We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and will definitely stay here again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pan Pacific Xiamen

Save Saved
You added Pan Pacific Xiamen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pan Pacific Xiamen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.19 Hubin North Road, Xiamen 361012, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 1,047 hotels in Xiamen
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value and will definitely stay here again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

I stayed at the Pan Pacific Xiamen for 2 nights. On our arrival at the airport, our pre-arranged hotel transfer service was there waiting for us. Front desk and the concierge were very friendly and professional. Overall, we had a very good experience at this hotel. The rooms were very clean and new. They had put us on one of the high floors - it was very quiet and peaceful. The location of this hotel is very good with food places and attractions nearby.
The only gripe I have is that the pillows were too soft. I would ask for firmer pillows if I have the opportunity to go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Rooms at Pan Pacific Xiamen, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Pan Pacific Xiamen!

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest during your last visit to Xiamen. We are pleased to know you had a memorable experience with us. We would appreciate if you can share with us your personal details of your previous reservation at gro.ppxmn@panpacific.com, so we are able to include your pillow preferences in your profile for your future stays.

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience by writing a review on this website. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Pan Pacific Xiamen again very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Chooi Li LOO
Director of Rooms
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    179
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
19
25
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I stayed at this hotel Nov. 18 - 20th, 2010, and I am simply impressed. I'd suggest upgrading to their Executive Floor rooms. Compared to most of the hotels I have stayed world-wide, I must say I am especially impressed for the following reasons:

- Staff members are highly professional and always willing to help
- All staff members understand and speak English fluently
- Two types of bath robes available in the room
- Good location with easy transportation options
- The food hear is simply amazing! Try their lunch buffet in their western restaurant, and their Chinese restaurant on the 6th floor. You won't regret it...
- Property is new, modern design, extremely comfortable rooms

Ask the hotel concierge to make an appointment at a local massage place right beside the hotel -- for approximately US$10-15, you'll get a super professional 110 minutes massage.

Given the especially low standards of hotels in China in general, this hotel has stood out as one of the best I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Rooms at Pan Pacific Xiamen, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Pan Pacific Xiamen! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest during your last visit.

Thank you for taking time to share your positive comments on Tripadvisor. It is always an honour to receive accolades related to the quality of service. It is also rewarding to know that our efforts to provide exceptional experiences are appreciated.
It is through continuous feedback and encouragement from guests such as you that we are able to objectively review the facilities and services to ensure that they meet our guests’ expectations as well as our own standards of excellence.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Pan Pacific Xiamen soon.

Warmest Regards,
Chooi Li LOO
Director of Rooms
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

This hotel has got everything right: rooms, staff, food & drinks: all very good!

Room: I am still not sure whether we were upgraded, but our room on the 17th floor was very large, I estimate at least a 40m². We booked a standard room with extra bed, for which there were several possible locations in the room, which says enough, especially when considering that there was also a sofa in the room and still ample space to walk around. The room was modern with a large bathroom with seperate shower. It was all very clean, with the exception of a stain in the carpet - but since that seemed to have been cleaned so thouroughly it seemed just an esthetical issue, not dirty.

Service: plenty of staff everywhere, available to assist when needed, but not overdoing the service in a pestering way. Very good.

Food & drinks: Good bar, and breakfast was also very complete and of a high quality. We would have liked to try out the dinner buffet, but since most of the buffet restaurant had been reserved for a Chinese wedding party (busy, noisy screaming and not a nice environment for a relaxed dinner) we unfortunately had to decide against that. Staff did however offer an alternative (we could have dinner in the Executive Salon, with the food to be brought up), but that did not seem a practical solution for a buffet!?!

Location: just outside the main city centre on a busy road, but plenty of taxis available if you do not want to walk.

Higly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai&NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

This is a lovely hotel in a very good location. We reserved two club rooms for three nights. Check-in was in the club lounge and was quite efficient. The rooms are spacious and well designed. There is no view to speak of. The bathrooms are very large, all marble, and have a large tub as well as separate shower stall. There was only one towel bar, which prevented us from hanging up our towels for a second use. The service was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was in the club lounge, the usual buffet. A bonus was a short menu of cooked-to-order items including eggs, pancakes and congee. We were warmly greeted by name each morning. Cocktail hour service and hors d'oeuvres were good as well as generous. Wines were of good quality. Free internet in the rooms.

The pool is outside on the third floor by the restaurant and the exercise room. It is smallish and older, but attractive. Oddly, bathing caps are required, they will lend you one if you do not have one. There were no towels available at the pool, when I asked for towels I was told "You can go back to your room and get some." Surely this must have been a mistake by an under-trained employee. In all of my years in Asia I have never been to a five star hotel with no towels at the pool. Fortunately, we had all worn the terry robes from our rooms and were able to use these. Otherwise, I think I would have put up a fuss about this. I hope that management will correct this situation. I should have pointed it out to them.

We ate a few times in the casual restaurant on the third floor. The food was really quite good and very reasonably priced. My caesar salad was excellent. There was a seafood buffet which looked good and was very popular but we did not get a chance to try it.

I would definitely return to this hotel if I ever went back to Xiamen. It seems to be the best in town and is an excellent value. The staff seems proud of the hotel and is are willing to go to great lengths to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Rooms at Pan Pacific Xiamen, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Pan Pacific Xiamen!

