We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Great Food & Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacky Angela Steakhouse

Jacky Angela Steakhouse
0102 Donggang Lu, Xiamen 361012, China
+86 592 601 6038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,413 Restaurants in Xiamen
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Wine Bar, Fish & Chips
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Xiamen, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Food & Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We are frequent customers, so you would expect us to like the place but this is because it IS good and it IS consistent and this IS very rare in Xiamen. All too often, restaurants vary greatly as the staff and the chef change and quality is not maintained, new staff are not trained or supervised properly, and so on. This has not been our experience at this restaurant. On the contrary the management pays great attention not only to their customers but also to how their customers are being served. Long may this continue!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Xiamen, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The food and the service was magnificent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I went there with my wife and 3 year old on Christmas evening. There was a special Christmas set meal which offered either a T-bone steak or Salmon as the entree. We chose both and they were both fantastic. The meal came with a salad, Virginia ham, a variety of vegetables, a bottle of great wine and dessert. Too much to eat and we took half of it home. That night I fell asleep contemplating exactly in what order I would finish them the next day. Really, from the bread to the dessert this was absolutely a winner and the service was magnificent.
Thinking of it, I want to go now but it is 9:30 in the morning and they aren't yet open.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must visit steakhouse in Xiamen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you are looking for a fabulous New York steak experience in Xiamen you need to try Jacky Angela for steak that melts in your mouth and a caesar salad like no other in China. With a fabulous selection of wine to compliment your steak or seafood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishinomiya, Japan
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good steakhouses in China”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Good steak done properly. We ordered the NY steak set. We asked it for it be medium rare, it came exactly the way it was supposed to be. This is a first for me in China. Kudos to the chef. The steak was aged properly, another first for me in China.

They did add a lot of butter on top of the steak to finish it off.

It is a good American steakhouse feel.

The staff speaks very good English.

Is this the best steak ever? No!
Is this up to American steakhouse standards? (ie Ruth Chris, Mortons) - No!

What you get is an honest steak, properly aged, thick cut and it is not a pre-frozen rubber puck that other Chinese steakhouses serve.

Please note that taxi drivers drive to the second floor of the Cruise Boat Terminal then you need to walk down the car ramp to find the restaurant. Make sure they take you to the first floor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“WoW !!! What a Great Meal...Great Experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Celebrated a close friend's birthday by going as an invited guest to J/A steakhouse on Nov. 23rd. We were a table of 6 attending on a Saturday evening. Our host for the evening ensured everything went perfectly.... even offered us a tour of the kitchen. :) Two of us were foodies - so could not pass the chance to tour a real NY style kitchen located 1/2 a world away. Everyone enjoyed their meals and each item was cooked to perfection. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Food quality was absolutely delivered as ordered. Even down to the anchovy fillets served on the side of the Caesar salad, as requested. Some interesting wines were offered ( not on the list ) We selected / consumed 2 bottles of a premium Beringer label
( hard to find in X/M ) priced very reasonably. I can easily see a "cult following" soon developing for this establishment, since they go that extra little bit farther than the others. Service, presentation, cook temperatures for premium aged beef, side dishes .... all served seamlessly. Even the two locals not normally premium beef eaters, remarked how much they enjoyed the experience. I usually eat Asian when working in Xiamen. This J/A steakhouse is one of the few outstanding exceptions. IMO ...Its right up there with the recognized tops of the industry like Luger's and Ruth's Chris.... only at realistic and affordable prices. This reviewer will definately return :) Thanks Guys... for a memorable evening !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacky Angela Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Jacky Angela Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacky Angela Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.