We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, tidy place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Xiamen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Xiamen to your Saves list
Marco Polo Xiamen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Jianye Road, Hubin North, Xiamen 361012, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 1,102 Hotels in Xiamen
4.0 of 5 stars 312 Reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good, tidy place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Overall the Marco Polo was quite nice with nice comfortable furnishings. My main issue though -

(1) I thought it was expensive given other hotels I have stayed in for the same price
(2) We purchased something from the "official" Louis Vitton shop on the ground level, only to find out later that the product was a fake.

The highlight was definitely the food. The lobby food was good, but the Japanese "Shogun" restaurant was just out of this world....

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi Justin !

We are glad you have thoroughly had a wonderful stay with us and well noted on your comments.

We have notified the Louis Vuitton outlet manager and she is equally anxious to find out further information from you. A request for information has also been forwarded to you for our investigation. The Louis Vuitton and all other luxury brand outlets in Marco Polo Xiamen are all official premises and we do not allow any conterfeit product at all.

We hope to be able to assist you further in clarifying the issue soon.

Thank you & best regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    178
    29
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
6
27
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Overall this hotel is great, however if you were looking to exchange currency especially with Australian don't do it! !

Australian currency was higher than the US dollars but got less value. $AUD 100 = $RMB 591 and $USD 100 = $RMB 610 but $AUD 100 = $USD 104.

So it was a disadvantage and also inconvenient compared to other 5 stars hotel around the area.

As a 5 stars hotel, really expect you to understand current market and well advise! !

Would stay here again but wouldn't do any foreign currency transaction though ! !

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi !

It's nice to hear that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and would be coming back again despite the exchange rate disadvantage. Our foreign currency exchange service is registered and governed by the State Administration of Foreign Exchange (SAFE) in China where the daily exchange rate is updated by the appointed financial institution directly. As such, we are not authorized to do any adjustment of the rate but to abide by the rates given.

We trust this teething issue will not mar your impression of Xiamen and definitely looking forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Thank you and warmest regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

6th times stays in Marco Polo Xiamen, felt excellent like back home again. Due to tight trip schedule this time, I just used hotel room for one over night sleep in Xiamen. When I was back hotel room from a very late meeting with customer, so surprise that receiving a compliment message on paper from front-desk staff who I know-well since they could not say hello to me during day time. I felt to be treated as a member of family in Xiamen. That night, I had an excellent sleep by putting the message under my pillow. I am looking forward back Marco Polo Xiamen in my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi JT !

It was definitely a great pleasure of having you back with us again and again :)

The little note is just a small gesture of our colleague and very glad you are delighted with it. Looking forward to welcoming you back here again and enjoy the warm hospitality of Marco Polo Xiamen !

Thank you very much and warmest regards.

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have been staying at the Marco Polo in Xiamen for many years and always enjoy this hotel. It is consistently clean and well run, with nice rooms and good service. Not fancy, but a good value. Internet has always worked well for me. Location next to the lake provides a great place to go for a long run in the mornings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi Kent !

Many thanks and our gratitudes to you for your continuous supports towards Marco Polo Xiamen. We are excited you had another great experience with us and are most happy to welcome you back here again soon.

We will continue to uphold our service standards to delight you and all our other guests, as well as to provide a unique lifestyle for our guests in Marco Polo Xiamen.

Warmest regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed at this hotel for all my visits to Xiamen in the span of four years. The room was spacious. So was the bahroom. The design is simple, modern and clean. They served variety of breakfast selection. Im a muslim which mean i have to be selective in my food intake. The chef and staff were very helpful in explaining the food ingredients to me.

Last time i was there, the wifi connection was not very good. I had to plug the LAN cable at the desk to use the internet. I hope they have improve this.

The hotel is situated next to a very serene lake which you can take a stroll in the evening and at night. There are a lot of cafes along the lake that serve coffee and pastries. There is also one seafood restaurant nearby with reasonable price. But if you are looking for more variety of local foods i think you have to take a taxi downtown.

Just something to keep in mind, apart from the staff at front desk, other staff might not be able to communicate in english very well. In my case, i tried to ask the room service to send an iron to my room but they could not understand my request. It is best to ask for any special request when you are at the front desk.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi Raimi !

Many thanks for your continuous supports for the past years ! We are very happy to always have you here with us and would like to share some exciting news with you.

After working closely with our ISP, our Wi-Fi system was finally upgraded recently to provide a more extensive coverage and connection stability. We are now also providing a steam iron and iron board in all our guest rooms after listening to the needs of our guests. On-going English classes have also been organized to further enhance the English proficiency among our team members.

Understanding the various culture and belief of our guests, we will always do our very best to accommodate their needs where their daily diet is concerned.

Hopefully you will be more delighted on your next visit here with us !

Warmest regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago and enjoyed it. So back in Xiamen again, I choose to stay here again.
We were not disappointed. This hotel actually has some atmosphere, iit even exudes a kind of effortless style missing from most swankey yet characterless Chinese hotels.
Xiamen is a lovely city which helps and the hotel lounge its actually a great place to chill.
Lovely big bedroom
Massive and comfortable bed
With an actual working thermostat
Really very good breakfast
We had a great meal in the Shogan hotel restaurant
All in all a good place to stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi !

We are equally excited to hear of your enjoyment while being with us again. Your encouragement has given us further boost to keep the excitement to delight our guests all the time.

Hopefully you may visit us again very soon.... to experience the lifestyle of elegance, only at Marco Polo Xiamen !

Warmest regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Modern and spacious room, stylish furniture and very comfortable bed. The bathroom does not match the room (it is high time to make some renowation). Great breakfast, wilde range of different styles of foods. Located near nice restaurants (Chiese, Taiwanese, Japanese). If you cross the street, you will find yourself in a very nice park (perfect place to take a moring or an evening walk). If you use the rear door, you will enter the Starbucks Coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi !

We are equally delighted to hear of your wonderful experience in Marco Polo Xiamen. The strategic location has also been the focus point among the locals as it creates a lifestyle with great elegance.

We are definitely looking forward to seeing you back here soon.

Warmest regards.

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Xiamen

Address: No.8 Jianye Road, Hubin North, Xiamen 361012, China
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#8 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#54 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Xiamen 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Xiamen uniquely blends the grace of ancient China with today's modernity. It is the best address for a business traveller- a home away from home with legendary hospitality and personalised service. With its 300 exquisitely designed rooms and suites, Marco Polo Xiamen enjoys the scenic lake view with the convenience of a city location- 15 minutes drive by car from the international airport. The hotel provides complimentary bus service to and from the airport and also limousine service. The rooms at Marco Polo Xiamen are designed for comfort and privacy for the discerning business travellers. The business and leisure facilities offered in Marco Polo are unparalleled in Xiamen - the Continental Club Floor offers a fully-equipped private Club Lounge with panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marco Polo Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Xiamen Hotel Xiamen
Marco Polo Hotel Xiamen
Xiamen Marco Polo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Xiamen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.