We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekday visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sotito's Bar

Sotito's Bar
1138 av. Libertador Bernardo O'Higgins, Punta Arenas, Chile
(56-61) 243565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 80 restaurants in Punta Arenas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
NORTH KINGSTOWN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekday visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife ane I stopped by on a Monday night. We were the first guests that night, so one would think we'd have excellent service. We had just the opposite. The waiters gathered by the door waiting for guests and of course our waiter had his back to us. When my entree didn't arrive in what seemed a reasonable time, I had to go fetch my waiter. Later when we were done with dinner, we were asked if we wanted desert. We said no and the waiter went away. Normally you then get the check, but again I had to waive him down so we could get the bill and leave. Although the food was very good (king crab for me samon for my wife)' the service was not very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    137
    123
    68
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a friend who visited it twice over his two day stay in Punta Arenas. We can understand why our friend raved about the food. It was excellent. But we also found it overpriced. We spent about $80 USD for 4 appetizers and one glass of wine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“English-speaking customers apparently not wanted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We arrived at Sotito's about 7:00pm on a Tuesday evening. The place was practically empty - one older couple off to the side with nothing but water on their table. We stood inside the entrance and waited a few minutes. During this time, a server and another man who looked like a manager walked directly by us without acknowledging us, despite our smiling attempts to engage them. A few minutes later, a Spanish-speaking tourist family of 6 entered behind us. When the server returned, he ignored us and sat them immediately. He continued to ignore us and headed back to the kitchen, but the older couple called him over and asked him, in English, if they could please order now, that they'd already waited a long time. At that point we walked out. We ended up having a FANTASTIC meal elsewhere - check my other reviews.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Established local restaurant with great Crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you like Crab and seafood this place is really good. It is a long time, well established Chilean restaurant that will be packed with locals. That should tell you something right there. It actually looks a little junky from the outside with little advertising. However inside it was large and airy and clean. We were given a window seat on the second floor over looking the harbor which was really nice. To get one of these tables you should go a little early.

We had the fish soup which was excellent and a crab and cheese casserole, I don't remember the exact name, but its not on the english menu, only the spanish one so you have to ask for it special if you don't speak the language. They were both outstanding and not like anything you could buy anywhere else or find at home. The only negative (maybe its a positive to some) is the portions are HUGE and tend to be on the rich and heavy side. We rolled out and were ready for a nap. Come hungry! The wine list was ample with good selections of local wine.

Full disclosure: Its not the cheapest place to go. You can eat for less money other locations, but its really good and for a special lunch/dinner its worth the visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great king crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our taxi driver recommended this restaurant and told us to try the king crab. We followed his advice and did not regret it.

The style of the restaurant is a bit old fashioned, but nonetheless, quite nice. No complaint about the service, when you arrive, first thing they bring with the card is some fresh pressed lemon juice you can mix with your mineral water, which is quite refreshing after all the wind blowing outside.

We ordered the king crab as recommended and wow, what a huge portion we got. We both had each a whole king crab served on salad, we have never seen such a portion anywhere till now. It was so much that we didn't even have room left for a dessert.

We heard later on from other members of our tour who had lunch there as well that the food overall was very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotito's Bar also viewed

Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Sotito's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sotito's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.