We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Deluxe Suite and Full Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Xiamen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Xiamen to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Xiamen
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.98 Hubin Middle Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361004, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 1,102 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
LAX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Grand Deluxe Suite and Full Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Initially, I had a little trouble with my reservation and I was a little apprehensive about my choice. Luckily, Jeffery the front desk manager took care of everything upon arrival and things only got better.

This was my first trip to China so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I booked the hotel car upon arrival and everything was smooth. Since not knowing what to expect, I wanted someone to greet us. Upon arrival to the hotel, we were briskly ushered to the executive level for check-in. This was nice since the lobby check-in always looks rather crowded.

The hotel lobby is large…..it is an expansive and impressive scene. The executive floor is on the 22nd level and has nice views of the river. The executive lounge itself is very nice also. I like how the lounge is separated into one large section and a more intimate smaller room. I am a huge fan of the Mandarin Oriental including their service and décor. I think the Xiamen Kempinski was every bit the quality of the Mandarin.

My stay was about 24 nights. During this time, I got to know a lot of the staff personally. In my experience, I have never met a more delightful and engaged staff. Their English was hit or miss, but their attitude was top-notch. Normally, my experience with Chinese is Singapore or Indonesia…..and we all know how rude and unfriendly Singaporean Chinese are (sorry, Singapore but you know it is true).

Upon arrival, I was properly upgraded with my GHA membership. Obviously, this benefit is as-available but I did later learn that the hotel takes this benefit seriously and makes every effort at providing the upgrade. The GHA member card is a very fair and valuable program. As a black member now, I am more likely to stay in a GHA hotel versus my Ritz-Carlton Gold (1 room upgrade) benefit.

The rooms themselves are very tastefully designed and I luckily visited every room type including the Presidential Suite. The standard room itself is very nice. Each floor has three suites in two different floor plans. I liked both suite floor plans – each having a few advantages over the other. The Diplomatic suite was rather large and had a nice bar. The Presidential Suite was not really complete with all items since rarely rented…..but I didn’t like it much….seemed like a KTV den.

My room was a Grand Deluxe Suite on floor 17. With all suites are club benefits. Either you value this benefit a lot or possibly not…I am the type that loves the quiet atmosphere. I don’t drink but I think the alcohol selection was larger than a few other clubs I’ve visited in the past. The daily food selection was also nice. I talked to the Executive Chef Markus on several occasions. My compliments were as follows: I loved the dripping breakfast honeycombs, the juice glass bottles, and the cinnamon loaf. I also thought the alfredo sauce with the penn was heavenly…..it was rich. Markcus previously arrived from the Shangri-La in Surabaya and the Indonesian Shangri-La is known for its immense and incredible breakfast. This was 85% as good. The food needs to be labeled would be my only gripe.

The suite room itself was tastefully done in a mixture of complimentary fabrics and colors. The little mini-bar is nice…..the ambient lighting is nice in the room when set to an evening setting. The automatic curtains is a nice touch. I think the curtains could use a little more coverage from the outside – as I like to sleep late and like total darkness. The bathroom had a small TV above the tub. It would have been nice if I could have figured how to work it. So it was a TV or a one-way mirror for the Chinese government to spy – I really don’t know. The suite has two bathrooms. The bed itself is very comfortable and the Duvet is very soft. I also visited my employees room which was a Deluxe and it was basically the same thing only smaller. I think you can’t go wrong in whatever room you choose.

I visited the gym daily. It was nice…..and as expected of any 5-star. I did stop by the salon as I was leaving the gym one evening. It is inside the hotel. This was a major mistake. I didn’t ask the price…..and 30 minutes later I was signing a bill for 680rmb ($108). I was shocked. I’d never paid over $40-45 in America and this con-artist was charging me $108. I was mad. Avoid this trap…and keep running.

The hotel’s location is super. It’s rather centrally located – but all the major 5-stars seem to be within eye distance. The taxi system needs a little work and is not the fault of the hotel. For such a nice city, they shouldn’t allow this behavior. One of the quirks is from like 4-6:30pm, the driver will drop you within eye distance of your destination. If they see where you want to go, you might get a stop and a pay now.

