We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very reasonable Hotel for China” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeside Hotel to your Saves list
Lakeside Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.158 Hubin Road, Gulou District, Fuzhou 350002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 454 Hotels in Fuzhou
Schirnding
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very reasonable Hotel for China”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

At least in our levels, 9, 10 and eleven the rooms had been very clean, the room service did a perfect job. The bed itselves was in perfect condition. Air condition, TV are available. The service personal could have been much more friendly, but remember you are in China. Price had been as described in the internet. Breakfast buffet was perfectly equipped, with everything you can imagine. The price for the diner buffet was with 16,-- EUR still suitable. May the quality of the rooms in different floors are different!
Worth to go.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    153
    25
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
5
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

I have stayed at the Lakeside numerous times, as it is the hotel my employeee uses, this is thankfully under review, and we are hoping to contract out to te Shangri La.

The last time I stayed at the Lakeside, there was no food ledt at the buffet breakfast at 7am just after it had openned some of us couldn't even get cups and knives and forks.

We decided to bring this up with the assitant manager, who starting complaining that we don't pay enough to saty there with the contract we have and to talk to our employer to see if they will pay more.

We were told something would be done, but as usual nothing was.

I also mentioned this to the so called manager, he didn't seem to understand me but did laugh at me.

On other stays the restaurant has been closed to guests as they have decided to rent it out for private functions, they have a swimming pool but no water in it.

It is nothing like a 5 star hotel, even for China, it is more like what attempts at 5 star hotels were like in CHina in the 80s.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service, and no food left at buffet breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuzhou, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

The Lakeside was once Fuzhou's crowning glory - being the only 5 star hotel, however several changes of (mis)management and ownership later, the Lakeside is somewhat of a tired old tart now. The rooms, although still quite clean and serviceable are really more up to 31/2 star level than 5 star. You get called by resident prostitutes on your room phone very late at night. The food is little more than very average with an unimaginative and plain menu - Western food, well, maybe Western to Chinese people, but to a Westerner it's simply not good. Not bad either, but so bland and mediocre, if it were served up at a dinner party back home, you may let the host know that it wasn't up to scratch by smothering it in tomato ketchup or simply leaving it at the side of the plate. UNless it is revamped or better, completely overhauled soon, it will have no redeeming factors left to recommend it, I'm afraid - The Shangrila, The Ramada and the Golden Resources all beat the Lakeside into a cocked hat these days without working up a sweat to do so.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

Having travelled extensively throughout Asia,I have no quarms what so ever in recommending Hotel Lakeside,Fuzhou.Fujian as the ultimate experience in hotel leisure and service

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Had to leave
  • Stayed December 2003, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: No.158 Hubin Road, Gulou District, Fuzhou 350002, China
Location: China > Fujian > Fuzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fuzhou
#11 Best Value Hotel in Fuzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Fuzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.