We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Remy's Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Remy's Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Remy's Garden Hotel
No.65 Kantai Road, Gulangyu, Xiamen, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 1,102 Hotels in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 stars 96 Reviews
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Remy's Garden Hotel is a great place to stay and I strongly recommend. I became ill during my trip to China. Learning that I was ill, Lily made this hot ginger drink for me --- it tasted amazing and I swear it was the only reason i was able to make it home. Remy, Lily and the entire staff of the hotel were incredibly caring and friendly. The hotel itself is beautiful and very well cared for. Room was spacious and very clean. Have no worries about booking your stay with them. Absolutely wonderful. Betsy (Los Angeles, California)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    24
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
30
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We spent 8 days in Gulanyu island and we had a great time!
Remy and Lily and great people, very hostile and did best so we could have pleasant vacation.
Hotel is not 5 star, but it is very cute and clean.
If anybody wish to spend vacation there you will not make a mistake, because it is very peaceful and great landscape.
Local people and very pleasant (as in rest of China) and even if they speak no English will do their best to meet your needs.
Beaches are nice and interesting because there is a huge difference between high and low tide, but don't expect Greek island beauty and mad parties because this is not a place for this. It is interesting place for sightseeing and experiencing China culture.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

"Remy's Garden" is an excellent hotel in a league of its own - if you are going to stay on Gulangyu I would urge you not to look any further and book yourself a room! Lily and Remy are extremely welcoming hosts with genuine interest in their guests. Our room & en-suite bathroom were well-equipped and spotlessly clean. We also enjoyed the fact that "Remy's Garden" is located in a peaceful part of Gulangyu that does not get overrun by tourists yet close enough to all the major sights and beaches.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Great place to stay! Very warm welcome! Friendly family, happy to help you anytime you need to visit GuLangYu island, Xiamen white sand beaches, very best local cuisine and restaurants and lovely places e.g. Tulou / Yongding ! Strongly recommended, do not hesitate at all!. Tanguy & family (Paris, France)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Just spent 3 days relaxing in Xiamen area, staying in a lovely newly renovated hotel on the adjacent island of Gulangyu. Remy and his wife made me feel very welcome. Their spoken english is very good which helps if you don't speak mandarin! Remy is a great cook and personally cooked breakfast and dinner (if required). Location of the hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the ferry pier and in a quieter area which is good. Amenities pretty good though the beds are very hard (chinese style!).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

My wife and I have used tripadvisor to find accommodation a lot, but have never written a review. We felt we had to after staying here. First off, it is a beautiful, small hotel with excellent facilities and nice rooms. It is located in a quiet part of the island, but is only a 10 min walk to the centre of town, and 4 mins to the beach. We both had the traditional Chinese breakfast each morning which was delicious, and we also saw some guests get the western style breakfasts which also looked tasty.
We originally planned to only stay 3 nights, but ended up staying 7 nights. The hosts, Remy and Lilly, are wonderful people. Very kind and willing to help out in anyway they can. We would highly reccommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and only wish it could have been more. Room was great with plenty of space, location perfectly quiet, and Remy and Lily were really welcoming and helpful. A short walk to the centre, or the beach, we recommend staying here. One day we hope to return!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Remy's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remy's Garden Hotel

Address: No.65 Kantai Road, Gulangyu, Xiamen, China
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,102 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We receive you in Family atmosphere, we speak English, German, French and Chineseour Villa has 8 rooms, fully equipped.we have a Restaurant reserved for our Hotel clients we provide high class Service Our motto is the customer is King ... even if we only have Queen size beds ...we can assist you in booking of trips in Fujian province : we have connection with a private driver to visit Toulo and even Chongwu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Remy's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Remy's Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.