We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Afanti Xinjiang Restaurant

Afanti Xinjiang Restaurant
13 of Yuanchang Square_ NO.170 Hexiang East Road, Siming District, Xiamen, China
0592-5819220
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 1,270 Restaurants in Xiamen
Cuisines: Halal, Xinjiang
Description: Afanti is owned and run by a family from Xinjiang, a province in the far north west of China. The culture is more Middle Eastern and therefore so is their food! Lots of lamb, spices, and breads.
Restaurant details
Description: Afanti is owned and run by a family from Xinjiang, a province in the far north west of China. The culture is more Middle Eastern and therefore so is their food! Lots of lamb, spices, and breads.
Xiamen, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We came here for a few work functions because they have some private rooms and the food is bountiful! Not too overpriced either. It is my friend's favourite place- he approves of the food and he is from Uzbekistan so I think that says something. We had a great time with cheap beers and bottomless tea.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Xiamen, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is a hole-in-the-wall restaurant with pretty good Uighur food. There are dozens of these in Xiamen, so I don't understand the hype for this place. I took a cab to the Afanti from across town and was very disappointed. I don't mind the cheap furniture and filthy bathroom - that's 90% of Chinese restaurants - but the food was just OK, which is not what I was expecting based on the other reviews.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Believe the Hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Walked all the way to this place from the Wyndham based on these reviews and couldn't have been happier with the outcome. Great little place with rustic charm in the decor and some serious skills in the kitchen. One waiter spoke a little English, but our bad Chinese was good enough to get the "dishes of the house". We got the mutton-on-flatbread, the eggplant/broccoli combo, and some spicy chicken in tomato that was unbelievably tender and flavorful. Not exactly cheap at about $20 but well worth it. Recommended.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I relied totally on tripadviser advice on getting to look for this small place. It was worth it. PLace was filled with Uighurs, all but us, and local language was only spoken. Chinese is of course ok, but Englsih not so. They do have good picks of everything they have so no prob.
To complete the 'localisation', you can choose from 2 versions of JinJiang (I quess..) beer made in Urmuqi.
For the dessert, get left from the door and in 50 m you come to foot massage place. 20 kuai and the best foot massage I have had (I have had very, extremely many..). It was a family joint and to see all workers dissappear for dinner and letting full house of clients watch Chinese drama on the screen was a free bonus.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very Good Xinjiang/Muslim/Central Asian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

What something different from your standard Chinese fare, Xinjiang food will definitely do the trick, especially for their Lamb dishes. Relatively simple decorations but very good hearty Muslim dishes and very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afanti Xinjiang Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Afanti Xinjiang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afanti Xinjiang Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.