We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 1st class hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.86 Jiangbin Avenue East, Fuzhou 350015, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 451 Hotels in Fuzhou
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A 1st class hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is an excellent property in nearly every regard. The quality of the hotel cannot be faulted, everything about it is tasteful. If I were really picky, the only aspect which perhaps requires attention is the extent to which English is spoken. This is China and when in Rome as the saying goes, but English is the international language of business. Things just take too long unless there is mutual fluency in "a" language. The level of English in the Business Office is not satisfactory, but no doubt it will improve. In my case, it resulted in missing the only train I could catch to make a meeting in another city. I have learned from experience to ensure I always have one contingency day per trip - others may not be so fortunate. Ask for "Stone" if you stay here and need good English language skills. He will go out of his way to help.

Otherwise, one of the very best, staff are 110% and the tariff makes it outstanding value for money. Might not suit those who need to be near the centre of town though.

Room Tip: Outstanding hotel, exceptional value for money but be warned, it's out of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Marcom Executive at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! Our hotel is designed to suit for both business and leisure travelers with all rooms equipped with complimentary use of Internet access, satellite TV with world news channel to keep our guest up to current affairs. With our unique outdoor facilities swimming pool with Jacuzzi pool, fitness center, 3 theme restaurants, KTV and Spa, all can serve our guest better. Our aim is to provide a comfortable and relax environment to our staying guest after a hectic day of work. Our professional taxi team, luxurious taxi types, provide more comfortable and convenient service. We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My vendor's factory is not far from this hotel, so at last when I visit him in Fuzhou, I have a nice place to stay instead of the usual damp and smelly places downtown. This hotel is brand new, and is in the same class as Crown plaza or Sofitel chain hotels in China. You’d think you are in Macau! Funnily enough the room design is extremely similar in these three chains. Anyway, the rooms are great, service is charming and available, there is a large pool and many other amenities and they are building a spa and a club. In all, the perfect place for sleeping when on business in the Ma Wei area. At last!

Room Tip: Swimming pool view is more quiet, as they are still building on the riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Marcom Executive at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! Our hotel is designed to suit for both business and leisure travelers with all rooms equipped with complimentary use of Internet access, satellite TV with world news channel to keep our guest up to current affairs. Our aim is to provide a comfortable and relax environment to our staying guest after a hectic day of work. We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

This hotel is located in one of the emerging development zones of Fuzhou, some distance from the town's centres. In that regard, its location may not be ideal for persons on town-centred business - or for tourists, looking to explore the commercial or historic hearts of Fuzhou. It is, however, without question a very well-appointed hotel with comfortable rooms and riverside views. The service is good and there are enough English-speaking staff to put the non-mandarin speaker at ease. A decent breakfast is an additional bonus for the road-warrior.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoFuzhouChina, Manager at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Dear ayo68, many thanks for your valued comments! Our hotel is designed to suit for both business and leisure travelers with all rooms equipped with complimentary use of Internet access, satellite TV with world news channel to keep our guest up to current affairs. With our unique outdoor facilities i.e. swimming pool with Jacuzzi pool, fitness center, 3 theme restaurants, furthermore we will open our KTV and Sauna facilities for the coming Summer period to serve our guest better. Our aim is to provide a comfortable and relax environment to our staying guest after a hectic day of work. The management also had added in a fleet of 6 brand new saloon car and coaches mainly to service our guests going to the Fuzhou Commercial Business District and well as tourist spots near Fuzhou city.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou

Address: No.86 Jiangbin Avenue East, Fuzhou 350015, China
Location: China > Fujian > Fuzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 451 Hotels in Fuzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.