Ultimately, the big plus was the attitude and friendliness of the staff. I have to say this was my first trip to China so I can’t give you any reference to other Chinese cities. I can just say I that the management of the Xiamen Kempinski has got an excellent HR department. I own my own company and know how important employees are to any operation.

I know there are several 5-stars to stay within Xiamen now. I am sure each have their plus and minus…..but there will not be another hotel for me. If you think I am being too easy on them read my review on the Jakarta Kempinski for a 1-star review. I’m not an easy person….but the Kempinski Xiamen deserves its praise and success.

Note – I want to say the Kempinski Xiamen forwarded my diet coke mini-bar request to the Kempinski Jakarta. When I opened my mini-bar in Jakarta, it was full of diet coke. My only displeasure with Kempinski was later discovering the benefits of the club mini-bar are different at each hotel. The hotel chain needs to standardize rules across the chain – or make it clear. Plus, I hate those charge immediately mini-bars that have sensors under the drink floor. To me it is cheap. Plus, the décor of the Jakarta hotel is cheap….ugghh, I can’t stop complaining about that visit. What was up with those lobby iron cheap junk chairs? I saw some businessman sitting in them in Jakarta and thought what a fool he looks like…I would be embarrassed to meet any client sitting in that chair. The high-back wing sofas in Xiamen are incredible. They are scattered around the lobbies and they were impressive!

Room Tip: Deluxe and Grand Deluxe and basically same - just Grand is higher. Executive is same - only higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny P, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Xiamen, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us at Kempinski Hotel Xiamen and we truly appreciate your valued and constructive comments which are very much appreciated.

It is our great hornor that you have a memorable experience during your stay with us.

Once again we thank you for choosing Kempinski Hotel Xiamen during your first visit to China and for your valued comments. We sincerely trust you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to Kempinski Hotel Xiamen.


Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is definately a 5 star hotel. Very nice, but about a 40 minute cab ride from anything. Excellent breakfast buffet and beautiful site. We were part of a Sinorama tour and stayed 2 nights. Area being developed and in 5 years there will be a lot around hotel to see/do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Quite a striking addition to the Xiamen skyline . This hotel has only been open for 6 months and have to say they have some of the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever encountered . All of the rooms vary in size so don't be scared to ask for one of the larger rooms . On my second stay the room was double the size of the first one . Great German bar on the ground floor with a great micro brewery and excellent beer . You can sup on a one litre glass whilst enjoying the filipino band . Lovely executive lounge on the 22nd floor , with fantastic staff and good selection of food and drink . 25m swimming pool on the 5th floor ( would be nice if the local men didn't spit in it though!) . Respectable gym with good selection of equipment . All in all a great experience , Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is the kind of check-in nightmare that you like others to avoid. I prepaid a booking with breakfast. I brought a printed copy of the reservation. The hotel, at first, tried to register me at a higher rate, minus breakfast that I paid for, and then apologized and excluded the breakfast I prepaid. Further, they placed a RMB4000. deposit for possible "room wear and tear" on my credit card. This is not uncommon in tourist hotels in China for local market, but I have never encountered this in a luxury hotel, let alone without advice on the reservation, as a pre condition on a prepayment. Bizarre.
Food in the cafe is fair. Rooms are quite nice. Hotel decor is grandiose. Oversize lobby, oversize public halls, without rhyme, reason, or taste. Beautiful Health Fitness center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I picked this hotel since I have never stayed at a Kempinski before, and the Kempinski Xiamen is quite new - just opened in May. I like trying brand new hotel as well.
I'd have to say the room size is rather small in China' standard. Since there are three of us, staying in the deluxe twin room and adding an extra bed would mean no space to walk at all. We did get a free upgrade so we were happy with the space after the upgrade. There's free wifi in the hotel. It's very convenient. Most items in the mini bar are free.

