've ever encountered in a hotel - a whole nine page inventory of articles in the room and their replacement costs was housed in the service menu. They had everything on it from the spy-hole in the door to the toilet to the tiles on the bathroom wall! If only they could put as much effort into some of the other areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    119
    29
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
3
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel has 5 stars, but I think 3.5 stars more appropriate. I gave it 4 stars here, because 3 stars wouldn't do justice to it, but I'm being generous here.

Also, since I had a back to back stay with the Jin Jiang Sun hotel in Lanzhou, it is impossible not to make a direct comparison. Although this hotel is better, I don't think the differences are all that big.

The lobby entry is nice and staff overall is very friendly, but it takes a lot more to make an excellent hotel. Now please don't get me wrong, this is a good hotel, but based on their ranking and description I had expected more.

The room was very small, but functional. It was old though and had a strong smoking smell. More on that later. You could open a very small window, but that is not enough to get rid of the smell and had the downside of getting all the noise and fumes from the busy street. Best to leave it closed and put up with the smell. Luckily, the air conditioning was powerful enough to cool the room.

The room did not have Wi-Fi but only a fixed internet connection. It worked fine. There was a water boiler, a mini-bar and a small safe, not big enough for a laptop.

The bathroom was equally small, but had everything you need, including a shower as well as a rain shower. The temperature control was not functioning though. The water would either be too cold or get way too hot no matter how you moved the handle to control the temperature.

The breakfast buffet was included in the room rate, but disappointing. It looked very nice upon entry, but I found it pretty disgusting half of the place was for smokers and there were many smoking. There was a non-smoking section, but it was all in the same open space, so that doesn't help at all of course.

The buffet was again focused on a Chinese audience. The Western food wasn't all that great. There were several cereals and two types of fruit juice. The bread was so so and only suitable for toasting. Most of the bacon had 50-75% fat and was barely fried. The cheese was tasteless. The coffee was way too watery. When I asked for something stronger and more like coffee, I got a friendly "sorry".

Overall, not a bad experience, but based on the 5 stars I had expected much more. I also couldn't believe this is a smoking hotel still and was disappointed at the room, as well as the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urumqi, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

stayed on business march 20th 2012
rooms are clean and well lit and furnished
bed was comfortable
room temperature good, except very noisy fan
shower spray extremely weak, and hot water/cold mix hard to control
breakfast needs a fresh coffee grind machine

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We were on a business trip into Lanzhou recently and stayed at this hotel. The food was quite nice - specially the breakfast. I liked the size of the rooms and the hospitality of the hotel staff. The only problem is that the staff barely speaks English. Apart from that challenge, the hotel is great. It is located very centrally and you can easily get public transport from here to any destination. The airport is quite far away, but that is how it is.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

A very Chinese hotel with some accommodation to Westerners. We were passing through Lanzhou (twice) on our way to Xiahe and this was what the tour company booked. I dare say it is about as good as it gets

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Overall I found they provide me with a poor service. When I check in, they loss my luggage, even so the room are just fine. The buffet selection is simple but the food is discusting, I will not come back the this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
243 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I stayed at the Grand Soluxe on a recent business trip to Lanzhou. My first night, my colleagues and I got absolutely no sleep due to our rooms being way to hot with no way to control the temperature. The heat appeared to be centrally controlled for the whole building and it was set at 28°C. I called reception and was told that the only thing I could do was open the single tiny window, which I did, and it made absolutely no difference, and it was winter, -15°C outside!! After a sweaty, sleepless night on the floor, I told the manager that if they couldn’t provide us climate controlled rooms, we would go elsewhere. To their credit, they upgraded us free of charge to a top floor deluxe room which was a lovely 20°C – just perfect!

Other than that, my experience was pretty good. The location is good, right in the heart of the city, just a short walk to uncountable restaurants and shops all around the hotel. Although located on a busy road, there was little, if any road noise. The streets around the hotel make for interesting and colorful walks, both day and night.

The rooms were a bit on the small side, and hot/stuffy as described above – I would have expected a lot more from a 5-star hotel. However, they were comfortably furnished, bright, spotlessly clean, well-maintained, and with big windows. The rooms come furnished with a huge flat screen TV with English cable/sky channels, and a computer desk with free internet. The bathrooms are nice, if a bit small, and the shower was hot with great volume. The room was quiet and comfortable and I got a good sleep on the second night of my stay. Several of the floors are blissfully non-smoking.

The buffet breakfast, included in the price, was very good. They had a good variety of fresh fruit, cereal, western dishes, and Chinese food. We didn’t eat any other meals in the hotel restaurants. The hotel fitness center was initially somewhat disappointing, but after a few workouts, I realized that it really wasn’t that bad. There was a real hodge-podge of weight lifting gear (in terms of variety and quality), just enough of it to have some decent weight workouts. In addition, there were 3 very good treadmills and a few so-so stat bikes. Not bad overall, but could be a lot better, especially for a 5-star hotel.

The staff were generally helpful and friendly, and the managers spoke good English. They were pretty good about giving us upgraded rooms and were apologetic about the sauna-like conditions of the standard rooms. Check-in and check-out ran fairly smoothly.

Other than the room being uncontrollably hot, it was a comfortable stay. It is likely that if you are staying in the summer time, they will have the heat turned off and the AC on, at least you’d hope so. I wouldn’t recommend the standard rooms (during the winter) due to the problem with the heating, so upgrade to the deluxe executive rooms. I definitely wouldn’t stay here again unless I had one of the cooler rooms.

Likes – breakfast, friendly management
Dislikes – hot, stuffy, small rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Plaza Hotel

Address: No.428 Qingyang Road, Chengguan District, Lanzhou 730000, China
Location: China > Gansu > Lanzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 386 Hotels in Lanzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunshine Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunshine Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.