We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Patagonia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Escondida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa Escondida
Save
You added La Casa Escondida to your Saves list
Lot # 26 a | Ojo Bueno, Punta Arenas 6200000, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Punta Arenas B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Patagonia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

After a fantastic two-week-stay in Patagonia, we didn't expect much of Punta Arenas. We were so wrong: La Casa Escondida appeared to be the best B&B of our whole trip through Patagonia. This is the place you want to stay, NO DOUBT ABOUT IT! Mauricio picked us up from the busstation/airport and his mother was waiting for us with a cup of tea. The whole family speaks perfectly English and are more than willing to help you with ALL of your questions; they are just SO friendly! Nice rooms (reasonable prices), excellent breakfast (fresh fruits & eggs included) and Luis made us a nice BBQ-dinner at the day of arrival. The very nice located house in the woods (what an atmosphere!) is quite far from the city centre, but Mauricio organises everything very well, and is willing to take you to whatever place you like, at anytime... for free! Finally, Pamela answered our e-mails very quickly and friendly. It couldn't have been any better!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
107
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A magical woodland setting and just a short car ride from town, for me it was the ideal option. Pamela picked me up from the airport and took me to the 'hidden house', a big log cabin with lovely wood burning stoves. With notice Luis will cook dinner which was great. Pamela will take you into town or to the Mall in the car and even provide a mobile to call from when you are ready to be collected! The grounds of the cabin are wooded and it's a good place to find four leaf clovers - La Casa Escondida is indeed a 'lucky find'!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night in between a stay in Torres Del Paine and a return flight up to Santiago. As soon as we arrived, the hosts were very friendly and falling over themselves to help us with anything we needed - we arrived at about 8pm having not made any plans for dinner and were grateful for immediate offer to make us some. After relaxing in front of the fire we were served a mini grill at the table with steak, pork, chorizo and local sea bass along with a bottle of wine all of which were excellent, and very reasonably priced.

The room was very nice, with everything made of wood in keeping with the rest of the property - the bed was very comfortable and there was a gas heater which kept us warm in the night. We had a room with an ensuite bathroom (for an additional 5000 CLP).

All in all, a great (albeit brief) stay, and highly recommended for anyone passing through Punta Arenas - the room cost also includes a free pick up and drop off at the airport (5 minute drive)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Natales, Chile
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the moment I sent an email to book a room to the send-off at the airport, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at La Casa Escondida. The hosts were charming and friendly, and the B&B was attractive, clean, spacious, peaceful, and calm. I even got upgraded to a room with a private bathroom at no extra charge! I had the best sleep in my 7 months of travel (the beds and sheets were so comfortable). Mauricio picked me up at the airport and also drove me into town when I needed the ride. Mauricio, Pamela and her husband provided me with all the information I needed to start my trekking in Torres Del Paine, even calling the next B&B to help me make a reservation. It is definitely one of the best stays I have had in my months of travelling! Thanks La Casa Escondida!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

La Casa Escondida is both a physically beautiful and serine place to stay and an incredibly hospitable home away from home. The family run hotel offers the best in friendly service and accomodation. The owners are so helpful and friendly that you feel immediately comfortable and at home here.

Room Tip: take the cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at La Casa Escondida for three nights near the end of December. Mauritzio, Pamela and Luis are excellent hosts. We stayed in one of the cabins out back with our two boys--three and eight and had more than enought room. There was a large queen size bed and three single beds with huge, warm duvets. The breakfasts were amazing and we were able to arrange anything. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!! Oh, and food was amazing too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

lovely people, family-run b&b, terrific dinners (ask for the parrillada and they are super helpful about driving us into town once per day plus the public bus is easy to use from their house,property itself is pleasant with good birding from your cabin

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Escondida

Address: Lot # 26 a | Ojo Bueno, Punta Arenas 6200000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage decorated in rustic style run and operated by its owners. Located 7kms south of airport and 15kms north of town. Public transportation close by. Free Wi-Fi in the main house. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Escondida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.