We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Aged Lady, past her prime” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hefei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hefei to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hefei
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1104 Changjiang East Road. Yaohai District, Hefei 230011, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 815 Hotels in Hefei
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“An Aged Lady, past her prime”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I believe that this was once the only 5-star hotel in Hefei. However, those days are long gone. The Holiday Inn today is barely a 4-star and showing signs of age. The top-floor rotating restaurant no longer rotates (or didn't when I was there), the nice little tap in the bathroom for filtered water no long produces water at all, the windows need a better double glaze to keep the noise out - since the traffic is now much heavier than years ago. As for the health club, well, there are prominent signs saying that this is operated by a third party (i.e. leased by the building's owner to an outside operator) and no responsibility is taken for anything that happens there! A slightly odd warning, so I will leave it to your imagination to figure out why. In short, if you need to be downtown and you like IHG properties but can't afford the Intercontinental, then perhaps this is a good choice. But there are a lot of choices these days. The staff are friendly and helpful, though English is a bit limited, notably among the junior staff on the front desk. Room for improvement to the hardware and the software.

Room Tip: High floors are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HFECH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hefei, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear TempleofPeace,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Hefei and post your valuable comments. You are right, as the first 5-star hotel of Anhui Province, Holiday Inn Hefei became older. But hotel owner invested millions to renovate hotel public area, most of guest rooms, meeting rooms and other facilities yearly. We are still investing to improve our facilities. Holiday Inn Hefei is one of the best choice for both business and leisure travelers (mid-scale) for service, facilities and location.

By the way, our building top restaurant still rotate during lunch and dinner. Drinking water system will be removed. Hotel still operates Health Club include GYM and Swimming Pool and Sauna area was leased out only.

Again, thank you for your comments and time. Looking forward to welcoming you back in future.

Regards

Eddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    184
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
1
1
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jundiai, SP
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Realy the Holliday's chain is very good in the majority of the cities. I already stayed in this chain in about of differente 10 cities and they always can offer good quality in several aspects.
The wifi which you can connect in the lobby, could be extended also to the rooms, BUT there is a net free broadband in each apartament. I'm liking a lot the service they dedicate to the clients in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HFECH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hefei, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear GaspaFer,

Thank you for your loyalty to Holiday Inn Brand and staying at Holiday Inn Hefei recently. Your compliments will serve as motivation to our team for better service to our guest. It's great to know that our WIFI was very useful for you and we are improving our system for even more convenient for our guest in future. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hefei soon.

Regards

Eddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Though we arrived without any previous notice and with no previous booking the staff at front desk did anything possible to help us on accomondation. Excellent room service, polite stuff, and helpful. I highly recommend Noodle Shop at 2nd floor.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HFECH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hefei, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Candy850306,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Hefei and post your feedback. Your compliments will be passed to our staff and it will serve as motivation for further improvement. Holiday Inn Hefei locates at downtown area and easy access to both commercial and sightseeing area. Our Golden Laura Cafe and Noodle & Chopstick Restaurant are highly recommended by our guest. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards

Eddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

+
brand-new bathroom (roomNo 1607)
Rotating breakfast restaurant (floor 29)
Shopping mall attached to hotel

-
Too few elevators (long waiting)
Reception on floor 5
Few Western choices for breakfast
Noodle and chopstick restaurant is rather an eating hall without atmosphere

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HFECH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hefei, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Fivedauns,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Hefei and taking time to post your comments. Sorry for the inconvenient caused by the elevator maintenance during your stay. We are working on the western items for improving our buffet. Noodle and Chopsticks is a local feature restaurant focus on local noodle and dim sum.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and with guest's feedback we could improve our facilities and service to better serve you in future.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hefei in future.

Regards

Eddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hefei
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at Holiday Inn Hefei for nearly 4 weeks. The stay included the national holiday week. The experience was very good. The staff was very cordial and the stay was made very comfortable. Definate recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HFECH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hefei, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guan B,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Hefei and taking your valuable time to post your comments. Your compliments will definitely motivate our colleagues for further improvement and we will create a "home away from home" atmosphere for every travelers.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hefei in future.

Regards

Eddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changsha
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Very professional, staff was helpful. I had the best time at Holiday Inn Hefei. Nice room, amazing food and good facilities. It has a great location too, in walking distance to downtown area. I would recommend this hotel to any business traveler looking for a quite and peaceful residence for the duration of their trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HFECH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hefei, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Peace_K,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Hefei while you travelling to Hefei recently and taking time to post your comments. Your compliment will definitely serves as motivation to our colleague to drive for better quality. All hotel facilities and sorrounding downtown area are much convenient for both business and leisure travellers. Key sight-seeing spots are in the walking distance around hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hefei in near future!

Regards

Eddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Good location and good service, the staffs are very friendly and helpful.....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HFECH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hefei, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Dragon,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Hefei and take your time to post your feedback. Holiday Inn Hefei locates at city center and is very convenient for both business and leisure travellers. Also, I'm pleased to know that our colleague provided good service to you during staying and we will continue improving our service to serve you better.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hefei in future.

Regards

Eddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hefei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hefei

Address: No.1104 Changjiang East Road. Yaohai District, Hefei 230011, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Anhui > Hefei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hefei
#13 Best Value Hotel in Hefei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Hefei 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hefei is a 29-story building located in the center of the city. It is 3 km from the Hefei Railway Stations and 12 km to Hefei Luogang International Airport. The hotel is a 5 minutes walk from the main shopping center, local tourist attraction and Xiao Yao Jin Park, the largest park with a green lung of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hefei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hefei Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hefei China - Anhui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hefei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.