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest during your last visit to Xiamen. We are pleased to know you had a great stay, as our vision is to create memorable hotel experiences for our guests.

We trust that you had a safe and pleasant trip home and wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience by writing a review on this website. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Pan Pacific Xiamen again very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Chooi Li LOO
Director of Rooms
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Everything is 5 stars about this hotel from checking in, to the rooms, to the service all was excellent. The only thing I wasn't happy with was the staff at the entrance. They were either non existent or if they were there they were not very pleasant. All in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppxmn, Director of Rooms Operations at Pan Pacific Xiamen, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
Dear Sir

Warm greetings from Pan Pacific Xiamen!

Many thanks for your recent stay. We trust you had a safe onward journey. We appreciate that you have also taken the time to write a review of our hotel here online at TripAdvisor.

Thank you for recognizing that a stay at Pan Pacific Xiamen is good value. Our Director of Sales with her team work hard to create the best value possible hotel stay packages to suit the range of travellers who choose us for their accommodation in Xiamen. She was delighted to read your endorsement!

We aim to create a memorable hotel experience for all our guests. We are glad your check in was friendly and efficient, are pleased you enjoyed your guest room and overall had a five star stay experience.

You have made a very good point about how we staff the entrance of the hotel and it is clear there are some improvements needed to meet the high standards you may expect from our facilities and service.

We ask that you please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and that you please know that the operations in this area will be reviewed to see what improvements can be made. As the hotel department head in charge of this area, please be assured of my personal involvement to address the situation.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Pan Pacific Xiamen very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Director of Rooms Operations
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Hotel quality is good. Definitely the location is not the best for sightseeing as you need a taxi to access to the downtown.
Swimming pool is nice and beds are excellent.
Don't be late for breakfast, at 10:30 everything will be removed.
Service is average.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppxmn, Director of Rooms Operations at Pan Pacific Xiamen, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
Dear Sir

Warm greetings from Pan pacific Xiamen!

Thank you for your recent stay with us, we appreciate that you have also taken the time to post a review of our hotel here online at TripAdvisor.

We are so glad to read that you enjoyed our swimming pool area. Being on the third floor with access to our all day dining restaurant makes this space unique it the city. It certainly makes for a great little escape!

We are fortunate to receive may compliments about the high quality of our beds and bedding. Thank you too for your endorsement.

It would appear from your comments here that you have arrived for breakfast towards the end of the meal period when we begin to remove the breakfast items and set up for our popular lunch buffet. Our Director of Restaurants, Bars and Events has been informed of your experience for his review of operations to see how we can better manage the transition period.

While we regret your experience and wish to apologize for the inconvenience, we also thank you for your comments. It is only through continuous feedback from our guests that we are able to objectively review our facilities and service.

We trust that you had a good onward journey and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Pan Pacific Xiamen very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Director of Rooms Operations
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

I had a great stay in Pan Pacific. Tidy and Modern room with a lovely bed. Theres not much selection for Breakfast but tastes delicious.
The most impressive thing is about the concierge staff. We had joined the local tour on our own to Hakka Tulou and there should be a coach picked us up at 8am but it was late and didn’t show up. The conceirge staff keep helping me to check with the tour agency and see what was happened and even I didn’t ask for it. ( and finally the coach arrive around 830pm, 30mins LATE... )

Really impressive :)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppxmn, Director of Rooms Operations at Pan Pacific Xiamen, responded to this review, May 1, 2010
Dear Guest

May holiday greetings from Pan Pacific Xiamen!

We are so pleased to know you had a “great stay” with us. In everything we do here at the hotel, our vision is to create memorable hotel experiences for our guests. When we receive such positive feedback we know we are on the right track. We wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience by writing a review on this website.

I wish that you could have been in our hotel operations meeting to observe the face of our Assistant Chief Concierge, Mr John Nian, when your review was read out aloud to the team. He was beaming with pride and latter took your words of praise to his team to encourage and motivate them to keep trying their best.

As the proud recipient of the Chinese ‘Les Clefs d’Or’ golden keys, John wears two sets of crossed golden keys on the lapels of his uniform to represent his commitment to personalized care. He is a great role model for our team, and for your recognition of our Concierge here in this review, we are most grateful.

We are pleased you enjoyed your room. Did you know? In our hotel we actually have over twenty different types of rooms! The many different configurations of bedrooms and bathrooms, different colour schemes, all with tasteful East meets West decorations are one of the reasons visitors returning to Xiamen like to stay with us.

We hope you may have the chance to try a different room type on your next visit to beautiful Xiamen. We also receive a lot of complimentary comments about our beds and bedding. We are happy you liked it too!

We trust you and your partner have enjoyed a safe onward journey and a happy May holiday weekend. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Pan Pacific Xiamen again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Director of Rooms Operations
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pan Pacific Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Xiamen

Address: No.19 Hubin North Road, Xiamen 361012, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#2 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#42 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Xiamen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover 387 contemporary rooms and suites within the 29-storey hotel in the heart of the Xiamen’s financial district, the hotel is only 20 minutes away from Gaoqi International Airport and within walking distance to the business district. Sightseeing attractions including the picturesque Yundang Lake, Gulang Yu Island and the historic Nanputuo Temple are all within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your Pan Pacific Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Xiamen Hotel Xiamen
Xiamen Pan Pacific
Sofitel Xiamen
Xiamen Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan Pacific Xiamen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.