We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damiana Elena

Damiana Elena
magallanes 341, Punta Arenas, Chile
(61) 222-818
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 88 Restaurants in Punta Arenas
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Punta Arenas, Chile
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

If you want taste the good, sofisticated and well done regional food this is the place to go. An old and very well decorated house, very confortable and warm that makes you fell at home. The owners are always there to kindly welcome you. The food is perfect and the price too!!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    28
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food - poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We have eaten at three different restaurants reviewed by trip advisor during our stay in Punta Arenas and this was the most disappointing. Lovely looking Irish buttrer was placed on our table when we arrived but no bread. The main meal was worth the visit - our son had a very tasty lasagna and I had local fish served presented in an interesting way. The rest of the meal was o.k. We asked for the bill when we had finished our leisurely meal and it took over ten minutes to arrive.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre - RS/ BRAZIL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and wonderful atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had salmon ceviche and shrimps on parmesan as appetizers and salmon with seafood risotto as main course. The appetizers were very good - as for the main, it was good, not exceptional, though the portion was very generous. We had pisco sour (wonderful) and the local beer Austral.

But what we liked most about the place is it wonderful decoration: so charming, cozy, beautiful. It wasn't the best food of my life, but the place... I'll always dream about. It is not a cheap place, though, but for the quality of the food, it´s definitely worth it!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

We ate here several times on our trip to Punta Arenas and always left completely satiated and pleased. Although the menu changes every day, you can always count on there being several fresh seafood dishes, two or three meat choices and two (often vegetarian) pasta choices. The choices are always interesting and well executed (two examples from recent visits: roasted patagonian lamb in a savory raspberry sauce, and mushroom and ricotta cannelloni in red wine sauce). The restaurant is in an old house decorated in a country style, providing a warm, pleasant ambiance. Because tables are in various small rooms, it always feels very private and comfortable.

The wine list is average for Punta Arenas but with a reasonable variety. The pisco sour is standard but very good. Desserts change daily, too, but are extraordinarily well executed considering the dearth of pastry cookery in most Chilean restaurants. Considering the overall dining experience here, the prices are extremely reasonable, especially to the American or European traveler. Most main dishes, which are complete in that they come with a side if appropriate, are in the $10-$18 range, which is about the same as any average chain restaurant in the US.

The only critique I have is the service is definitely Chilean-style-- ie very, very slow. I find this great for most nights when you want to have a relaxing meal. But don't expect to be out in under 2 hours if you order anything other than just a main dish. The servers seem to have a propensity for disappearing right when you want the check, but I am not sure that this is a service problem more than a culture difference.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Patagonian pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

At the recommendation of our hotel, Carpa Manzano, we enjoyed excellent meals at Damiana Elena on two Saturday nights in November at the start and end of our visit to Patagonia.

Located in a charming building set back from the street, Damiana Elena (Magallanes 341) offers a varied menu and very pleasant atmosphere. Each time, we arrived around 8:00 pm and were seated in the non-smoking section on the second floor well before the locals began trickling in. By the time we left, both floors were packed.

Our meals were delicious and very reasonably-priced ($3000 CLP the first time, including two martinis, an appetizer, mains and a decent bottle of wine; the second meal we skipped the drinks, but not the wine and the price was around $2400 CLP.)

Given our lack of Spanish, the staff was extremely patient with us and worked hard to explain the nightly specials.

We highly recommend Damiana Elena to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damiana Elena also viewed

Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Damiana Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damiana Elena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.