We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xianglu Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Xianglu Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Xianglu Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Changhao Road, Huli District, Xiamen 361006, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 1,102 Hotels in Xiamen
Kl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is super big. Food wise is good, especially the hot soya bean drink in the morning. However, since it is very near to the airport, the noise from the plane is disturbing, especially at night. Average room and standard service.

Room Tip: Go for 20th or 21th since the shower facility is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    266
    51
    8
    5
See reviews for
6
4
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This huge hotel is frequently used for very large conferences so you may find you can't get an elevator or the main restaurant is closed to other guests when a conference is on. The rooms are big and clean and the beds comfortable. Don't expect the staff to open the door, say "Hello", or even ask you what you'd like to drink at breakfast because they certainly haven't been trained in customer care. Perhaps the most disappointing aspect of this hotel however is it's extraordinary dullness. The rooms are a dull beige and all seem to feature the same 3 pictures (I've sadly stayed a few times because its handy for a customer) The lobby is unfocused and dull and the breakfast is, well dull.

Room Tip: Check with the airport which direction the planes are landing in ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Officially, this hotel has 1525 rooms and, the weekend we stayed in it, it was packed to bursting. It claims to be a five-star hotel but really that's only because the management have cynically done just enough to get the right boxes ticked. Staying there is rather stressful - for starters it's very easy to lose track of where your room is, such is the scale of the place, and the staff haven't really understood the concept of customer service.
Breakfast is comically frenzied - quite simply, there were too many guests chasing too little food. Everytime a waiter put down a tray of something edible, about one-hundred people would descend on it! Whoever thought it was a clever idea to have one enormous eating hall instead of multiple, smaller earing areas, really needs to have a re-think. The room was okay but even though we were assured it was a designated non-smoking one, it was clear that the previous occupants had been heavy smokers.
My advice would be to go for a smaller hotel unless you are super-gregarious and relish a fight for a croissant at breakfast.

Room Tip: Treble-check that your room is really a non-smoking one, if you don't smoke. Consider getting br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We only stayed for 1 nite in this hotel, as it was just stop over, our flight arrive quite late, therefore our tour guide had pre-checked in for us at 8 pm and our arrival to hotel is 12 midnite. We booked a room with an additional bed ,but by the time we check in to the room at 12 midnite, the additional bed was not set up yet. I called up to check they told me cos too many rooms request for additional bed, therefore I need to wait. But that is already 4 hours ago, they notice of the additional bed setting. After half an hour with few calls to chase them, i gave up, i told them or they just give me a blanket, i will just sleep on the sofa. After 15 mins they send me a blanket (the staff can walk over to send blanket but not an additional bed). They gave me the comforter plus a cover which i need to sort it myself. As a 5 star rating hotel, that should not be the service. Dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Nice rooms and breakfast in executive lounge was good , service in general was acceptable, but because it is such a big hotel there is no personal attention, room service food is served on plastic plates and glasses-McDonalds style!! Won’t stay their again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is by far the biggest hotel in xiamen with 1500 rooms. The lobby is huge & decorated with lots of plastic plants. The location is a bit off from tourist attractions like Gu Lang Yu island etc... The attendants are quite untrained, they don't speak english and don't have a translator to help foreign tourists who cannot speak mandarin. Buffet at Yum Yum Cha is not bad, but not excellent too. The waiters just stand on the corner chatting and do not care to clean up used plates on our tables; we have to call the waiters to clean up the plates on our table.

This hotel has a lot of potential if it were only built on a good location.e Also, some guests are unruly and keeps on smoking inside the hotel premises, I hope these guests would be more considerate with their actions.

Room Tip: For non smokers: try to ask the attendant to give you a room that's free of smoke smell. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

It is a one of the biggest hotels in China - 1500 rooms, square-shaped, with huge openspace (more like a ballroom) in the centre - it looks quite impressive. Biggest problem of this hotel is a smoking policy - almost all hotel rooms and public spaces are smoking, 8 out of 9 floors are smoking floors and non-smoking floor is always booked. The staff is speaking very basic english, in most of the cases - not really understanding your complains and requests. Room was clean and spacious, with big LCD TV and bathroom. Quiet room - walls were thick enough, A/C - quiet and efficient. Breakfast was average but OK, just very crowded, poor coffee.

Room Tip: If you are not smoking - try to reserve a non-smoking room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xianglu Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xianglu Grand Hotel

Address: No.18 Changhao Road, Huli District, Xiamen 361006, China
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,102 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xianglu Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xiamen's Xianglu Grand Hotel is located in the city's Huli District.This Xiamen hotel features guestrooms and suites equipped with fridges, safes, satellite TVs, IDD phones and Internet access.This hotel offers extensive conference and event facilities including two ballrooms which can accomodate up to 950 people and 26 function rooms equipped with audio-visual and lighting equipment as well as simultaneous interpreting facilities.In-house dining options include Chinese, Japanese and Taiwanese fare, while there's also a lounge bar and coffee house.Leisure facilities include a swimming pool, spa, sauna, massage and a chess room. On-site parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Xianglu Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xianglu Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.