There's also a bottle of juice, a bottle of canies, and a plate of food upon arrival. However, these items were not labelled. Whwn we asked the front desk, she checked and said that it was orange juice. We had a hard time making her believe that our bottle of juice was not orange in colour. We were apprehensive to drink it since we didn't know if it was fresh (it was just sitting on the coffee table). Thw fruit plate just had 2 small plums on it, much like leftover from the last guest. Again, the front desk girl insisted that that was the standard of what you get. I finally asked them to check it out while we went out for dinner and when we came back, some we had a new plate of fruit with more varieties which looked fresher.

The food service at the lounge was also disappointing. My Earl Grey tea was served with the tea bag in a cup of hot water, and the ingredients in the panini were just not as described.

These are all the small things that either make you feel pampered or bothered. Of course, when you add up all the small things, they just add to the unnecessary stress you are trying to avoid when on holidays.



for 2 nights from Sept. 22 to 24.

I am writing to especially command the very caring service we recieved by your staff, Ms Bella Liu, during check-in upon arrival. We were concerned about the size of the room, and she took time to show us to a few room types. Your Chief Concierge, Mr. Scott Su, was also friendly and helpful in recommending places around the hotel area, and giving directions to our driver.

While the service of these 2 staff, especially Bella, was exceptional, I would also like you to know we had an unpleasant experience at the lounge. The Earl Grey tea was served in a cup with the tea bag in. As this was not the proper way to prepare tea, there was no flavour to it. The panini that I ordered also turned into a sandwich of some sort. The 'sundried tomato' was replace by fresh tomoato, the cheese in the panini was not melted......it was just not how a panini is made.
There is much improvement in the food and beverage department if Kempinski is to become a top notch hotel in Xiamen.

Sincerely,
Ramida Din

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed with wife and kiddo for 4 nights / 5 days in this brand new hotel, highly impressive hotel at the waterfront (not seaview, but lakeview)

It was one of the best stays I ever had in China, from the minute we arrived to the second we left . . .

- extremely well trained and eager to serve staff
- all three restaurants (Hong Kong Master Chef Chinese, Paulaner Micro brew German Restaurant, all day dining Coffee Shop) served, displayed and entertained the guests to high expectations
- gym and pool well equipped, again staff readily available to help and recommend
- room quite large, free wifi, big TV's with plenty English / Chinese channels
- AC, water pressure, linen, bed softness, towels, bathroom ammenities, housekeeping attendant all top notch
- lobby impressive but warm athmosphere
- banquet and meeting facilities well equipped and convenient located
- club lounge super good food and drinks with a view to die for
- lady in red (kind of a Kempinski style lobby ambassador) was very helpful, gave us all the right recommendations what to do with our kiddo
- got a great recommendation for a nice nearbly Italian restaurant, thank you for that "Kempinski Hotel Xiamen"

Hotel is only open for a couple of months but for sure has a great future and will welcome many happy guests, looking forward to me next trip to Xiamen

Room Tip: lake view facing high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique H, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Xiamen, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Kempinski and taking the time to share your experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to know that you did enjoy your stay in our hotel. And we sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in this beautiful city and in Kempinski Hotel Xiamen!

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and it was a really great experience! The rooms are really spacious, clean and with a nice view! The staff is professional and warm! Overall a really great stay!
B'fast is rich with a big range of choices from Chinese to Western food. The lobby bar is comfortable with a good service and friendly people.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique H, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Xiamen, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Pmlobo,

Thank you for staying with Kempinski Hotel Xiamen and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear that you did enjoy your trip in both Xiamen and Kempinski!

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in Kempinski Hotel Xiamen!

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Xiamen

Address: No.98 Hubin Middle Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,102 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kempinski Hotel Xiamen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Xiamen, ideally located in the heart of the city overlooking the scenic Yundang Lake, features 460 luxury rooms and suites including Kempinski Executive Floors with 24 hour butler services, 5 innovative Food and Beverage options, plus over 2,600 square metres of meeting and banqueting facilities, a chic Wellness Centre that includes a gym with state-of-the-art equipment and a large indoor pool, a Business Centre, branded retail space, and the exclusive K SPA with 17 luxury treatment rooms providing unique Tea Inspired therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Xiamen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.